HP SAS 12GB Expander

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by N Bates, Jun 26, 2019.

  1. N Bates

    N Bates Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    147
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Hi,

    Can anyone tell me whether the HP SAS 12GB Expander card is supported in Omnios and windows:

    HP AEC-83605/HP2 36 Ports 12GB SAS Expansion Board 761879-001
     
  2. N Bates

    N Bates Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    147
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Has anyone used one of these before and can comment?
     
  3. mwroobel

    mwroobel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,947
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    This expander won’t have drivers, it’s the underlying controller that you need to make sure is compatible with the O.S. and the expander.
     
    drescherjm and Spartacus09 like this.
  4. N Bates

    N Bates Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    147
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    So, as long as the controller is supported in the OS the expander should work?
     
  5. alienb

    alienb Gawd

    Messages:
    871
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    I've used a very similar product.

    Basically you need to make sure your controller supports it, otherwise you'll just end up with a useless board.

    Some combinations of hardware may end up with undesired results, IE using with SATA drives may limit you to SATA1 speeds etc.
     
  6. N Bates

    N Bates Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    147
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    I am currently using the older HP SAS Expender card and this works fine, however, when using it with SATA drives it only works at 3gb and does work at 6gb with SAS drives and this is stated in the product documentations, I was hoping that upgrading to this newer card will unable my transfer speeds to increase with the SATA drives, I am using the intel X540 T2 network card.
     
  7. pgjensen

    pgjensen Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    318
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Did you successfully use this newer card with 6GB SATA speeds?
     
  8. TeleFragger

    TeleFragger Gawd

    Messages:
    842
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    I just picked one of these bad boys up.. $160 on ebay...

    I currently have 3x 8i hba… comprised of
    1x Dell 5110-8i
    2x HP H220-8i

    I needed to free up one of the pci-e slots for my 10gb nic that I had to remove to get the drives up and running...

    so anyway..

    I removed 1 8i and put this in... connected from one 8i to port 1, then moved the connection of drives from that to port 2... moved ports from removed card to ports 3 and 4... then removed last card to put 10gb in...
    and moved those to ports 5 and 6...

    seemed to be good on boot... but when I got up and running... I was missing some drives. not all but some... I use stablebit drive pool...
    was missing 3 in 1 pool and 4 in another...

    do ports on these cards go bad? guess I should look for a fw update....

    more to come..

    this is all in a corsair 750d case with 3x icy dock 6x2.5 hot swap cages (18 drives) plus the 4 internal 2.5 and 6x3 3.5 bays (18)…
     
  9. pgjensen

    pgjensen Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    318
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006

    Any updates on your end? Just picked up two of these. Going to use with an Areca 1883i card.
     
  10. mwroobel

    mwroobel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,947
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    The HP SAS3 expander will work properly with both the Areca 1883 and 1884, I have both running successfully with SAS drives (haven't tried SATA yet though I would expect it to work).
     
  11. pgjensen

    pgjensen Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    318
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    I never could get these working with my Areca 1883 cards. I have tried everything imaginable (switching ports around, upgraded firmware to 4.22, single vs dual linking, etc). No matter what I do, the cards either freeze while loading Areca firmware under certain port configurations, or only some of the drives actually show up. Any ideas?