Formula-BOINC 2017

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by Gilthanis, Jan 10, 2017.

  1. Skillz

    Skillz [H]ard DCOTM Jan 16 March 17

    Messages:
    17,769
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    My strategy is to be #1 in all the projects. HAHA

    TN-Grid is a good one though. We'll gain 7 points over taking them and they'll lose 7 points after we do so we will close a 14 point gap.

    With SETI if I can get us to 3rd place quickly then I can subtract 14 points on that gap or 1st place subtract 24 points to the gap.

    The winner of the FB IMHO is whoever can dominate the sprints. Their are 20 sprints for a total of 500 possible points that are permanent once the sprint is over and you're in 1st in them all. Their are 42 Marathon projects that total 1050 points if you get 1st in them all. Sprints can count for 1/3 of your score.

    I'm gonna just play around on the marathons we're under 5th place until a sprint is announced then I'll switch over to them for 3 days.
     
  2. pututu

    pututu [H]ard DCOTM October 2016

    Messages:
    728
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    I like your spirit and determination. Go for it!

    Save some for next year when we are in league xxx.
     
  3. Gilthanis

    Gilthanis [H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014

    Messages:
    6,240
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    That is why I was suggesting holding off on SETI until he was looking for another GPU project. But that is up to him.
     
  4. pututu

    pututu [H]ard DCOTM October 2016

    Messages:
    728
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Fastgeek is firing up on 12 cylinders in POGs Skynet marathon. We were at no. 5 spot three days ago and now we are at 2nd and will overtake the top team in about a day.

    Comparison of the top 4 teams can be found here.

    I guess it is good to build a sizable buffer between us and the 2nd team.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Priller

    Priller Gawd

    Messages:
    526
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    I didnt know about this so I am switching over to help as well.
     
  6. applejacks

    applejacks [H]ard DCOTM May 2017

    Messages:
    522
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Ill help too is this CPU or GPU?
     
  7. Gilthanis

    Gilthanis [H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014

    Messages:
    6,240
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
  8. Gilthanis

    Gilthanis [H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014

    Messages:
    6,240
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    The next sprint should be announced in ~2 days. So, don't get too settled on POGS just yet.
     
  9. fastgeek

    fastgeek [H]ard|DCOTM - April 2015,November 2016

    Messages:
    6,122
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2000
    I've obliterated everyone in theSkynet at this point. Well, OK, we need to wait perhaps an hour or so for 1st. :p We were in 6th place prior to the weekend; so hopefully those 19 points will help. :)
     
    rgMekanic, applejacks and Skillz like this.
  10. Skillz

    Skillz [H]ard DCOTM Jan 16 March 17

    Messages:
    17,769
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Is Quake Catcher Network still active? I've been running it for a few days now and nothing. Their WU's seem to take forever to complete. No "time left" listing, but it's been running for over 2 days now and they're sitting around 3 - 4% completed. What gives?
     
  11. Gilthanis

    Gilthanis [H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014

    Messages:
    6,240
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Are you running it on your PC? If so, you should disconnect. It requires a special detector. And any PC running without that detector essentially is just running a dummy file that can display the screensaver essentially. If you were running it on an HP laptop (with the 3d HDD software), IBM/Lenovo laptop, Macbook, or an Android tablet/Phone with a version older than 5, then you could use the accelerometers in them (which the work units detect). And they don't credit the same as other projects since they validate different. So, they must run a script every week or two to grant credit. And the project is no longer funded at all and no further development will happen unless someone just takes interest. Basically it will run on autopilot until someone decides to quit wasting the power. Since it is NCI, I still run it on capable devices until it does shut down.
     
  12. Skillz

    Skillz [H]ard DCOTM Jan 16 March 17

    Messages:
    17,769
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Oh. Well that makes sense. The oldest Android phone I have is a Galaxy S5. If I were to pick up some older Android phones could I still use QCN on them and accumulate points?
     
  13. Priller

    Priller Gawd

    Messages:
    526
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    We are now first in POGs Skynet and by a good bit as well.
     
    fastgeek likes this.
  14. Gilthanis

    Gilthanis [H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014

    Messages:
    6,240
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Skillz, take a look at my hosts list at QCN.. http://quakecatcher.net/sensor/hosts_user.php?userid=19624

    Keep in mind that you can get brand new prepaid cell phones as cheap as $10 on a pretty regular basis. However most of them are now starting to utilize Android 5+. The last ones I picked up were quad cores with v.5. I wouldn't go out of my way to buy gear for that project specifically. It can go down any day without notice since nobody is really doing anything with it anymore. We will be lucky if anyone actually ever uses the data from it. And even Pre v5 sometimes doesn't work.
     
  15. pututu

    pututu [H]ard DCOTM October 2016

    Messages:
    728
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    We are just shy of 9 points to take the pole position.
     
  16. fastgeek

    fastgeek [H]ard|DCOTM - April 2015,November 2016

    Messages:
    6,122
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2000
    I've "turned my gaze" onto another project in hopes of picking up another decent pile of points. It's actually the first project I ever crunched on in BOINC. We'll see what happens. :)
     
    phoenicis likes this.
  17. phoenicis

    phoenicis [H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2011

    Messages:
    261
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Just 1 point behind the leaders now. My prediction is that we may take pole position upon the next Moo! update;)
     
  18. Skillz

    Skillz [H]ard DCOTM Jan 16 March 17

    Messages:
    17,769
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    We are now ahead by 2 points.
     
    pututu likes this.
  19. phoenicis

    phoenicis [H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2011

    Messages:
    261
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Yep, the update came quicker than I thought. Well done everyone!

    btw do the FB rules permit bunkering when the FB Sprint project is announced tonight?
     
  20. applejacks

    applejacks [H]ard DCOTM May 2017

    Messages:
    522
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Skillz likes this.
  21. fastgeek

    fastgeek [H]ard|DCOTM - April 2015,November 2016

    Messages:
    6,122
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2000
    I jumped over to Enigma and helped pull the team up from somewhere around 8th-10th up to 4th. Think I'll leave the systems there for another day or so to help secure our spot. Will switch to the Sprint, provided that project is a good one for CPUs that is. Guess we'll find out in ~15 minutes. :)
     
    Skillz likes this.
  22. Skillz

    Skillz [H]ard DCOTM Jan 16 March 17

    Messages:
    17,769
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    If it requires GPUs I've got it! ;)
     
  23. Priller

    Priller Gawd

    Messages:
    526
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Im in if its CPU and a project I like. Some projects are just meh.....
     
  24. Priller

    Priller Gawd

    Messages:
    526
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
  25. applejacks

    applejacks [H]ard DCOTM May 2017

    Messages:
    522
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    looks like its rosetta
     
  26. Priller

    Priller Gawd

    Messages:
    526
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Cant tell if CPU, GPU, or both.
     
  27. applejacks

    applejacks [H]ard DCOTM May 2017

    Messages:
    522
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    im pretty sure its cpu
     
  28. Skillz

    Skillz [H]ard DCOTM Jan 16 March 17

    Messages:
    17,769
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Seems to be CPU only.

    Seeing a setting saying use at most 16 CPUs on multiple CPU rigs. Should I change this to 64?

    Gilthanis
     
  29. mmonnin

    mmonnin Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    190
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    CPU only. Dont know why one wouldnt want to run at 100% CPUs.
     
  30. Priller

    Priller Gawd

    Messages:
    526
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Where are you seeing this?
     
  31. Skillz

    Skillz [H]ard DCOTM Jan 16 March 17

    Messages:
    17,769
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
  32. Skillz

    Skillz [H]ard DCOTM Jan 16 March 17

    Messages:
    17,769
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    I'm seeing ~12 hours per task on my systems.
     
  33. Priller

    Priller Gawd

    Messages:
    526
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    I thought that meant CPUs not cores?

    Mine is showing 6 hours 3 min.
     
  34. mmonnin

    mmonnin Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    190
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    There is an adjustment in the settings for length of task based. A number of hours. Not sure how well it works. All mine came in at 8 hours ETA.
     
  35. Skillz

    Skillz [H]ard DCOTM Jan 16 March 17

    Messages:
    17,769
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Pretty sure BOINC sees each core as a CPU. Hence why on multiple CPU systems it doesn't say "2" CPUs when listing your hosts, but adds up all the total cores in the system and counts those as total number of processors.
     
  36. Priller

    Priller Gawd

    Messages:
    526
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    With LHC if I set Max # CPUs to 4 then each task would use 4 cores.

    With Rosetta, Am I setting the project to use all cores or each task use X amount of cores?
     
  37. Skillz

    Skillz [H]ard DCOTM Jan 16 March 17

    Messages:
    17,769
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Well my 48 core box currently has 11 tasks. CPU load is showing 10.69 meaning 11 cores running ~100%. Pretty sure each task only uses one CPU.
     
  38. mmonnin

    mmonnin Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    190
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Rosetta is single threaded. 1 task per CPU thread.
     
  39. Gilthanis

    Gilthanis [H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014

    Messages:
    6,240
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    And those settings are only needed changed if you are using global settings rather than local settings which most people tend to use.
     
  40. fastgeek

    fastgeek [H]ard|DCOTM - April 2015,November 2016

    Messages:
    6,122
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2000
    Rosetta, eh? That was one of my "Did my million, I'm outta here" projects. :p So are we going to fight for the gold on this or not?
     
    pututu and Gilthanis like this.