New Steam Play...anyone tried it?

Discussion in 'Linux/BSD/Free Systems' started by /dev/null, Aug 22, 2018.

  1. /dev/null

    /dev/null [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,240
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    This looks very interesting...and comes out a day after I upgraded from a GTX 1060 to a GTX 1080. Perfect timing!
     
    ChadD and Mazzspeed like this.
  2. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    I'm loving it! I've uninstalled Wine and Lutris and I've installed Doom like it was native under Steam and playing at amazing frame rates! I don't have many newer titles to test, but my older titles are all alive and well under Linux with absolutely no input on my behalf!
     
    KarsusTG, Travolta and cybereality like this.
  3. ChadD

    ChadD I Love TEXAS

    Messages:
    3,267
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    I have been and will be away from my gaming (as humble as it is) system for a week or two. I don't really play a ton of windows only games. The only one I was running I was already running under Wine and DXVK without issue. I am looking forward to trying to simply install it from steam and see how it goes.
     
  4. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    I've been trying every title I've got and I honestly believe that if it wasn't for heavy handed DRM solutions 80% of Windows titles would run just fine under Linux using Steam Play. The compatibility and seamless integration is actually quite impressive.
     
    KarsusTG, dr.stevil, Travolta and 2 others like this.
  5. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,683
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    I tried gaming a few days ago but got pretty much instantly bored.
     
    KarsusTG likes this.
  6. cybereality

    cybereality 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,596
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Looks cool. I haven't tried it since I use my Windows machine for gaming, but I like that they are making progress.
     
  7. Majinhoju

    Majinhoju [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,173
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    I tried it but couldn't get it to work. Running Ubuntu 18.04 on my old laptop
    I think I followed the instructions, just need to set steam to opt in for the beta client right?

    The games will try to launch and just do nothing. I can launch Linux native games fine.

    I'm a Linux noob though so it's entirely possible I missed an obvious step.
     
  8. ChadD

    ChadD I Love TEXAS

    Messages:
    3,267
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    If you have everything selected your windows game should have a play button... and beside it Steam will have a tag that says "this title uses steam play".

    It is possible the game is simply not working at this point. Most games launch, many are very playable... some have performance issues they are working on... some do have issues that effect launch. I would google a bit about the title your trying to run and see if anyone else has had issues.

    Post a bug report for steam. Valve has been updating their tools like DXVK weekly basically all year, adding support for titles and improving performance. Bug report and check back in a few weeks you may be surprised to find they fixed the launch issue. :)
     
  9. Lunar

    Lunar Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    352
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    One other thing if you have Intel or AMD hardware. You must add the MESA PPA and install a few extra packages to get Proton to work on 18.04. If you have NVIDIA graphics, you need to add the NVIDIA PPA. The link below is to instructions from the Proton Github page that gives the prerequisites for getting Proton to work.

    https://github.com/ValveSoftware/Proton/blob/proton_3.7/PREREQS.md

    One additional thing. I did have issues installing the mesa-vulkan-drivers:i386 package on my laptop. I just omitted it, and everything else went fine. Playing ultrabook level Windows games on my XPS 13 with only a couple of issues.
     
  10. Majinhoju

    Majinhoju [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,173
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    I did install the Nvidia PPA but didn't install anything specific to Proton or MESA, I will check that out, thanks!

    I did only try launching the ones that steam claims to support through steam play. But I'm probably missing the Proton and MESA components

    I'll let you know how it goes. I'm just messing around on this. I have 2 windows PCs at my desk to game on but just wanted to see what I could run on my old laptop.
     
  11. DogsofJune

    DogsofJune [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,749
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    I have been pleased with the results so far. Haven't experimented with too many titles yet, due to health, but Grim Dawn, FO4 play great. Install was painless.

    Looking forward to more titles to try.
     
  12. naib

    naib [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,134
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Make sure you set "for all titles"

    I have one windows game (lego incredibles), the one I bought once this was released and I am beyond impressed at how well this works.

    There is an issue with lego incredibles though so I can't progress :(
     
  13. DogsofJune

    DogsofJune [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,749
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    A little issue with Path of Exile, but it did ask to fallback on Direct X 9 and works fine that way.

    If this Ubuntu box wasn't such a Plex whore, I'd try out some more titles, or maybe more storage in required.
     
  14. Travolta

    Travolta Gawd

    Messages:
    654
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Just tried Steam Play to run Doom (2016) on Ubuntu 18.04 and it runs fantastic. I didn’t turn on any performance metrics in game, but it felt like it was running on par with windows. Going to try a bunch of other games that don’t have a native Linux version.

    Edit: Doom at 1920x1080, everything set high or ultra, vsync off, i'm getting 135-150fps. Corei7 2600, 32gb ram, ssd, gtx1070. This was a spare parts build. Forgot to add, Doom is using Vulkan.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2018
    Mazzspeed and B00nie like this.
  15. Lunar

    Lunar Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    352
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    One thing I've experienced on my machine is issues with mouse control. Hard to explain, but basically it was like the mouse was getting stuck.Turns out I had forgot to disable mouse acceleration when I installed Ubuntu last time. Disabled that in GNOME Tweaks, and the problem was solved. Just an FYI if anybody else notices the same.
     
    B00nie likes this.
  16. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,683
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Note that you can input wine options directly through Steam for games that won't run on default settings.
     
  17. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    I use a Razer mouse along with the Open Razer drivers and Polychromatic software and don't have this issue. It seems to be worse with Roccat devices and shows up at any polling speed over 500Hz - Especially under Doom. A screenshot of my polling rate:

    hzekhQc.png

    A user on Reddit created a patch that rectifies the issue for Doom, see here:

    https://github.com/ValveSoftware/Proton/issues/896

    Running a 980Ti and dual X5675's with 24GB of ram at 1920x1200 I get between 130 - 200fps at very similar settings. I'm finding Vulkan runs really well with more CPU cores, the more the better, it loves 12C/24T.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2018
    Travolta likes this.
  18. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,683
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Man I wish server boards werent super expensive as relatively good xeons are a bargain. Then again I could buy a decommissioned 2U rack server for peanuts and mod the fans. Hey, there's an idea!
     
    Mazzspeed likes this.
  19. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    HP Z800's are very affordable now B00nie, people underestimate Xeons and a good Intel 5520 chipset motherboard. You can even run m.2 SSD's as boot drives provided you can find the right SSD and have SATA 3 that's as fast, if not faster than native. ;)
     
  20. Zuul

    Zuul Gawd

    Messages:
    819
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    So far I've tried BFBC2 and it starts but freezes at the menu. Spintires starts to a black screen but the sound is present. Doom runs great.
     
    Mazzspeed likes this.
  21. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    I can't get my copy of BFBC2 to authenticate says it can't find the server after I enter the product key.

    I've been playing with slight GPU and vram overclocks, definitely increasing fps playing Doom.
     
  22. Frobozz

    Frobozz [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,780
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    I haven't had a lot of time to sit down and really game. However, I have tried a few titles in my library.
    Doom 2016, Dishonored, and Recettear worked. Typing of the Dead did not launch.

    doomg.jpg


    I'll need to push around some files to make space to try a few more. :)
     
    Mazzspeed and cybereality like this.
  23. cybereality

    cybereality 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,596
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Looking good. DOOM and Dishonored are well worth playing.
     
    Mazzspeed likes this.
  24. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,683
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    I bought Doom III as a physical media and got bored to it after walking through 5 first rooms. I never played it again. New one any better?
     
    cybereality likes this.
  25. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    I also got board with Doom III. Doom 2016 is great, I'm hooked! :)
     
  26. Travolta

    Travolta Gawd

    Messages:
    654
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Speaking of Doom 3, I also tried out Doom 3 BFG Edition on Ubuntu and it works.
     
  27. Lunar

    Lunar Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    352
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    YES!!! Doom (2016) is a return to form after the odd detour in design ID took in the early 2000's with Doom 3. Gone is the slow paced survival horror inspired Doom 3, and in its place is a fast paced game with loads of demons to kill using loads of insane weapons and crazy amounts of thrash metal while doing so. If you still have reservations about it after that, linked below is one of the best pieces of music from the Doom (2016) soundtrack that you hear while killing demons.

     
  28. cybereality

    cybereality 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,596
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    I didn't enjoy DOOM 3 that much. It was kind of slow, but I think they improved some of the faults with the BFG version. DOOM 2016 is much more like the original game, just straight action non-stop.
     
  29. Frobozz

    Frobozz [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,780
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Quake 4 runs.


    quake4.jpg


    Quake Champions loads but currently complains about there being no network. Pretty much what's reported in this GitHub issue report. I'll be watching that, as Quake Champions is another revisit that has hit the mark. Feels quite like Q3A.

    Middle-earth: Shadow of War Demo does not load for me.
     
    cybereality likes this.
  30. ChadD

    ChadD I Love TEXAS

    Messages:
    3,267
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Another one for Valve to fix. I wonder though if once this is running with steam play any plans to get Feral to port this one as well will be out the window.

    Shadow of Morodor was one of the few ported games I bought. Was a decent port. I hear they lock boxed the new one up anyway... so meh either way for me.
     
  31. Frobozz

    Frobozz [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,780
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    RE: Feral - I wondered (and feared) that too. I burned/burn so much time with Shadow of Mordor. I think the loot box thing was walked back a bit after some negative press, but I don't recall off hand where it landed in regard to how complete the game is as purchased.

    NieR Automata is on the supported list, so I think I'll look to pick that up next holiday sale.
     
    ChadD likes this.
  32. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    I've been watching Quake Champions also and find the same thing, it sooks about a network connection and promptly crashes. However that's further that I got on the original release of Proton.
     
  33. AltTabbins

    AltTabbins Muh Feelz Got [H]urt Right in the Pussy

    Messages:
    18,719
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    It’s pretty bad right now. People are having issues with even the supported titles. I went down my steam list and got to the G’s (alphabetical order) before I gave up. Only a coupe games worked correctly with all the rest either failing to launch or having game breaking problems.

    It’s still something though. It’s a good first step in the right direction. Lutris with DXVK paired with this opens some doors and will continue to get better.
     
  34. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    The only people I'm seeing having issues with Proton supported titles are the Windows users overwhelmed with a new OS running the wrong drivers and people with unrealistic expectations, apart from that Proton seems pretty good according to the feedback I'm reading. Doom initially had an issue where you had to set the launch options in Steam to force Vulkan, but that's been rectified since the initial release of Proton.

    Personally, running Nvidia hardware/drivers I've got nothing but positives to report. I've even got a number of unsupported titles working with nothing more than installing the title under Steam and clicking play.
     
    Zuul likes this.
  35. Zuul

    Zuul Gawd

    Messages:
    819
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    OK I had a problem with a second drive in my laptop, it seems that the NTFS partition on it didn't play nice with this..games reported running for a fraction of a second and then, nothing. Formatted to EXT4 and that partition was write protected for some reason. Only chmod 777 worked :/
    But after dealing with that BS I got a few games to run, UT, UT3, Stalker SOC and it was pretty much flawless besides doing some ALT-tabbing. This is IMO great stuff....
     
    Frobozz and Mazzspeed like this.
  36. DogsofJune

    DogsofJune [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,749
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Didn't try the demo, I have the game in my library, and it worked before this Steam Play started.
     
    Frobozz likes this.
  37. Lunar

    Lunar Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    352
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    What distro and drivers are you running? I'm on Ubuntu 18.04 with the latest NVIDIA drivers available in the PPA installed, and I've found more games working than not in my steam list of over 250 games. It sounds like you don't have a prerequisite met for Proton to function. Have you checked the github page I linked in an earlier post that has details regarding Proton requirements? What you have described sounds similar to issues I was having on my laptop until I updated to the latest MESA on it via PPA, as well as installing Vulkan libraries. Most distros aren't going to have the latest available MESA/NVIDIA drivers and Vulkan packages, all of which are required for Proton to work.
     
    Mazzspeed likes this.
  38. CrimsonKnight13

    CrimsonKnight13 Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress

    Messages:
    7,180
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Same issues for me with NVIDIA & Arch Linux. I'm running everything with the latest & greatest but it all fails horribly. I have an older AMD APU laptop that runs Steam Play games just fine...

    I'm going to keep doing more digging until I get somewhere with it. I will not be installing Ubuntu on my desktop though.
     
    AltTabbins likes this.
  39. klank

    klank Killer of Killer NIC Threadz

    Messages:
    2,156
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    I couldn't get it working with Antergos or Arch. I am currently running Min 19, works great so far. Kinda disappointing as i'd rather be on Arch.
     
  40. CrimsonKnight13

    CrimsonKnight13 Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress

    Messages:
    7,180
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    It's real odd for me since Arch & Steam Play work well with the least powerful of my 3 PCs. My gaming desktop & Arch don't seem to want to agree. I was banking on running The Division through wine-tkg-git (doesn't work) & as many games as I could with Steam Play (NOPE). :rage: