Lone Industries L2: Dual slot version of L1 anyone?

andgo

Weaksauce
Joined
May 15, 2014
Messages
99
My Dell PA-9E 240w is pretty huge.

I wonder what peak load it is capable of.

Here, someone tests a 330w external Dell PSU and finds it capable of 370w:

http://www.hardwareluxx.de/communit...dup-die-itx-netzteile-der-zukunft-996904.html

Imagine a case like the Lone L2 that allows for normal size graphics cards, built for the HD PLEX or 3-400w pico box PSUs. Equip it with one of the upcoming more powerful Maxwell cards (GTX 860ti?). Would be pretty crazy.

This thread probably had something like that going:

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1799326
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
538
My Dell PA-9E 240w is pretty huge.

I wonder what peak load it is capable of.

Here, someone tests a 330w external Dell PSU and finds it capable of 370w:

http://www.hardwareluxx.de/communit...dup-die-itx-netzteile-der-zukunft-996904.html

Imagine a case like the Lone L2 that allows for normal size graphics cards, built for the HD PLEX or 3-400w pico box PSUs. Equip it with one of the upcoming more powerful Maxwell cards (GTX 860ti?). Would be pretty crazy.

This thread probably had something like that going:

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1799326

That would be pretty crazy. :)

At around that point though, I think I'd prefer to use an SFX power supply. If I do something larger, that's likely what it'll use for power. When I was assembling the L2, I had a hard time telling that it was actually any larger than the L1.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
538
I've opened up pre-orders for the L2. I figure there's no sense in delaying people from pre-ordering the case. I'm willing to do the work if we get 25 or more orders. I have had to increase the price by $5 CAD due to higher than expected powder coating min price per colour costs.

UPDATE: Decided to cancel pre-orders for a second L2 production run due to lack of interest.
 
Last edited:

RobonHood

n00b
Joined
Apr 20, 2014
Messages
24
That would be pretty crazy. :)

At around that point though, I think I'd prefer to use an SFX power supply. If I do something larger, that's likely what it'll use for power. When I was assembling the L2, I had a hard time telling that it was actually any larger than the L1.

Is there anyway you can post a picture of the 2 side by side just for curiosities sake on my part haha :p?
 

andgo

Weaksauce
Joined
May 15, 2014
Messages
99
That would be pretty crazy. :)

At around that point though, I think I'd prefer to use an SFX power supply. If I do something larger, that's likely what it'll use for power. When I was assembling the L2, I had a hard time telling that it was actually any larger than the L1.

SFX is definitely also nice.

In my opinion the Ncase M1 is too advanced for someone who would just like to build a simple aircooled system. You pay a lot extra for all of those details, I vastly prefer the simpler design of the L2.
 

dondan

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,743
Here, someone tests a 330w external Dell PSU and finds it capable of 370w:

http://www.hardwareluxx.de/communit...dup-die-itx-netzteile-der-zukunft-996904.html

Imagine a case like the Lone L2 that allows for normal size graphics cards, built for the HD PLEX or 3-400w pico box PSUs. Equip it with one of the upcoming more powerful Maxwell cards (GTX 860ti?). Would be pretty crazy.

This thread probably had something like that going:

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1799326
I am someone ;)
I did the german dc-power review in the hardwareluxx forum. And iam also the designer of the a4 ;).

@loneindustries: i like your new case. Very nice minimalastic and clean design. But I wonder how is it possible to sell such a case with a low charge for this cheap price?
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
538
@loneindustries: i like your new case. Very nice minimalastic and clean design. But I wonder how is it possible to sell such a case with a low charge for this cheap price?

I think it just depends on who you work with and their pricing. I've also tried to keep my margins low to make it as affordable as possible. I really wish I could make them even cheaper. Either that or be able to offer free shipping.
 
Last edited:

Ryleh

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 16, 2013
Messages
304
Just got my case. Opening the box now.

Components:
i3 2120 w/ AXP-140
Gigabye Z77N-Wifi
Corsair 2x4gb LP vengence(white)
Galaxy 750 ti LP
Pico-PSU 160xt w/ 192w brick
Crucial M500 120gb

Notes:
-Case closes completely with heatsink in there
-92mm fan fits to the side perfectly
-Included screws too big for pico psu plug
-When it comes to mounting the mobo, the rounded screws work for all but the bottom left one. Might just be me.
-I switched out the power switch while I shorten/sleeve the included one. While I prefer the tactile switch I put in (the included one is mushy), the included one takes up less space.

Some shots:
ZlZnOiYl.jpg
Eadebo8l.jpg


Full size:
http://imgur.com/ZlZnOiY
http://imgur.com/Eadebo8

I'll have some better ones up once i get some 80mm fans, and sleeve/shorten the pico PSU wires.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
538
Just got my case. Opening the box now.

Notes:
-Case closes completely with heatsink in there
-92mm fan fits to the side perfectly
-Included screws too big for pico psu plug
-When it comes to mounting the mobo, the rounded screws work for all but the bottom left one. Might just be me.
-I switched out the power switch while I shorten/sleeve the included one. While I prefer the tactile switch I put in (the included one is mushy), the included one takes up less space.

I'll have some better ones up once i get some 80mm fans, and sleeve/shorten the pico PSU wires.

Glad someone received the case early! :)

The PicoPSU should come with screws (at least mine did). Might have to include a couple of these screws in the future. I believe they're M2.5, but not sure about the thread.

It's possible the one mobo fastener may has some powder coat build-up. You could try working the screw back and forth. Let me know what you find.

Looking good!

EDIT: I just noticed the bracket on your GPU. Did you make this out of a full-size bracket, or is this what it came with?
 
Last edited:

Ryleh

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 16, 2013
Messages
304
Glad someone received the case early! :)

The PicoPSU should come with screws (at least mine did). Might have to include a couple of these screws in the future. I believe they're M2.5, but not sure about the thread.

It's possible the one mobo fastener may has some powder coat build-up. You could try working the screw back and forth. Let me know what you find.

Looking good!

I struggled to get it to work with and without a motherboard being in there. The included extras (screws/fan mounts) was definitely a nice touch. Fortunately, the flat top one fits in there tightly so it really doesn't matter. Other than that, all the cuts of the case are great. What's the hole above the pico PSU jack hole for?

Awesome!

Hows the i3 with a passive heatsink?

CPU temp at idle: 35c
GPU temp at idle: 35c
CPU temp during intensive non-gaming applications: 50c
CPU temp while gaming (Chivalry: Medieval warfare - 20 minutes - 80%): 60c
GPU temp while gaming ((Chivalry: Medieval warfare - 20 minutes - 100%) - 55c

This is all in a somewhat hot room, tucked away between 3 monitors, speakers, and my laptop. Absolutely no air flow. I'll probably move the case to the side of my desk with my vornado fan.

I'll open up star citizen and see the worst case scenario in a few. I imagine the temps will drop a fair bit once I get 2 80mm fans at the top and reapply the thermal paste.
 
Last edited:

Saint001

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 14, 2011
Messages
205
I struggled to get it to work with and without a motherboard being in there. The included extras (screws/fan mounts) was definitely a nice touch. Fortunately, the flat top one fits in there tightly so it really doesn't matter. Other than that, all the cuts of the case are great. What's the hole above the pico PSU jack hole for?



CPU temp at idle: 35c
GPU temp at idle: 35c
CPU temp during intensive non-gaming applications: 50c
CPU temp while gaming (Chivalry: Medieval warfare - 20 minutes - 80%): 60c
GPU temp while gaming ((Chivalry: Medieval warfare - 20 minutes - 100%) - 55c

This is all in a somewhat hot room, tucked away between 3 monitors, speakers, and my laptop. Absolutely no air flow. I'll probably move the case to the side of my desk with my vornado fan.

I'll open up star citizen and see the worst case scenario in a few. I imagine the temps will drop a fair bit once I get 2 80mm fans at the top and reapply the thermal paste.


Those are some pretty decent temps especially without the airflow, those 80mm's should drop them a few. Nice build, thanks for posting!
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
11
Wow, that really drives home how small this case is.. I'm really excited for mine right now.
Just a bummer that galaxytech's store is down at the moment :(

EDIT: Got the case today, looks amazing! It'll be some time before there's a system in it, though
 
Last edited:

Ryleh

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 16, 2013
Messages
304
Wow, that really drives home how small this case is.. I'm really excited for mine right now.
Just a bummer that galaxytech's store is down at the moment :(

Just saw that myself. That's awfully inconveniencing.

For anyone interested, I just 'sound proofed' the case.
http://imgur.com/a/8jyfj

My advice to anyone interesting in doing the same is to put the case on a soft surface(but flat, like a mousepad) and to put the foam between the door and the inside chassis and outline it before you cut it. Having foam on the entire panel prevents it from shutting.
 

sgtspiff

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
137
Just saw that myself. That's awfully inconveniencing.

For anyone interested, I just 'sound proofed' the case.
http://imgur.com/a/8jyfj

My advice to anyone interesting in doing the same is to put the case on a soft surface(but flat, like a mousepad) and to put the foam between the door and the inside chassis and outline it before you cut it. Having foam on the entire panel prevents it from shutting.

Interesting to see your temps with extra stuffing in the case.
 

updawg

Gawd
Joined
Mar 20, 2010
Messages
609
I got my black case with the vented side panel in the mail yesterday, looks awesome! I won't be doing a build this week in it but I'll be sure to post some pictures when I do.
 

jamesman32

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
422
I got my Black L2 about 2 hours ago, and finished installing everything and took a few pictures with my phone.








Specs:
ASRock Z97e-ITX
Intel Haswell Core i5 4590s
Noctua NH-L9i
2x8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LP DDR3 1600Mhz
Galaxy GTX 750 Ti LP
2x120GB Mushkin Chronos SSDs (RAID0 array for Win8.1)
1TB Western Digital 7200rpm HDD (Games and files)
2 Noctua 80mm fans
PicoPSU 160XT


In case anyone is wondering how I got 3 drives in, I just taped one SSD on top of the other which was already bolted into the bracket. "Ghetto mod" works for now at least!
 

Saint001

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 14, 2011
Messages
205
In case anyone is wondering how I got 3 drives in, I just taped one SSD on top of the other which was already bolted into the bracket. "Ghetto mod" works for now at least!

That turned out extremely tidy and it's one of the first Z97 builds!

Planning on a similar "ghetto mod" eventually to get another drive in mine, looks very effective.

My case is waiting for me at home :D
 

RobonHood

n00b
Joined
Apr 20, 2014
Messages
24
Alright so I got the case in, installed fans my main concern is for those who bought the 330w Dell PSU, where did you buy it and for how much haha. I feel like I should've asked this question sooner but I procrastinate a tad ;). Anyways love the case and I can't wait to start building in it :D, but if anyone could help me that'd be greatly appreciated.
 

the337

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 15, 2010
Messages
166
I got the case yesterday and it's beautiful. I just have a quick question for those that have the low profile 750 ti. How are you screwing it in? Mine looks like
NChtG3Zl.jpg
 
Joined
May 29, 2005
Messages
700
Even if you only have one back plate you can just use the screw to hold the un-notched side in place. It's not a heavy card so it doesn't take much.
 

vipz

Gawd
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
818
That back plate looks wrong. All low-profile back plates should have the screw hole on the other side. I would contact Galaxy.

mpQCeab.png
 
Joined
May 29, 2005
Messages
700
My backplates are the same as the337's, and it looks like most of those pictured in this thread are too.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
538
The Galaxy brackets are made wrong, but looks like they still do the job.

EDIT: Is there any other brackets available that will fit the Galaxy 750 Ti Slim? If not, and if someone's willing to send me their bracket I could probably make some new ones.
 
Last edited:

s0skey

n00b
Joined
Sep 27, 2013
Messages
47
Just wanted to say I received my L2 yesterday. Just as awesome as my L1.

Thanks James!
 

sgtspiff

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
137
From enthusiam to torture. That is the path this thread has walked in my head.
I truly want to buy a case but just don't have the money for a new system right now.
 

andgo

Weaksauce
Joined
May 15, 2014
Messages
99
From enthusiam to torture. That is the path this thread has walked in my head.
I truly want to buy a case but just don't have the money for a new system right now.

Just buy the case and build later? :D
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
538
Alright so I got the case in, installed fans my main concern is for those who bought the 330w Dell PSU, where did you buy it and for how much haha. I feel like I should've asked this question sooner but I procrastinate a tad ;). Anyways love the case and I can't wait to start building in it :D, but if anyone could help me that'd be greatly appreciated.

I'm not aware of anyone using a Dell brick? Aren't they all 19V? Which DC-DC converter are you planning on using? I think most people with a GPU are using this:

http://www.mini-box.com/picoPSU-160-XT-192W-Adapter-Power-Kit

Just wanted to say I received my L2 yesterday. Just as awesome as my L1.

Thanks James!

You're welcome! :)
 

RobonHood

n00b
Joined
Apr 20, 2014
Messages
24
I'm not aware of anyone using a Dell brick? Aren't they all 19V? Which DC-DC converter are you planning on using? I think most people with a GPU are using this:

http://www.mini-box.com/picoPSU-160-XT-192W-Adapter-Power-Kit

Well, I know Stevo_ is using one in his original build within the L1. But honestly I would love to use the HDPlex just to be on the safe side of having enough power. But I am seriously considering the http://www.aliexpress.com/store/pro...C-ATX-power-supply-with/211500_729581097.html. I just really worried about not having enough power overall during load as I do game a fair portion when I feel like it.
 

Stevo_

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
285
Well, I know Stevo_ is using one in his original build within the L1. But honestly I would love to use the HDPlex just to be on the safe side of having enough power. But I am seriously considering the http://www.aliexpress.com/store/pro...C-ATX-power-supply-with/211500_729581097.html. I just really worried about not having enough power overall during load as I do game a fair portion when I feel like it.

That's correct, I'm using the Dell 330W brick and Z3 PSU, works fine although Z3 is very toasty but test reports on JohnnyGuru showed all the pico type PSUs they tested run pretty hot, brick is barely warm. I just picked up the HD Plex 250W but I may try the Z3 first with the Galaxy card just to see, I think with normal CPU loading it would be fine, but I would not run a CPU/GPU torture test at the same time at least with my 3770K. I've run Prime95 without issue on the CPU alone with Kombustor, using open hardware monitor, supplies look very stable.
 

RobonHood

n00b
Joined
Apr 20, 2014
Messages
24
Let me know how things go, I definitely would prefer the Z3 to the HDplex in form factor but if the HD provides more headroom than I definitely would rather go with it. How are space constraints inside the case and how do you plan on mounting it?
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
538
So besides the Z3 being cheaper, it doesn't really offer any greater power capability right? Just more readily available/inexpensive 19V power adapters?
 

Shockwave818

Weaksauce
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
73
So besides the Z3 being cheaper, it doesn't really offer any greater power capability right? Just more readily available/inexpensive 19V power adapters?

Yeah, looks like Z3 is the same ~ 96 watts sustained on the 12V line. :(

Positive that it can take wide range input, so it is probably regulating the 12V line instead of pass through. Perhaps lower noise.
 

Stevo_

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
285
Let me know how things go, I definitely would prefer the Z3 to the HDplex in form factor but if the HD provides more headroom than I definitely would rather go with it. How are space constraints inside the case and how do you plan on mounting it?

Looks like *just* enough room to mount on top of the L1 style drive cage with connectors up towards the top with thermal pads, but some of the included cables are insanely long for the L2. May need to break down and re-sleeve then. There are 2 lengths of 24-pin, one is 6 inch but the CPU and 19V power cables are about 2ft long. Everything else is manageable, but it will be tight.
 

Stevo_

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
285
Positive that it can take wide range input, so it is probably regulating the 12V line instead of pass through. Perhaps lower noise.

From the JohnnyGuru testing, this was the primary advantage, nearly all the 12V brick/PSU combinations suffered varying levels of 12V droop and my TDP was already rated somewhat high. Though my particular chip seems at the low end of the range in actual tests.
 

the337

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 15, 2010
Messages
166
Does anyone have a recommendation for slim 80mm fans? I bought some regular Noctua ones that are 25mm but they're too thick based on where the PicoPSU gets plugged into the motherboard.
 

Ryleh

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 16, 2013
Messages
304
Does anyone have a recommendation for slim 80mm fans? I bought some regular Noctua ones that are 25mm but they're too thick based on where the PicoPSU gets plugged into the motherboard.

I plan on making a sleeved 24-pin extension so I don't even have to bother with that. Not only will it look better but I'll probably get better airflow. You might be able to find some pre-bought if you don't want to build one yourself.
 
Top