Fractal Design Define R6

Discussion in 'Cases & Case Modding' started by HAF72, Dec 20, 2017.

  1. Crackinjahcs

    Crackinjahcs n00bie

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Which AIO do you have? I have the Corsair H115i Pro.
    I plugged the pump tach (2 wire) into my board's AIO header. (If no AIO header than it would go to CPU fan 1.) I routed the wire below the CPU socket.
    The USB cable runs up along the VRM's and out the back through the same grommet as the 8 pin CPU connection and then down to the MB USB 2.0 connector. My only complaint so far with this board is only having 1 USB 2.0 header, but I understand that is a function of the chipset and port distribution.
    The SATA power and fan connector wiring runs up along the RAM slots and out the grommet above the fan controller.

    From my understanding the USB cable is optional and is there for Corsair's Corsair Link software. Most of the install pictures I see for these coolers have the USB cable run along the bottom edge of the water block and up the right side with the rest of the wiring. I didn't do this because I currently have my rear fan plugged into the Case fan 1 port on the motherboard. (And my OCD says it looks more balanced with wires running up both sides of the water block :nailbiting:). If I were using the fan hub, ran the AIO tach to the CPU Fan 1 port, and routed the USB cable the "normal way" then it would probably look a bit cleaner.
     
  2. Denpepe

    Denpepe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    359
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    I'm using the AC liquid freezer 240 with the four included fans which are all daisy chained to one another, my aio goes to the CPU fan header and the fans to the CPU optional header, there is no USB cable.

    It's those daisy chained cables that make a mess, not very handy with those.
     
  3. Megalith

    Megalith 24-bit/48kHz Staff Member

    Messages:
    11,687
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Still no tool-less hard drive cage?
     
  4. Denpepe

    Denpepe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    359
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    nope still a screwdriver needed. I also found the tray's to be a little annoying to put back in the case especially with a HDD in them, the SSD trays behing the mobo are a lot more user friendly.
     
  5. Phixzet

    Phixzet Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    196
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    I have the Enermax 280.

    Amazing performance from a sound perspective.
     
  6. Meeho

    Meeho 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,248
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    I'm not sure this is an upgrade compared to the R5.
     
  7. Denpepe

    Denpepe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    359
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    [​IMG]

    as you can see, definitely nned to work on cable management some more
     
  8. dragonstongue

    dragonstongue 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,704
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    IMO irrational is very likely the best way to word this, one gets far more crud from normal everyday stuff, OUR dirt (people shed constantly) various off gassing from textiles, paint and so forth. pretty sure you will get a small % of crud coming off everything such as case fans, thermal paste and so forth
    it is good to be concerned, but be mindful of where that concern need lie.

    eat well, sleep well, we have a system designed to "handle" dirt after all :)
     
  9. vick1000

    vick1000 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,714
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    That's exactly what I did, solid metal sides though. Added some extra filtering to the R6 up front (guards over the 140s and a thick open cell filter in place of the stock), and I am very pleased. The stock fans are awesome, I even bought 5 more in black, 2 for my H110i radiator, the rest for swapping out the white ones. Temps are so much better, with just a tad bit more noise over the P183 with Scythe Kaze Flex FDBs (great fans BTW).
     
  10. Denpepe

    Denpepe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    359
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    I noticed my NVMe drive is getting pretty hot (81° according to hwinfo64) would placing it below the GPU help cool it as there would be more circulation or would that just add more heat ?
     
  11. vick1000

    vick1000 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,714
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
  12. vick1000

    vick1000 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,714
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    With a new WD Red replacing an old WD Blue, and two of the new Fractal 140s replacing the old Corsair junk 140s, it's stupid quiet. Love this case....

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Phixzet

    Phixzet Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    196
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    I really didn't want to take the top cover off... For noise concerns and for dust. (my current case gets a lot of dust of course on the top of it. Easy to clean it off when you just wipe it)

    But I may have to move my AIO to the top to improve airflow... And get my 960 pro temperature down to reasonable levels.
     
  14. Denpepe

    Denpepe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    359
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
  15. Phixzet

    Phixzet Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    196
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Hey does anyone have any suggestions on how to take the top off the modu-vent?

    I got the whole assembly off the top of the case, but the manual is COMPLETELY USELESS in explaining how to separate the metal part from the moduvent filter and "register". I don't want to break it.
     
  16. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,383
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Good guide here, I believe he covers it in this video at 4:00
     
  17. Phixzet

    Phixzet Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    196
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Thank you - I knew I had seen that somewhere, but finding it was something I thought impossible... :)
     
    Krenum likes this.
  18. somebrains

    somebrains Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    240
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    I found that a 140mm in the door of my R4 helped with nvme temps.

    Granted swapping those out to 960's has made any throttling a non-issue.

    Adding a second 140 up front was ok, direct air was better.

    I ordered a scratch and ding Define C tonight bc the R4 + 280 front rad makes drive mounting a pain.

    That whole older E3 build is going, new build is basically all new (to me) except for my PSU.

    Liked the R4 when I was using the cages and room.

    Current build doesn't need much space or attention to problems.
     
  19. Ization5150

    Ization5150 n00bie

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    How is the material quality/thickness of the motherboard tray, does the case have a lot of flex?
     
  20. Phixzet

    Phixzet Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    196
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    It's substantial. Very from what I remember when I installed my MB.
     
    Ization5150 likes this.
  21. somebrains

    somebrains Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    240
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Define series cases are solid, they don't feel chintzy.
     
  22. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,383
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Yeah they're pretty tanky, I believe the R6 weighs in at 40lbs.
     
  23. Ization5150

    Ization5150 n00bie

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Nice, thanks for the reply
     
  24. Ization5150

    Ization5150 n00bie

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Since I'm purchasing the R6 sight unseen, I was a little concerned about the quality as I primarily use CM as they are well built.
     
  25. somebrains

    somebrains Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    240
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    I've used my R4 since 2013.
    It's been stuffed full of hard drives as my VMware lab.
    I ran it with ssds and an Areca card as a POC for Kubernetes in production in 2015.
    I was doing hybrid N-tier builds while getting the AWS DevOps Pro cert the past couple years working in a large environment.

    Only recently have I decided to retire it bc AIO support is lacking.

    R5's and R6's won't be limited in cooling options.

    You can get a lot done in 5 years with one.

    I downsized to a Define C bc my storage requirements wont exceed 3 ssds and a pair of hard drives. That will tier down from nvme drives, or the workload will be exported to a public cloud provider if it exceeds what I have.
     
    Ization5150 likes this.
  26. vick1000

    vick1000 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,714
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    When it's taken apart, I would be careful not to bend certain parts, you will be able to tell where one it's torn down all the way.