Dumbest thing you've done?

Firebug24k

Weaksauce
I've been assembling systems since the PC/XT days. And today I just did the dumbest thing I've done in the last 20 years. I was working in a rather dark corner, and I was installing a low profile PCI express card. I had to remove the low profile bracket since the case had a full height slot. Plugged it in, turned on the computer, immediately smelled smoke - a LOT of smoke. Yanked the power cord, took a very close look: I plugged the PCI-express card into a standard PCI slot. Yep. Fried the entire motherboard. Not sure what else has died, but there's a bunch of visibly burnt traces going from the PCI slots to who knows where.

Dumb.

Irony: The RAID card that caused the problem works perfectly still.

Last edited:
I'll chip in. When I was a mom-and-pop PC technician (back in the days of AT cases and power supplies), I mis-wired the power switch to an AT power supply. I turned the PC on at the switch and immediately blew the store breaker. The power switch cable was a molten mess. Never made that mistake again :)

i tried flashing BIOS from a pirated version of windows, the key i put in was valid but the flash causer the SATA card to freeze and there went my mobo.

Messed around with the internals of a a recently unplugged PSU and accidentally touched a unshielded coil, hurt like hell and my hand was numb for ~10 minutes.

Plugged in the CPU the wrong way. Then installed the P4 heatsink on it. Dead $200 CPU right there.

Dumbest thing in recent memory was I forgot to put the standoff that goes in the upper right hand corner of the motherboard when I got my beloved Sabertooth. Was pressing the RAM into the slot and noticed the board bending an awful lot. The really embarrassing thing is that I didnt figure out what I was doing til I was pressing the 2nd stick into the slot. "What a cheap motherboard. Bends like rubber........OH SHIT!" Luckily I didnt break anything and its been working fine.