MiSTer FPGA - Retro Console Hardware

bigdogchris

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
18,140
Anyone else messing around with MiSTer? I put one together recently and so far have been loving the experience compared to my RetroPie device. Setup was just as easy as a RetroPie.

MiSTer an open source console/computer hardware simulator project using FPGA hardware, similar to the Super Nt and Mega Sg projects. People create hardware cores that program the FPGA device to simulate hardware. It pretty much eliminates the issues you experience with emulation because the FPGA hardware is acting as the console. That means more accurate games with less slowdown, etc unless it was in the real game. Obviously nothing is perfect but many of the cores have been worked on for well over a year now. The only latency you have to deal with is input and display. But thanks to some creative people, they also have zero latency input devices that use real controllers (SNAC and BliSTer), and almost zero latency USB polling overclocking options available.

Other than the more authentic gaming experience, features like extra sprites, adjusting aspect ratio, adding filters, adjusting pallets and sound, etc. are all present as well.

The downside compared to say a RetroPie or other emulators is that features such as save states and pausing (games that don't have pause or saves) are not supported. You also have to make sure that you return to the menu before shutting off the game so that the core save game memory writes back to flash. There is still some slowdown in some games. Also, the cost is significantly higher than Raspberry Pi hardware as well. But I think those trade offs are some people are willing to make if you are interested in a more authentic experience.

MiSTer info.

A couple of the big players on YouTube are RetroRGB and SmokeMonster
 
Last edited:

J3RK

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
9,492
Best emu-simulation-environment I've ever used! My brother and I are both running them. Just put the 128MB memory module on mine.

The GBA core actually has save-states, so I'm hoping those will spread out to the rest of the cores eventually.

FPGA is night and day. I actually thought that maybe I was just getting old because I found I wasn't as good at action platformers anymore. Super Mario World for example. I mean, I was still ok, but not great. It turns out that I'm A LOT more sensitive to latency (only in the context of this type of game) than I had thought. Playing on the MiSTer I'm every bit as good as I always was, even with Megaman or other tougher platformers. I was really starting to wonder what the hell was wrong with me. :D I've been playing on emulators since early MAME, DOS emulators, etc. so I'm VERY familiar with the nuances, it just never really occurred to me that it might be latency.

I have to say MiSTer is spot-on. I love watching it progress too. I used to love that with emulators too until they reached a certain point in ubiquity where it wasn't as interesting anymore.

I agree with RetroRGB and SmokeMonster as good news guys. There are a few others too.

I'd also recommend www.misteraddons.com for acquiring the hardware. Mr. Pork Chop Express is great to deal with.

Also, most of the devs hang out on atari-forum. If you haven't checked it out, it's a pretty good spot for information.

Here's some pics of my MiSTer. I felt it needed a full custom case. :D My brother uses the acrylic one.
 

Attachments

J3RK

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
9,492
Are those Retro-Bit Sega pads? Have you tried the USB Polling OC with them?
Yes, they’re the “Sega Collaboration” Retro-Bit pads. They work really nicely. I have not tried tweaking the polling with them yet.
 

bigdogchris

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
18,140
Yes, they’re the “Sega Collaboration” Retro-Bit pads. They work really nicely. I have not tried tweaking the polling with them yet.
Cool. WIth one of the recent Mister updates they integrated the USB OCing with just a on/off in the scripts folder. Check it out!
 
  • Like
Reactions: J3RK
like this

Geronimo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
1,682
Best emu-simulation-environment I've ever used! My brother and I are both running them. Just put the 128MB memory module on mine.

The GBA core actually has save-states, so I'm hoping those will spread out to the rest of the cores eventually.

FPGA is night and day. I actually thought that maybe I was just getting old because I found I wasn't as good at action platformers anymore. Super Mario World for example. I mean, I was still ok, but not great. It turns out that I'm A LOT more sensitive to latency (only in the context of this type of game) than I had thought. Playing on the MiSTer I'm every bit as good as I always was, even with Megaman or other tougher platformers. I was really starting to wonder what the hell was wrong with me. :D I've been playing on emulators since early MAME, DOS emulators, etc. so I'm VERY familiar with the nuances, it just never really occurred to me that it might be latency.

I have to say MiSTer is spot-on. I love watching it progress too. I used to love that with emulators too until they reached a certain point in ubiquity where it wasn't as interesting anymore.

I agree with RetroRGB and SmokeMonster as good news guys. There are a few others too.

I'd also recommend www.misteraddons.com for acquiring the hardware. Mr. Pork Chop Express is great to deal with.

Also, most of the devs hang out on atari-forum. If you haven't checked it out, it's a pretty good spot for information.

Here's some pics of my MiSTer. I felt it needed a full custom case. :D My brother uses the acrylic one.
Hi guys. I just received my 128MB card today, and should receive my DE10- Nano tomorrow, or Wed.

Where did you buy that case? Did you custom make it? I really was looking for a case like that.
 

J3RK

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
9,492
Hi guys. I just received my 128MB card today, and should receive my DE10- Nano tomorrow, or Wed.

Where did you buy that case? Did you custom make it? I really was looking for a case like that.
I just responded to your PM about the case in more detail. It was a one off that I did, but I'm happy to post or send the drawings. It's a Front Panel Express project. Assuming you wanted it as-is (kinda expensive) you just submit the shopping cart, and then they do all the metal-work, and send it to you ready to assemble.
 
Last edited:

bigdogchris

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
18,140
I found out I can get a free CRT TV with component inputs on it. Anyone have luck with the analogue output over HDMI on this? I didn't buy the I/O board because I was hoping analogue over HDMI would work well for me.

Also, anyone know of a low latency, affordable active HDMI to Component converter? I was thinking I may need to do an HDMI to VGA active, then pick up the VGA to Component from misteraddons.
 

Geronimo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
1,682
I read that you should you should be able to use a cheap @ $5 passive to HDMI converter and a few changes in the Mister.ini file you you would be set. I'll try to find the post I read. It is called direct video.
 

bigdogchris

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
18,140
I read that you should you should be able to use a cheap @ $5 passive to HDMI converter and a few changes in the Mister.ini file you you would be set. I'll try to find the post I read. It is called direct video.
Yeah, I was planning on using the Direct Video. I'm just looking for good options for the cabling.
 

bigdogchris

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
18,140
I wonder if that new forum has to do with the atari-forum being down for over a week.
 

Geronimo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
1,682
I think that MiSTer is really gaining in popularity extremely fast, and moving foward. The ATARI forums are still down, and the MiSTer forum was started by Sorgelig himself. All MiSTer discussion is now over there. I think it was a good move.
 

bigdogchris

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
18,140
I have the iBuffalo classic but the D pad isn't great; much too clicky. Response time is great though.
 

J3RK

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
9,492
It took forever, but I finally managed to sort and fix my PC Engine CD collection so that it will work on MiSTer. It's flawless so far. Very impressive. I also tried out a few Capcom CPS1 games, and that seemed pretty good too. I hadn't updated my MiSTer in quite a while, because I had too many other things going on for a bit. Good to hear about the forum move. There wasn't anything wrong with the Atari ones, but I agree that a dedicated one is nice. I'll have to join today.
 

twonunpackmule

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
1,521
This is on my list of things to tackle. However, stock is always iffy, and I seem to miss the boat more often than not.
 

Geronimo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
1,682
I have the iBuffalo classic but the D pad isn't great; much too clicky. Response time is great though.
I'm using the SN30 PRO PLUS in black wired via USB, but I'm going to try it via bluetooth, and give the PS4 controller a try. I also have a Logitech F710 as backup
 

J3RK

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
9,492
Just start and buy the DE10 NANO, and a cheap micro USB OTG hub. That is what I did.
Agreed. There are quite a few cores that do not need the SDRAM module. You can play quite a bit with even JUST the DE10. I was thinking about making a "mini" version for another room of the house or portability since my main MiSTer is so large. I was thinking of maybe building it into a small Pelican or Plasticase case.
 

bigdogchris

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
18,140
I don't have the IO board, just a fan on top. But I was looking at the new version of the IO board and was thinking of picking that up. I'm confused if the button on the side is suppose to be a power button, does anyone know? My main reason for wanting the IO board is now they have added support for the three user buttons to allow keyboard remapping without needing to bring out the keyboard. Makes the portability of the Mister a lot better.
 

twonunpackmule

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
1,521
Agreed. There are quite a few cores that do not need the SDRAM module. You can play quite a bit with even JUST the DE10. I was thinking about making a "mini" version for another room of the house or portability since my main MiSTer is so large. I was thinking of maybe building it into a small Pelican or Plasticase case.
Just start and buy the DE10 NANO, and a cheap micro USB OTG hub. That is what I did.
The issue is the cores I want to use immediately, use the sdram module.

Honestly, most of it is time. It's fire season currently and I wont have time to tinker. It'll have to wait. I just got a Rift S, and that'll soak up my free time.
 

Geronimo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
1,682
I'll give you guys just starting out some tips. These are things I learned doing a lot of researching and my own experience.

You DON'T need the IO board. A small heatsink, and, or a fan is recommended, so they make blank IO boards to just mount the fan.

I went ghetto for now. I'm powering an old 120mm fan I had laying around from the GPIO pins 9v line. It works well. YMMV depending on the fan. 2 out of my 3, all different brands, worked.

There is a digital and and an anolog IO board. Neither is required. They add 3 buttons, and other small nice features and misc. conviniences. The Analog let's you output to 2 devices via HDMI and analog at the same time. The digital Frees up the 2nd GPIO pins for maybe more options down the line, like a 2nd memory stick, etc..... and adds a power switch. You can add a cheap HDMI to VGA adapter, and edit the .ini file if you need analog output with no IO board

You don't NEED the USB board. You can use a MICRO USB OTG that came with an android phone, and use any USB hub you have laying around.

You only need the keyboard to set it up one time. You can set up a button on your joystick or pad to bring up the MENU and navigate. After that, you don't need the hub or the keyboard, unless using the PC cores, or the DOOM core, or you want to add USB Bluetooth, or USB WIFI.

Look up RetroDriven and use his "ALL IN ONE" SCRIPT after you set up the SD card. You will thank me later.
 
Last edited:

twonunpackmule

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
1,521
Here is my current setup while I sort the case situation. I have a 128 memory stick on it. Looks ugly for now, but the cheapest you can do.
I really want the case when I order one. I have plans to tie the device with my Sony PVR.
 

Geronimo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
1,682
I really want the case when I order one. I have plans to tie the device with my Sony PVR.
I'm case-less for now while I wait for the LL COOL JOY. I will buy the latest digital IO board at the same time. I plan on making a custom case.
 

twonunpackmule

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
1,521
I see. Your very much right. Better protect that investment. I don't really ever touch my DE10 NANO, and I always unplug it after playing and if I need to handle it.
Yea, I fried a Raspberry PI last winter. That was actually cased too.
 
Top