Nvidia Geforce FX 5800 Ultra

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by erek, Mar 5, 2018.

  1. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,936
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    When those cards came out I thought it was the end for Nvidia.

    Oh, and btw, here are a few fun things ...



    And apparently Patrick still lurks on [H] ...

     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2018
  2. brentsg

    brentsg [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,694
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Only when I'm alone late at night. Sometimes I have to get my Voodoo2 cards out to shake the blues.
     
    DTabakov, erek and Red Falcon like this.
  3. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    20,005
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Ironic since your picture has the card laying on top of the anti-static bag. I guess you don't care if your's dies a pointless death.
     
  4. clayton006

    clayton006 Gawd

    Messages:
    996
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    I still have my FX5600 laying around somewhere.... I remember trying to play Doom 3 on it.... It was “awesome” at 1024x768 lol
     
    Armenius likes this.
  5. CAD4466HK

    CAD4466HK [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,218
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    I never got the chance to play with the Dustbuster, but I did own it's little brother. I had a EVGA 5700 Ultra, with the cyberdemon "Designed for Doom 3" graphic on the HSF.
    The only good thing I could say about it was it was the first GPU that I could OC to 1GHz on the core. :D


    128-A8-N336-AX-lg.jpg
     
    Armenius and erek like this.
  6. DTabakov

    DTabakov [H]Lite

    Messages:
    68
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    I wish my father didn't threw all of my stuff when he started re-innovating his place. I had a "Banshee" a Voodoo 3 3000 a 6600 GT and a 8800 GT boards on the wall, plus couple of fried mobos around them. I used to "decorate" my room with all the hardware that I owned.
     
  7. dexvx

    dexvx [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,107
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Yea, that's a myth. Never had anything die from putting on top of anti-static bag. I do this at work all the time.

     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  8. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,280
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    20+ years of doing it that way, no dead parts.
     
    erek likes this.
  9. VoodooNinja

    VoodooNinja [H]Lite

    Messages:
    71
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Here are some pics of my Leadtek Winfast A300 Ultra. At the time, I couldn't wait to get my hands on one. It has a minature boom box look to it.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 15, 2018
    CAD4466HK, Armenius and erek like this.
  10. erek

    erek [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,194
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Armenius likes this.
  11. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    20,005
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    I had a 5900XT and I was able to get it to run well at 1280x960 with a custom config file a mile long. 1600x1200 at the time was the dream.
     
  12. erek

    erek [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,194
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    VoodooNinja wanna sell that A300?
     
  13. crazycrave

    crazycrave Gawd

    Messages:
    618
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    The art work and colors made up for lack of performance as where FX is to open your mind up to (if we had another 6 months ) specials effects like how or when we think RGB makes things look fast or faster .
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2020
  14. The Cobra

    The Cobra 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,671
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    The noise on my 5800 Ultra was annoying as hell, but the performance was flawless for me at 1024x768 on my old NEC flat panel monitor. I did upgrade to the 9800 Pro 256mb later on though.
     
  15. erek

    erek [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,194
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    whatever became of your 5800 Ultra?
     
  16. newls1

    newls1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,213
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    On what cooling?? LN2 or DICE or i call BS.
     
  17. Lepardi

    Lepardi Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    228
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
  18. Mode13

    Mode13 Gawd

    Messages:
    728
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    I'm assuming memory is just a bit fuzzy and he meant 1ghz (effective) on the memory, which was doable. I was barely able to get 700mhz to pass 3dmark 01 with chilled water on NV36. Would definitely take LN2 to get 1ghz

    either way that post is old so I doubt we'll hear back on it :p