I'm impatient. Can anyone relate?

Discussion in 'Water Cooling' started by VanGoghComplex, Dec 4, 2018.

  1. VanGoghComplex

    VanGoghComplex [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,541
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    I have on order a custom bracket to properly install the new 480mm rad. It's taking a bit longer to fab than the shop expected it would. I also have on order proper e-Loop fans and more Phanteks Halos to go with them, but I can't be assed to wait for those. I've got a brand new Oculus and a system that needs to be running so I can use it.

    Lacking any sense of propriety, decency, or decorum, I've "installed" the rad using - yep - COMMAND STRIPS to the top of my case.

    IMG_20181203_232313604.jpg

    Lo and behold:

    IMG_20181203_232331310.jpg

    Command strips, temped-in soft tubing. Running Mayhem's PT2 right now, will actually start the beast up with distilled tomorrow night. I'll mix up a fresh batch of Mayhem's pastel white when I get the bracket and do the install for real. I'm really excited to see what practically doubling the rad capacity will do for me in terms of noise and cooling. This will be the first "properly" radded system I've run.
     
  2. hititnquitit

    hititnquitit Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    325
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    do it up man! i cant tell you how many times zip ties became permanent fixtures in some of my rigs hehe. tbh it wasnt until my current rig that i actually have screws holding ALL of my rads and fans in place :D
    looks like a solid loop btw!
     
    VanGoghComplex likes this.
  3. Westwood Arrakis

    Westwood Arrakis Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    401
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    I've driven 4x4s using a log as a ski, driven 100 miles with only an e-brake, had a friend sit on the engine feeding fuel through a carb, and used a winch to hold up my transmission; all made it home just fine.

    Command strips on a PC build? You nuts? XD
     
    VanGoghComplex likes this.
  4. Hakaba

    Hakaba I Think I am Funny, but I'm Not

    Messages:
    471
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Did that with my current build, now I gotta figure out how to fill two miss cut holes.

    In short all my other cuts lined up where I wanted em, stoped measuring twice and I failed to account for the rad bracket 10mm offset. Had to drill two more holes for the pass throughs...

    Sigh
     
  5. cyberguyz

    cyberguyz Gawd

    Messages:
    706
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    my go-to stickem-on stuff is velcro.
     
  6. VanGoghComplex

    VanGoghComplex [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,541
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Well, as further proof of my impatience, since we're now in week seven of the projected two-week turnaround time on my metal bracket, I created a two-piece model to be 3D printed.

    The metal one will sandwich between the fans a rad, but as the plastic one needed to be printed 5mm thick, it reaches to the top of the rad.

    IMG_20181222_165752050.jpg IMG_20181222_165738712.jpg IMG_20181222_161508151.jpg IMG_20181222_161456532.jpg

    I'm actually very surprised by how good it looks. I'm pretty sure the metal bracket will look good too:

    photo_2018-12-21_15-07-26.jpg
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  7. Supercharged_Z06

    Supercharged_Z06 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,362
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    ^^^ Nice! Go push/pull on the top rad as well - max that cooling power! (I like overkill when it comes to cooling!... :D)
     
    FlawleZ likes this.
  8. iwhocorrupts

    iwhocorrupts [H]Lite

    Messages:
    127
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Nice bracket! I personally would've just stuck with the command strips though (y)