Network pics thread

MinPins

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
363
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
OH! My Dell R415 was dirty and full o dust :)

Cleaned out all the dust bunnies & re-thermal pasted each cpu, MUCH quieter and cooler now.



 

dcpuser

n00b
Joined
Jun 29, 2012
Messages
3
Yeah for switches I'm doing similar.

Not sure about the 2U appliances like the routers, firewalls and load balancers. I have LTM 6900s and 6400s from F5, ASA 5585Xs and various 1U ASA firewalls, ASR routers. I've attached a link to a pic of how I see my new network racks will look.



The new racks from the picture.



and my new cores. i'll be decommissioning the 6513s and move their PSU and dual fabric line cards over to these guys.

 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
you haven't had it very long?

no, but its in the top room of my house and it is on 24/7 pulling air in the front out the back. my computer room has carpet in it, so fuzz everywhere :)

PLUS the stock cpu paste is CRAP!
 

joshu

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
160
no, but its in the top room of my house and it is on 24/7 pulling air in the front out the back. my computer room has carpet in it, so fuzz everywhere :)

PLUS the stock cpu paste is CRAP!

I saw a photo you uploaded of your server in a closed little rack. I'm looking at doing something similar (I will create a thread with questions) and I'm curious if there is a way to prevent dust from being pulled into the rack and then into the servers etc. Some sort of dust filter or something after the rack's ventilation holes. Is something like this available?
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
I saw a photo you uploaded of your server in a closed little rack. I'm looking at doing something similar (I will create a thread with questions) and I'm curious if there is a way to prevent dust from being pulled into the rack and then into the servers etc. Some sort of dust filter or something after the rack's ventilation holes. Is something like this available?

I'm thinking about grabbing one of these ( furnace filter ) And put it on the front door of the mini rack that way it hits the filter and i can keep it clean, i'll put some vlecro dots on all 4 corners, that will alow it to stay in place, and allow me to remove it easily.

 

ToX

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
210
Yeah for switches I'm doing similar.

Not sure about the 2U appliances like the routers, firewalls and load balancers. I have LTM 6900s and 6400s from F5, ASA 5585Xs and various 1U ASA firewalls, ASR routers. I've attached a link to a pic of how I see my new network racks will look.

<removed pics to save post size>

Awesome setup.
 

joshu

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
160
I'm thinking about grabbing one of these ( furnace filter ) And put it on the front door of the mini rack that way it hits the filter and i can keep it clean, i'll put some vlecro dots on all 4 corners, that will alow it to stay in place, and allow me to remove it easily.

dashpuppy I like your creativity :p I'll keep this is mind when I get my new setup figured out. Thanks.
 

omegatotal

Gawd
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Messages
672
1. Some of the AP's would set themselves to international mode and change their channel. Manually overriding them would sometimes fix it, but more often then not they would reset back to international mode.

2. Bizarre incompatibility with certain wireless nics. We had a number of students and staff's computers would not fully connect to the network. Some would get connected but then fail to get an IP address. After trying multiple things, updating drives usually fixed the problem. They never had issues connecting to any other wireless network, they only had issues with our SonicPoints. This was just with a open guest network, no security, no Radius, etc.

3. The AP's supported N however it was extremely flaky. Most of the time they would not handle N and would either reboot or just stop moving traffic. We had to disable N on all the AP's.

4. Randomly they would disconnect from the network. The link would stay up and would stay powered on, however they dropped off the mac table so they did not appear on the switch. The manager would also be unable to communicate with it, and only a no power / power on the switch port would get them to come back up.

5. Some would lose the SSID but would continue to function normally if you connected to the default SSID.

6. Some of them got stuck updating firmware. Occasionally they would finally get updated and work for a while, but then they would lose their firmware and repeat the process.

7.



After a year of dealing with crappy wireless I am so glad to have ripped them out and put in good wireless.
Unifi is working great and zero issues.
Heck I came in one morning when we were still testing Unifi and there were 60 students on one Unifi AP! The two SonicPoints in that room were down and the only thing left was the Unifi. The students were only Blackboard testing so no major network traffic, but they had no issues.


thats just fucking retarded, send me the models/specifics on them if you haven't burned and /or gone office space on them yet, and are willing/able to sell them.
 

DeChache

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
7,079
Sorry, I can't sell them. Due to idiotic rules we can't sell or throw out old equipment.

So you just hold on to it till hell freezes over? Lol. That's dumb.

From the description he probably works at a Public University like I do and everything has to be disposed of through the business office. Which means old equipment goes to the surplus sale where scrapers fight tooth and nail for it and haul it away to sell as scrap.
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
From the description he probably works at a Public University like I do and everything has to be disposed of through the business office. Which means old equipment goes to the surplus sale where scrapers fight tooth and nail for it and haul it away to sell as scrap.

It's a stupid thing. Just like the Government i watched them take 4 pallets of dell servers away to the dump, asked if i can have one, nope its got sensitive data on it. ACTUALLY no it doesn't they all had no hard drives. Guy insisted they had data on them, right, and he's just a fork lift driver.

Some nice rack servers too..Just a waste..
 

feffrey

Gawd
Joined
Oct 26, 2010
Messages
585
From the description he probably works at a Public University like I do and everything has to be disposed of through the business office. Which means old equipment goes to the surplus sale where scrapers fight tooth and nail for it and haul it away to sell as scrap.

Pretty much this. Worse thing is we can't get any compensation back from getting rid of old equipment. I'm sure someone down the line is making a crap ton, but it is not our department or campus.
 

ToX

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
210
It's a stupid thing. Just like the Government i watched them take 4 pallets of dell servers away to the dump, asked if i can have one, nope its got sensitive data on it. ACTUALLY no it doesn't they all had no hard drives. Guy insisted they had data on them, right, and he's just a fork lift driver.

Some nice rack servers too..Just a waste..

the key is to make them disappear before they hit the pallett ;)
 

moose517

Gawd
Joined
Feb 28, 2009
Messages
640
shows how wasteful we are in general. I can understand they don't want sensitive data getting out but come on they can wipe network equipment clean(or just keep the flash cards if they use them) and keep hard drives to dispose of and sell the equipment.
 

DeChache

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
7,079
Pretty much this. Worse thing is we can't get any compensation back from getting rid of old equipment. I'm sure someone down the line is making a crap ton, but it is not our department or campus.

I think the proceeds here go into the general fund. But my department doesn't see any of it and stuff is so cheap that its not worth it.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
24
Had wired my old house with ethernet and coax cable. Each room had a wall plate with 1 coax and 3 ethernet connections.


Here is the network rack at the old house.




Top of rack

24 port 5e patch panel - ports 1-8 were used to split phones to each room, port 24 was phone line in, then on to router.

24 port patch panel ports - 1-7 red wall jacks, 9-15 blue wall jacks, 19-23 green wall jacks

cable organizer

D-Link DGS-1024D - 24 port gig switch

24 port keystone panel, 1-7 goes to coax wall jacks (7th one was broken, this was taken before it was fixed)


D-Link DNS-323 with 4 TB disk space - ATT U-Verse DVR


ATT U-Verse Residential gateway, splits voice & data - battery backup for RG

2x Cisco 2521 (Token Ring) routers.... useless, except as shelves in the rack. No more Ebay at 3 in the morning without checking the exact model number. Oh well. They were cheap, and I got them about 10 years ago.

1U cable organiser, gone now, broken.




Currently, we have sold the house, and are renting another house, so nothing special.... I have run cables up to the office next to the vent, and to the living room through the return air duct.... oh well. It will all get taken out when we leave.... Yup, the wiring is a MESS, but it will just stay that way unless my wife says something about it. We won't be here long enough to make everything look really good.



The router and battery backup are the only things down there. Everything else is in boxes, except for the D-Link DNS-323 NAS box. That is on my desk right now.


House came with antique hardware...

 

Impulse25

n00b
Joined
Feb 6, 2006
Messages
40
Since we've been on the subject of surplus gear. Here is a bunch of 3550's, RPS's, a 4006 some parted out 6500 chassis and a 7206 vxr plus probably some other junk. Stack is about 7 feet high. And, no, I can't give away or sell any of this, sorry :p.

 
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
24
Just say "Idle Assets" to someone from upper management, and watch their heads explode.... hahaha.




Lots of you guys have really nice home network rack setups. A few of them I saw were almost absurd as to the amount of equipment in them, but perhaps some folks have work equipment in the rack as well.

I am now REALLY thinking about getting a rackable server or NAS. The D-Link DNS-323 is great, but I would like something that has a bit more horsepower, can handle transcoding video streams, maybe handle some gaming servers, hot swapable SATA drives, and expandable as far as drives are concerned. I have been looking at Dell MD1000's on Ebay, but they are still outside what I would be able to afford. Hell, I can't afford anything right now, because we are getting all of our debt and student loans wiped 100% before buying another house, and will have some decent money at some point.

Do you guys have any suggestions as to where to look for incredible prices on equipment, such as businesses upgrading, or closing and liquidating? I will have to keep my eyes peeled for now, and just try to be prepared if anything comes up.
 

ChRoNo16

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
1,482
Rackable systems are loud, and i havent heard they are real great. Do what Dash did, set a couple hundred aside, and get a nice Dell R210 or something.. its a nice server, has some horsepower, and it can be quiet too.

I have lots of servers at home, sadly these days they just sit dormant. Mostly 2x dual core systems and such. I just dont need them.. Got an itx board and made an untangle box.. and thats the end of it for now.
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
Rackable systems are loud, and i havent heard they are real great. Do what Dash did, set a couple hundred aside, and get a nice Dell R210 or something.. its a nice server, has some horsepower, and it can be quiet too.

I have lots of servers at home, sadly these days they just sit dormant. Mostly 2x dual core systems and such. I just dont need them.. Got an itx board and made an untangle box.. and thats the end of it for now.

for home use, you DEFIANTLY don't want no loud annoying wife irritating device :)

The R210's are nice and decently quiet, you also want a switch that's quiet too. the 1U stuff gets noisy, BUT can be fixed easy like most of my stuff.

Remember, the older the stuff the more power it consumes and more heat it makes and probably the louder it is.

As for nas, QNAP QNAP QNAP.

you want a md1000, be warned for TONS AND TONS of heat and noise and your power bill to be up high..

EDIT !!

Only reason why i have a rack cabinet, is because my 2 year old daughter LOVES BLINKING LIGHTS AND WIRES! so i told the wife straight up, either i buy a rack cabinet with doors OR we replace what she breaks ever time. Then i told her the price of my 350$ switch LOL !! SOOOO the 400$ cabinet was ordered !
 

s0lid

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
202
Calibrating new batteries for my 5000VA home UPS :D

This is taking forever! It got network interface so it counts!

 

/usr/home

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
6,161
Synology NAS. Better than QNAP IMO. I love mine. I really like the audio station feature. I can use an iPhone to stream any music from home over 3G.
 

Red Squirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,211
It's a stupid thing. Just like the Government i watched them take 4 pallets of dell servers away to the dump, asked if i can have one, nope its got sensitive data on it. ACTUALLY no it doesn't they all had no hard drives. Guy insisted they had data on them, right, and he's just a fork lift driver.

Some nice rack servers too..Just a waste..

Yeah it's sad the stuff that goes to waste due to bureaucracy BS. I saw that a lot where I used to work. I did get lucky enough to score a SAN and some other stuff once though but we had to push hard for it and we were surprised they actually said yes.
 

USF-Nealio

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
373
Since we've been on the subject of surplus gear. Here is a bunch of 3550's, RPS's, a 4006 some parted out 6500 chassis and a 7206 vxr plus probably some other junk. Stack is about 7 feet high. And, no, I can't give away or sell any of this, sorry :p.

What is the stack of equipement on the left? are they secondary power supplies?
 

agrikk

Gawd
Joined
Apr 16, 2002
Messages
933
I'm thinking about grabbing one of these ( furnace filter ) And put it on the front door of the mini rack that way it hits the filter and i can keep it clean, i'll put some vlecro dots on all 4 corners, that will alow it to stay in place, and allow me to remove it easily.


Exactly right. I actually put in little L-blocks to hold it in place as I found it worked better than Velcro. I slide out the filter to replace it every two months or so.

 
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
24
I should preface this by saying that I don't have ANY experience with servers, but I have been building computers for over 10 years now. Not sure if my DNS-323 would really be considered a 'server' or not, but it really doesn't have robust hardware, just minimal for SOHO use. So I still have lots of homework to do.

I have been looking into the Dell R210 a little bit, and I am liking 90% of what I see. The only thing really that I see which I don't like is that it only accomodates 2 hard drives.

I have been looking at some older models, and right now I am interested in the F1D and the CS24-SC, but I really can't find ANY info at all on them, so that makes me a bit nervous.... Aside from that, the hardware looks ok, dual CPU, 4 HDD bays, 1U.

Dell F1D on Ebay

Dell CS24-SC on ebay





So that I have some pics posted..... Has anyone else had a box of cable that is absolutely a PITA to work with? This thing got all knotted up every 10 feet or so in the box when I was pulling cable throughout the house. Gotta love doing it yourself, having to crawl around the attick pulling the cable, then run back down to the basement every so often to get the tangled mess taken care of, or a snag loose. 1 thing is for sure.... The next house I buy, I am going to have at LEAST 1 if not 2 other people helping me so that it takes 25% of the time to get it done.





Or another favorite.... Had buddy rent a room from me for a year, and his dog TOTALLY messed up the carpet, so ripped it down to the plywood, FINALLY got the stink out, and decieded to cut up the floor so that I could take 3 cable runs out to the garage, 1 for living room, 1 for garage, 1 for possible future installation in the kitchen. 12 hour day at work, followed by 4 hours of pulling cables, and doing other work in that room. I ended up stepping between the joists where the cables were being pulled, and went into the living room.... whoops... hahaha.



[EDIT] Added 2 more pics....

Bunch of cables running up to the attic




Rack revision 1.0.....

[/EDIT]
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
928
I really hope your not married or living with somebody..... If your married I would hate to see what your wife would say to you if she sees that hole through the living room. Because I know my wife would seriously kill me if I did something like that.

I should preface this by saying that I don't have ANY experience with servers, but I have been building computers for over 10 years now. Not sure if my DNS-323 would really be considered a 'server' or not, but it really doesn't have robust hardware, just minimal for SOHO use. So I still have lots of homework to do.

I have been looking into the Dell R210 a little bit, and I am liking 90% of what I see. The only thing really that I see which I don't like is that it only accomodates 2 hard drives.

I have been looking at some older models, and right now I am interested in the F1D and the CS24-SC, but I really can't find ANY info at all on them, so that makes me a bit nervous.... Aside from that, the hardware looks ok, dual CPU, 4 HDD bays, 1U.

Dell F1D on Ebay

Dell CS24-SC on ebay





So that I have some pics posted..... Has anyone else had a box of cable that is absolutely a PITA to work with? This thing got all knotted up every 10 feet or so in the box when I was pulling cable throughout the house. Gotta love doing it yourself, having to crawl around the attick pulling the cable, then run back down to the basement every so often to get the tangled mess taken care of, or a snag loose. 1 thing is for sure.... The next house I buy, I am going to have at LEAST 1 if not 2 other people helping me so that it takes 25% of the time to get it done.





Or another favorite.... Had buddy rent a room from me for a year, and his dog TOTALLY messed up the carpet, so ripped it down to the plywood, FINALLY got the stink out, and decieded to cut up the floor so that I could take 3 cable runs out to the garage, 1 for living room, 1 for garage, 1 for possible future installation in the kitchen. 12 hour day at work, followed by 4 hours of pulling cables, and doing other work in that room. I ended up stepping between the joists where the cables were being pulled, and went into the living room.... whoops... hahaha.



[EDIT] Added 2 more pics....

Bunch of cables running up to the attic




Rack revision 1.0.....

[/EDIT]
 
Top