Intel Larrabee

erek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
6,940
Interested to hear if you get it running. Nice unboxing video...

might need a beefy power supply, i heard it pulls at least 300 Watts itself. Don't know if i need very specific motherboard platform / cpu or not at this point, but even if that is met it still might need a custom BIOS and even possibly additional hardware hooked up to the card itself via one of the board interconnectors. Still also no software
 

erek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
6,940
i did get the Larrabee to POST, like my system actually boots, but the card itself beeps, 1 long and 2 short



no video output
 

erek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
6,940
1 long, and 3 short beeps, sorry --- even with using Above 4G Decoding option, but my motherboard does POST with only the Larrabee in as a VGA adapter
 

erek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
6,940
the actual Larrabee card itself has a PC Speaker
 

erek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
6,940
Mine (Revision 1)

upload_2018-9-29_14-22-10.png


Slaventus' Revision 2

LRB1-nude.jpg
 

erek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
6,940
i put in a second video card, and the beeps no longer are present on the Larrabee



but the Larrabee isn't appearing in the device manager, and it's not appearing in the BIOS as linked in



the larrabee seems to be alive though... maybe just needs an old motherboard



if i remove the 2nd video card the larrabee gives 1 long and 3 short beeps again
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
23,410
werent there some tools posted in the other thread to talk to it via a dos box? have you tried that or am I mistaken?
 
  • Like
Reactions: erek
like this

power666

Weaksauce
Joined
Jun 23, 2018
Messages
110
Mine (Revision 1)


Slaventus' Revision 2

Huh, a couple of differences off hand.

Video out ports seems to have been rearranged. DP, DVI and HDMI on your and then DVI, DP and HDMI on Slaventus' board. The Silicon Image (?) chips move accordingly. I have a feeling if you were to look up the Silicon Image part numbers on those chips you'd find that they were just DP -> HDMI active converter chips.

There are a couple of SMD chips near the connector on the upper left. Actually... what it is that connector? Some JTAG or other debugging port or perhaps connector for a genlock board?

There is a spot for a simple two pin connector near the six pin power connector on your board. I can't tell if that is also in Slavantus's board or not due to the blur in the corner. Also both boards have a jump near the 6 pin connector. Any labels near it to identify what it does?
 
  • Like
Reactions: erek
like this

erek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
6,940
Huh, a couple of differences off hand.

Video out ports seems to have been rearranged. DP, DVI and HDMI on your and then DVI, DP and HDMI on Slaventus' board. The Silicon Image (?) chips move accordingly. I have a feeling if you were to look up the Silicon Image part numbers on those chips you'd find that they were just DP -> HDMI active converter chips.

There are a couple of SMD chips near the connector on the upper left. Actually... what it is that connector? Some JTAG or other debugging port or perhaps connector for a genlock board?

There is a spot for a simple two pin connector near the six pin power connector on your board. I can't tell if that is also in Slavantus's board or not due to the blur in the corner. Also both boards have a jump near the 6 pin connector. Any labels near it to identify what it does?

There's also a blue bodge wire on mine near the DVI connetor (also a PIN Header there too not present on his) His is missing the PC Speaker too. There's an entire chip missing from Slaventus' board compared to mine near the FAN header to the bottom right
 

erek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
6,940
those chips are both the same "Parade" DP530 ES (unreleased engineering sample DisplayPort controllers)
 

d8lock

Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
684
Was that card made around the 8800 gt era? Curious what it would compare to if you got it up and running. Good luck!
 
  • Like
Reactions: erek
like this

erek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
6,940
No two larrabee prototypes are the same from what i can tell:


Linus: Revision 1 (notice the BLUE PCB)

s-l1600.jpg


s-l1600.jpg



Mine Also Revision 1 but BLACK PCB


42730903_10106891551018569_6633323005780951040_o.png


u1PRVRi.jpg


SLAVENTUS Revision 2 (Video Ports differently arragned)


42758731_10106891556956669_526439720633237504_o.png



Random Sample missing DisplayPort Controllers and also Video Outputs

"Collector: ZZC Collection Ownership: Chengdu, Sichuan Collection Age: 2009 Category: Display Card Core Code: Larrabee DX: 10 Bus Interface: PCI-E 2X16 Memory Capacity: 2GB Price Code: FC"

intel_larrabee_engineering_sample.jpg




UNKNOWN Owner? A Revision 1 with unique differences from the other Revision 1s?


8bcea64faf3d.jpg


ff702f980da9.jpg


8b07730d02f9.jpg





 
Last edited:

GiGaBiTe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
1,363
I have an AGP 7800GS OC from BFG, it was a really good card when AGP was on its way out.

 
Top