new X11 kernel / 25-30% increase in perf with no power increase

DooLocsta

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
1,653
I switched over to this after reading about it in the Nvidia thread. After 6 hours with it I am a believer.
 

titan97

Gawd
Joined
Sep 27, 2004
Messages
529
I didn't see much difference. I went from using the standard sgminer to this modified sphsgminer and I went from 2.35MH on my R9 290 (intensity at 17) to 2.45 (at intensity 17, 18, and 19).

 

collegeboy69us

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
5,256
my 270s (non X) are each pulling 1.7Mhash each now. Huge improvement.

Sadly I still feel the need to mine VertCoin since it's the most profitable. At the end of the day.

I'd love to find a good X11 multipool that auto cashes you out to BTC. Coinmine.pw and the blackcoin pool all do X11 but they don't cash you out.

Last thing I want to be sitting on is a small collection of 50-60 random shitcoins.
 

oblox

Gawd
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
957
Has this been verified that it doesn't increase power consumption?

Also, for the BC Pool, why not just sell the BC then for BTC?
 

_r2h

Gawd
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
549
I haven't been able to get this stable. Also having mixed results on poolside hash matching local hash.
 

Digital Viper-X-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
14,025
I cannot comment on power directly.
However, my 290x is sitting low-mid 60s with fan hovering between 2800-3100rpm, which is where it was before this too.
 

noobferguson

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 6, 2013
Messages
463
And the arms race continues. Got a ~150khs bump for absolutely nothing. :D Heat and power seems to be the same
 

Oklahoma Wolf

PSU Warranty Voider
Joined
Mar 22, 2005
Messages
1,450
One word of caution for those running an HD7770 like me - the latest update to the new miner doesn't like this card. I had to use the original release with it, which gives me 900khs. Up from 600.

Also, I had to go down to one thread with my HD6870, otherwise I go from 1.4mhs to 800khs.

It's crazy - the 6870 is now as fast as the 270s all used to be.
 

mkrohn

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,344
I didn't see much difference. I went from using the standard sgminer to this modified sphsgminer and I went from 2.35MH on my R9 290 (intensity at 17) to 2.45 (at intensity 17, 18, and 19).


crank threads up one at a time till it errors out I think 4 is where my 290's are at and 10 for my 290x

2 for threads brings a big increase to my 270/x
 

XViper

Gawd
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
837
I'm getting about 3.876Mh/s on my 290x's. I just added my pool info and let it mine. Good stuff.

I'm using intensity of 18 unlike OP. I'm mining Cinnipool. I'm gonna just hold onto the coins. Hope it's worth something in the future.
 

JCviggen

n00b
Joined
Dec 29, 2013
Messages
36
My 7970s see a 50% gain :eek:

No noticeable increase in power consumption. A 4x7970 rig underclocked and undervolted now does 12.25 MH. VRM power as shown in HWinfo is around 50W GPU and 20W memory. Real power consumption is a bit more I suppose but still very impressive. 7970s seem slightly more efficient at X11 than my 290s
 

Nexillus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
1,116
There is a slight power increase and depends on cards. On my 280x was about 15 watts per card, for my 7950's was about 10 watts per card and my 290s well whole different story :p Was about 35 more watts per card.
 

DooLocsta

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
1,653
One word of caution for those running an HD7770 like me - the latest update to the new miner doesn't like this card. I had to use the original release with it, which gives me 900khs. Up from 600.

Also, I had to go down to one thread with my HD6870, otherwise I go from 1.4mhs to 800khs.

It's crazy - the 6870 is now as fast as the 270s all used to be.

Can you explain a little more on this? I have a 6870 as well but I can't get it to work with this so I am stuck at 900kh/s.
 

IEC

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
139
I'm getting 3.4MH/s per 290 at 940/1250 undervolted. I could get more with better clocks but would rather have the power efficiency.
 

collegeboy69us

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
5,256
I'm getting 3.4MH/s per 290 at 940/1250 undervolted. I could get more with better clocks but would rather have the power efficiency.

my 290's are throwing hardware errors even on the most basic config... (x11)

wish they were as easy to tune as my bank of 270's lol

Anyone got a good TC setting for reference 290s?
 

DracoNB

Gawd
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
599
my 290's are throwing hardware errors even on the most basic config... (x11)

wish they were as easy to tune as my bank of 270's lol

Anyone got a good TC setting for reference 290s?

Just use defaults, I haven't noticed any difference when trying multiple different settings.

Its obviously still not very optimized, I'm sure there are people using their own personal optimized miners getting massive hashrates at high (scrypt level) temps / power usage.
 

XViper

Gawd
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
837
my 290's are throwing hardware errors even on the most basic config... (x11)

wish they were as easy to tune as my bank of 270's lol

Anyone got a good TC setting for reference 290s?

Did you do the setx commands already? I just installed this on another 290 rig and it works fine. The default TC is fine and it should work good just out of the box. All you have to do is put your pool info in.
 

Carbon_Rod

Gawd
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
1,022
my 290's are throwing hardware errors even on the most basic config... (x11)

wish they were as easy to tune as my bank of 270's lol

Anyone got a good TC setting for reference 290s?

I have the same issue with only 1 of my 280X's... it's got the same config as every other card, but throws a hardware error once every few hours. I'm trying a few different things like lowering its voltage and intensity and seeing if it helps.
 

edge929

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
1,142
I think I'll finally move my 270 rig to x11. I had been looking at x11 (Hirocoin) back in March during the scrypt-coin dive but didn't pull the trigger. Heat isn't an issue where I live (at least not until August).
 

Kardonxt

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 13, 2009
Messages
3,251
It's nice to get the optimization but does it even matter now? I dont see any X11 coins that are reasonably profitable right now.
 

Carbon_Rod

Gawd
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
1,022
I've actually been on Blackcoinpool for the past few days. Profitability is slightly higher than many other pools even if you instantly sell the BC you get paid.
 

mkrohn

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,344
I've actually been on Blackcoinpool for the past few days. Profitability is slightly higher than many other pools even if you instantly sell the BC you get paid.

I'm never a fan of speculation so I'd rather keep the reliable paycheck
 

Carbon_Rod

Gawd
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
1,022
I'm never a fan of speculation so I'd rather keep the reliable paycheck

I'm with you there.

In my case I'm also building up a small stash of BC so I can have something to play with while the reliable paycheck comes in. The rest of my stash is currently in LTC (yarg!) which, as you know, has not been stellar as of late.

EDIT: Besides, I might as well get in my entries for their KNC Titan contest which means I have to have at least a certain amount of hash power pointed there.
 
Last edited:

Spidey329

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 15, 2003
Messages
8,683
Anyone here with a ref 290 getting good results with it? If you can, post your config. I'm getting HW errors or TC-fails to start. It won't accept my normal 290 values. A blank cfg with just pools produces non-stop HW errors. Tried a ton of different configs.
 

kache

Gawd
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
723
Anyone here with a ref 290 getting good results with it? If you can, post your config. I'm getting HW errors or TC-fails to start. It won't accept my normal 290 values. A blank cfg with just pools produces non-stop HW errors. Tried a ton of different configs.

3.5MH/s with 0.047 WU, seems good for me.
 
Top