Intel Releases Updated Microcode For Meltdown and Spectre

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by rgMekanic, Feb 21, 2018.

  1. rgMekanic

    rgMekanic [H]ard|News Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,725
    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Intel has announced that it has released production microcode updates to OEM manufacturers for Kaby Lake, Coffee Lake, and Skylake platforms. Along with this announcement, Intel has finally given us a schedule and availability table for the microcode revisions that can be found here.

    Nice to see they haven't just went quiet and hoped we forgot, I was actually asking yesterday if anyone had heard anything. It's nice to see that in their guidance paper that they plan on going back further than initally thought, though we will have to see if they make it out of "planning" or get pushed out by vendors. Also there are some CPU's that seem to be missing from the list. Keep checking your motherboard manufacturers sites for updates, you can find a list we compiled here.

    Based on these efforts, we have now released production microcode updates to our OEM customers and partners for Kaby Lake- and Coffee Lake-based platforms, plus additional Skylake-based platforms. This represents our 6th, 7th and 8th Generation Intel® Core™ product lines as well as our latest Intel Core™ X-series processor family. It also includes our recently announced Intel Xeon Scalable and Intel Xeon D processors for data center systems.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2018
    455olds likes this.
  2. rgMekanic

    rgMekanic [H]ard|News Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,725
    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Something seems fishy here. For some reason (perhaps I'm blind) But I can't see Broadwell-E listed in the table.
     
    Master_shake_ and Vercinaigh like this.
  3. deaedius

    deaedius Gawd

    Messages:
    936
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    I thought Broadwell was cutoff, so those with 4000 series and below are SOL. :(
     
  4. janas19

    janas19 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,437
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Intel is sticking to it's "optional security" stance right? The only thing that could be possibly worse than this whole mess is forcing the microcode and then making it irreversible.
     
  5. Burticus

    Burticus 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,790
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Hmmm, we have a ton of M3 Cisco UCS blades at work. Those are mostly Ivy Bridge e5-26xx. Tons of those... the entire VM environment. But how vulnerable those really are running esxi is another question.
     
  6. Madoc

    Madoc Gawd

    Messages:
    944
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    That's nice, Intel... My next CPU will be an AMD chip.
     
  7. panhead

    panhead Gawd

    Messages:
    902
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    It is on there as;
    Broadwell Server E, EP, EP4S,EX - Intel® Xeon® Processor E5v4 Product Family
     
  8. rgMekanic

    rgMekanic [H]ard|News Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,725
    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Unfortunately my 6800k and Kyle's 6950x are not Xeons, I'm hoping that they are lumped in there, but something a bit more specific like there is for every other processor on there would be reassuring.
     
  9. Hanakuso

    Hanakuso [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,443
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    I updated my BIOS last week. Hopefully this takes care of it once and for all.
     
  10. cdabc123

    cdabc123 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,169
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    im getting
    404 ERROR: REQUEST COULD NOT BE FOUND
    from the link
     
  11. rgMekanic

    rgMekanic [H]ard|News Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,725
    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Should be fixed now, the USB ports on my motherboard have been acting up for a while, and occasionally it likes to multi-type, must have put 2 URL's back to back when I ctrl-V'd
     
  12. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,430
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Isn't this just a Spectre patch? I thought you couldn't fix Meltdown with a microcode update (other than disabling predictive branching)?
     
  13. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    27,656
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Same for my 3930k.

    It looks like they've omitted all of the "-E" parts, or included them with the Xeons. I hope the latter is true.
     
  14. A Little Teapot

    A Little Teapot Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    146
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    They've only listed Xeons and Mobile chips for Ivy Bridge and Haswell. Cheap bastards.
     
  15. daglesj

    daglesj [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,023
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    So my 5820k is high and dry?

    Looks like my trip back to Intel was a short one.
     
  16. The_CrashMaster

    The_CrashMaster n00b

    Messages:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    If I have been reading this correctly, a lot of us might be high and dry, if your running windows to get the Microcode update it is up to the Motherboard manufactures to release a bios update with the microcode, last I looked for Asus they where only updating back to the 6th gen CPUs https://www.asus.com/News/V5urzYAT6myCC1o2 .

    So Intel might make an update all the way back to the Core2 days but if the motherboard manufactures don't update a bios windows users are SOL, Linux users I guess can insert the microcode update without bios support.
     
  17. DedEmbryonicCe11

    DedEmbryonicCe11 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,550
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    I've been checking with ASRock periodically and they put out a bulletin a while back saying they weren't going to publish any more BIOS updates with the new microcode until the reboot bug is fixed. The only boards they've released updates for since that bulletin were lower end mATX and what appears to be embedded systems boards.
     
  18. ltron

    ltron n00b

    Messages:
    51
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    They are effectively Xeons anyway, so hopefully you're right and my 5820K gets an update otherwise I might just switch to Ryzen+ if it's good enough.
     
    viper1152012 likes this.
  19. Domingo

    Domingo Skip My Posts

    Messages:
    16,859
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    How long are most mobo OEM's taking to provide BIOS updates?
     
  20. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    27,656
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Do these microcode updates necessarily HAVE to be included in a BIOS update?

    Can't the operating system inject Microcode at boot? At least I believe Linux can do this. It wouldn't be a stretch to think Windows can do this too.

    The reason I ask is, my motherboard was launched in mid to late 2011. I don't know how reasonable it is to expect that they would update the BIOS on it almost seven years later...
     
    drescherjm likes this.
  21. ltron

    ltron n00b

    Messages:
    51
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Linux-based OSs do load the microcode at boot without any user intervention required. I don't know why this is not done on Windows.
     
  22. ncjoe

    ncjoe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    147
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    so no 4790k fix in future ????
    that cpu was very popular , would seem like they'd cover it .................

    noticed several haswell variants , but not k version ...........

    disappointed .......
     
  23. viper1152012

    viper1152012 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,025
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    My dad had me watch the 60s show when I was a kid and I thought it was silly,but not getting to alpha centauri due to cancellation was a bummer.

    The Robinsons: lost in space was fun but didn't feel like lost is space.... Also no alpha centauri...

    FFS can they just get there already.....

    Netflix better not bungle this
     
  24. viper1152012

    viper1152012 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,025
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Asrock hasn't touched my x99 for a long while... But since it was a new board when I got it and it wasn't too long ago I could just argue an RMA?

    Still under a year.
     
  25. Alfred The Grey

    Alfred The Grey n00b

    Messages:
    37
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    /sigh I bet my trusty 2500K / MSI P67A-GD55 (B3) setup will never see an update. :(
     
  26. /dev/null

    /dev/null [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,854
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    I think e5-26xx is sandy
    E5-26xx v2 is ivy
    E5-26xx v3 is haswell, v4=broadwell, v5=sky, v6=kaby...
     
  27. Orddie

    Orddie 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,410
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    I was of the impression they said it could not be fixed?
     
  28. I'm sure that Intel won't do anything for me, Xeon X5672 - Westmere-EP.

    That's fine, why should they? It's an old platform, X58. They won't give a damn.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 22, 2018
  29. Hagrid

    Hagrid [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,952
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    So will this slowdown the computer? I know they said gaming won't be affected, but we have seen it be affected. But for high cpu/IO tasks and such as well?
     
  30. Exavior

    Exavior [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,646
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    The once and for all fix will be the units that they start to sell in the future... which will probably then be found to have even worse issues.
     
  31. aldamon

    aldamon [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,503
    Joined:
    May 24, 2000
    Haswell Perf Halo Intel® Core™ Extreme Processor (5960x, 5930x, 5820x) 40661 32 Beta 0x17 0x18 ---
     
  32. daglesj

    daglesj [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,023
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005

    And that means?
     
    Deleted member 88301 likes this.
  33. aldamon

    aldamon [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,503
    Joined:
    May 24, 2000
    It means our patch is in beta like it says. The whole point of this article is we now have a status update.
     
    ChoGGi likes this.
  34. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,430
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    The PDF says beta = Intel has released this production signed MCU under NDA for all customers to validate

    Edit: Too slow
     
    aldamon likes this.
  35. stonewalker

    stonewalker Gawd

    Messages:
    650
    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Where do we get the update?
     
  36. 455olds

    455olds Gawd

    Messages:
    714
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    You need bios update from your motherboard manufacturer.
     
  37. daglesj

    daglesj [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,023
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Cool! I'm a patient man.#

    Last BIOS update for my board was December 2017 so there might be hope.