Dell U2515H

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Lava Lamp Freak, Oct 26, 2014.

  1. OutlawXGP

    OutlawXGP [H]Lite

    Messages:
    86
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Hi I have a GTX 780 and I wanted to know if its possible to connected this screen via HDMI cable and achieve 1440p 60hz, thanks for your input.
     
  2. philstat

    philstat Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    142
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Yes, it is capable of running full 256x1440 60hz via HDMI. I used a redmere HDMI 1.4 cable and it worked great.
     
  3. Agamemnon

    Agamemnon n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    I got my second one. I think I will keep this one. Colour uniformity isn't perfect, but it it WAY better than the last one. A01 from March.
    Edit: That is a unfair, the colour uniformity is as good as I'll ever get.

    I don't know how the HDMI to DVI works, but you can daisychain DP so you should be good with that and HDMI if you like.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2015
  4. xxtraloud

    xxtraloud Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    251
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Can someone who actually owns this monitor please comment on the coating compared to previous Dell models or to other similar 24" 1920x1200 monitors?
     
  5. OutlawXGP

    OutlawXGP [H]Lite

    Messages:
    86
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    I recently bought 3 of these screens from Amazon, the coating is very light so like if you look at the monitor from above you can see a almost mirror like reflection, but if you view the screen from center then the reflections are quite faint. Its not semi glossy but quite light coating. The picture quality is really great and this screen has one if the highest contrast ratios for IPS however it dose have the good old IPS glow if you view the screen from an angle. However out of the 3 I bought none of them suffer from backlight bleeding or anything like that.
     
  6. paky

    paky n00b

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Question: I use the macbook 2015 with the single USB-C port, if I connect it with a apple Digital AV Multiport adapter, will it be able to run full 2560 x 1440 at 60hz?

    Macbook (USB-C) <->(USB-C) Digital AV Multiport (HDMI)<-> HDMI to mini displayport cable <->(mini displayport) Dell U2515H

    I asked both Dell and Apple , but they cannot confirm this will work.
    many thanks!!
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2015
  7. Chaoss

    Chaoss [H]Lite

    Messages:
    94
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    I bought this monitor as a temporary replacement while my LG 4k monitor was getting RMA'd (I bagged it for £150), it's a great little monitor and can't fault it, if you are using it as a primary monitor I'd strongly suggest getting 2 as 1440p doesn't offer much desktop real estate
     
  8. tarasis

    tarasis n00b

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Just bought one today (Cyberport in Hamburg, 329 euros) to replace a dead LG L204WT. Annoyingly it appears to have a stuck or dead pixel about 6mm off the bottom edge (to the right of the bottom middle). It looks black, but looking at a photo of it, it looks red.

    You can see it clearly in the grey bar at the bottom. There is a bit of BLB in the top left which is minimised if pressed. The glows in the corners are greyer/bluer on the left side, and more orange/rust on the right. Setting the whole screen to white, the left side appears brighter than the right side, but otherwise the white looks even.

    [​IMG]

    Not sure what I'll do about the pixel, if it really is black then they won't replace it on the warranty. If it is red, then supposedly they do. I'm not entirely up for the whole lottery swap (might get one with no dead/stuck pixels, but might have worse backlight bleed)

    I may just return the monitor as I do find the text bordering on the small side. (coming from an 8yo 20" 1680x1050 L204WT)
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2015
  9. feo

    feo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    183
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    I have 2 of these, one is hooked up with an HDMI cable into the HDMI port of my graphics card and the other uses a HDMI to DVI cable into graphics cards DVI port.

    The colors seem to be a bit different between the 2. I'm using the same settings and ICC profile.

    Any way to align them color-wise?
     
  10. Prizm4

    Prizm4 n00b

    Messages:
    45
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    I'd like to know how long it took for burn-in to occur. There is a YouTube video of someone demonstrating image retention on this monitor in March 2015:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IfvOYSJTQx4

    Although the Youtuber automatically lose some credibility for disabling comments/ratings on the video.

    --

    I am glad to know there is an A01 revision of the U2515H now -- thanks to those in recent posts for mentioning this. There were a number of complaints with the first batch which put me off, and the monitor disappeared from the Dell AU website for a while, which made me suspect a revision was coming soon.
    I turned my attention to the Acer 25" H257HU, but it still doesn't seem to be available in Australia (aside from grey import). So I'm seriously considering the Dell in case I need to return it.
     
  11. Calypso

    Calypso n00b

    Messages:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Bad luck struck me! I bought this monitor and it is dead on arrival.. :( No power at all.. I can't call customer service now because it's weekend and this Monday will be Labor Day here in Canada.. Just a few questions here guys.

    1. If I request for RMA will Dell ship the replacement unit immediately upon approval?
    2. Do I have to ship back the defective unit first before they ship the new one to me?

    Mine was Manufactured May 2015 rev. A01

    Thanks.
     
  12. evilsofa

    evilsofa [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,078
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    When they replaced mine, they shipped me the replacement monitor in a non-retail box that was easy to put the original monitor into, and included a return shipping label. The direct number I was told that I should have called to get past several layers of tech support was 1-800-822-8965. The replacement monitor arrived two days after approval. I am in the US and these things may or may not be different for you in Canada.
     
  13. Darkstar87

    Darkstar87 n00b

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    My U2515h didn't come with a service tag but I did buy directly from Amazon it's a right pain to get your warranty if you don't have a service tag...


    From Dell forums...

    Monitors without a service tag number purchased from resellers (Amazon, Best Buy, Buy.com, Cost Co, Walmart, Sams, other online store, etc.)
    * Based on the monitor 20 digit PPID serial number date code, Dell will warranty the monitor for 3 years
    * You must contact Customer Service via phone (not Technical Support) for your country. Tell them to open the Dell internal only Oracle Knowledge Information center
    * In the search blank, they should enter PNP13081, then click Search. This brings up up the article =
    Dell Monitor Replacement Policy and Procedure - Dell Global Policy

    The customer is unable to provide a Dell Order Number or system Service Tag because the customer purchased the monitor from a retailer. The only information the customer has is the PPID serial number for the monitor. For monitors where there is not a Dell order number available, agents will use the date code embedded in the monitor PPID serial number to determine the date when coverage started.

    Discussion = The warranty will be 3 years starting from the embedded PPID serial date on the label.
    Solution = Set up the monitor replacement against the dummy tag.
    * You would provide the following data to the Customer Service representative if you ever need a monitor replacement within that 3 year period:
    Brick or Online Store:
    Monitor model:
    Monitor 20 digit alphanumeric PPID serial number:
    [Your]
    Email address:
    Name:
    Shipping address:
    Phone number:
    Operating system:
    Video card:
    Video card ports tested:
    Issue:
    Troubleshooting performed:
    * Monitor Factory Reset done
    * Monitor failed Self-Test and Built-in Diagnostics
    * Post further troubleshooting
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2015
  14. Ankle

    Ankle Gawd

    Messages:
    938
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    The first display was a bit under an hour. 2nd display was nearly twice the time before I started to notice it.
     
  15. Darkstar87

    Darkstar87 n00b

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Here's my Dell U2515H

    My photo taking skills are awful

    The colours don't look like that, but it highlights the glow...

    I've had this monitor since Saturday, should I return to Amazon or Dell?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2015
  16. Lyric Suite

    Lyric Suite Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    273
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    What about a GTX 660 non-TI?
     
  17. Polar_Fox

    Polar_Fox Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    226
    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Looks perfectly fine for a $300 consumer oriented/office monitor. Dell themselves claim that they don't test their office monitors in conditions that would reveal significant back light bleeding or IPS glow. So yeah, if you can't live with luminance and color temperature uniformity inconsistencies, you should just get your money back and look for actual quality products that offer grade A panels and/or uniformity compensation processing.
     
  18. igluk

    igluk Gawd

    Messages:
    716
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    UniComp helps alot with white uniformity but it also tends to reduce contrast even further.
    600-800:1 is normal on most professional monitors with uniformity compensation enabled.
    Just recently the 1000$ PG2401PT scored a punishing 575:1 it is much more expensive than the Dell and doesn't even look any better on a black screen.

    http://www.3dnews.ru/920557/page-2.html
     
  19. geok1ng

    geok1ng 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,132
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    In all the years i have trolled BLB haters [H]ere, this is the most mature comment on BLB i have seem.:) You opened my eyes to the truth:

    BLB haters are either:

    A-people who game/read on the screen, for whom BLB won't mean shit- 99% of BLB [H]aters

    B-People who think they need a screen without because they produce web content, 0,9% of BLB [H]aters

    C-people who actually need a screen without BLB because they do critical work for printing stuff IRL, 0,1%of BLB [H]aters

    "A" people are just asking for a feature that costs 3-5 times more in a product whose usage scenario does not need it.

    B people do not understand their job neither the costs involved in a BLB-free screen

    C people do not understand their jobs as well, because if they did, they would not lose time trying to use a monitor much cheaper and without the minimum feature set required for their usage scenario.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2015
  20. Darkstar87

    Darkstar87 n00b

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Power button stopped working so I got a replacement


    I'm amazed the difference on the 6500k temp compared to my old

    Many complain 6500k's greys are too reddish, but it was perfect

    This new Dell the 6500k is way too red

    I'll just have to use custom color
     
  21. Darkstar87

    Darkstar87 n00b

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
  22. nimzabo

    nimzabo n00b

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2015
  23. bcham

    bcham Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    144
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    i am a dell u2515h owner and i have noticed when gaming,and then exiting game back to desk top. my desk top colors are all washed out, but if i go to ati control panel and move any slider they come back instantly.?
     
  24. jcvjcvjcvjcv

    jcvjcvjcvjcv Gawd

    Messages:
    703
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    That's a software issue; has nothing to do with the U2515h. I've seen others report the same btw.

    Do you use any calibration software by any chance? Or did you allow Win update to install some junk of that category?

    Maybe if you want to use DDC/CI to the max you need that. Otherwise; don't bother. I found the DDC/CI tool of Dell highly stupid, so I got ridd of it quite fast. People with more patience want might to try their luck. In theory it's nice.

    Maybe with one of the more advanced calibration tools on the market?
     
  25. nimzabo

    nimzabo n00b

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    One other problem i have with the monitor is the stand.
    It is supposed to rotate around the base and to be adjustable in height.
    It does but i think two persons (four arms) are needed: one to grab the base and the other to adjust the monitor itself. It's too stiff!
    If i try to adjust in height or to rotate it, the base follows, it doesn't stick.
    I don't need to adjust it often but even so...

    p.s pls apologize my english, i'm not sure i'm using the right words.
     
  26. dream3

    dream3 n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Im not sure If I should go with 2x u2414h or 1x u2515h! Any thoughts?
     
  27. n00b2

    n00b2 n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    To all the owners of the U2515H how does it perform if you drop the resolution to 1920x1200? Does it just put in black bars everywhere or does it try to scale the picture and hence the picture quality drops?
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2015
  28. geok1ng

    geok1ng 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,132
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Why not 3x P2416d? Or 3x P2214h / P2314h / P2414h?

    Dell's "P" and "U" series have a pivoting stand, so they are ideally suited for triple portrait setups. The P2014h is only 1600x900. The price of the P2x14h is very similar between the 22,23 and 24 inches solutions so you must choose according to how you want to connect them. The p2416d is 2560x1444, but lacks Dp out MST native to the U2515h.

    If you really want to go multi monitor, and i think you should, information density and modularity ( is there such a word?) are just as relevant as ergonomics and price.

    you can get one U2515h and add more when you have the budget. But with $612 you can get 3x P2414h
     
  29. evilsofa

    evilsofa [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,078
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    On a PC with an Nvidia video card, you can go either way using the Nvidia Control Panel, in the "Adjust desktop size and position" section. I would hope AMD video cards can do the same thing but I haven't used their drivers. I don't know whether Intel integrated graphics or consoles will do it.
     
  30. n00b2

    n00b2 n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Ok that is good. Also do you know if the 2304x1440 resolution is supported by windows or NVIDEA for 1440p monitors if I wanted a larger 16:10 resolution or would I need to create a custom resolution?
     
  31. evilsofa

    evilsofa [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,078
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    That would be a custom resolution in the "Change resolution" in the Nvidia Control Panel. That's easy to do; just click "Customize...", then click "Create Custom Resolution...", then set up the resolution you want (leaving the Timing section set to Automatic unless you need to do something really unusual).

    After making your custom resolution, to make black bars instead of resizing happen, in the "Adjust Desktop Size and Position" section of the Nvidia Control Panel, you select "No scaling", set "Perform scaling on:" to GPU instead of Display.
     
  32. n00b2

    n00b2 n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    That's great then. Custom resolutions smaller than the actual resolution should work easily I would expect? Trying to turn my monitor into a 4K one didn't work though using either NVIDEA or Intel integrated graphics custom resolution settings.
     
  33. evilsofa

    evilsofa [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,078
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Manual oversampling has limits that you'll run into when doing the unusual things with timings I referred to earlier. I doubt there are any 2560x monitors that can make the leap to 3840x2160 that way. Manual oversampling is a complicated trial-and-error process that I won't bother explaining because you can just use Nvidia's DSR for a much better result and actually get to 4K.
     
  34. n00b2

    n00b2 n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    I upscaled my 1080p monitor to 2560x1440 and my 1200p monitor to 2560x1600 quite easily. Seemed to work almost at any refresh rate and timing I tried. Could get neither one to work at 4k though.
     
  35. bisbirigos

    bisbirigos n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Hello to all,

    I am not that much of a tech savvy and i would like to get help on a buying decision regarding this monitor, due to some operation instabilities of my current monitor (sometimes no display although it is powered on and digital/analog connection is recognized).

    My system is quite old (almost 6-7 years) and it has the following specs:

    Summary
    Code:
            [B][COLOR="RoyalBlue"]Operating System[/COLOR][/B]
                Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
            [B][COLOR="RoyalBlue"]CPU[/COLOR][/B]
                Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 @ 2.66GHz    51 °C
                Yorkfield 45nm Technology
            [B][COLOR="RoyalBlue"]RAM[/COLOR][/B]
                6,00GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 400MHz (5-5-5-18)
            [B][COLOR="RoyalBlue"]Motherboard[/COLOR][/B]
                ASUSTeK Computer INC. Rampage Formula (LGA775)    36 °C
            [B][COLOR="RoyalBlue"]Graphics[/COLOR][/B]
                SyncMaster (1680x1050@60Hz)
                1024MB ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series (Sapphire/PCPartner)    64 °C
            [B][COLOR="RoyalBlue"]Storage[/COLOR][/B]
                1863GB Western Digital WDC WD20EARS-00MVWB0 ATA Device (SATA)    26 °C
                1863GB Western Digital WDC WD20EARS-00MVWB0 ATA Device (SATA)    26 °C
                596GB Western Digital WDC WD6400AAKS-22A7B0 ATA Device (SATA)    31 °C
            [B][COLOR="RoyalBlue"]Optical Drives[/COLOR][/B]
                Optiarc DVD RW AD-7201S ATA Device
            [B][COLOR="RoyalBlue"]Audio[/COLOR][/B]
                SoundMAX Integrated Digital HD Audio

    Monitor + GPU
    Code:
    [B][COLOR="RoyalBlue"]Monitor[/COLOR][/B]
    	Name			Samsung SyncMaster T220 on ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
    	Current Resolution	1680x1050 pixels
    	Work Resolution		1680x1020 pixels
    	State			Enabled, Primary, Output devices support
    	Monitor Width		1680
    	Monitor Height		1050
    	Monitor BPP		32 bits per pixel
    	Monitor Frequency	60 Hz
    	Device			\\.\DISPLAY1\Monitor0
    [B][COLOR="RoyalBlue"]ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series[/COLOR][/B]
    	Manufacturer			ATI
    	Model				Radeon HD 4800 Series
    	GPU				RV770
    	Device ID			1002-9440
    	Subvendor			Sapphire/PCPartner (174B)
    	Current Performance Level	Level 0
    	Voltage				1,263 V
    	Technology			55 nm
    	Die Size			256 mm²
    	Transistors			956 M
    	Release Date			Jun 25, 2008
    	DirectX Support			10.1
    	DirectX Shader Model		4.1
    	OpenGL Support			3.0
    	GPU Clock			750,0 MHz
    	Temperature			64 °C
    	Core Voltage			1.263 V
    	Bios Core Clock			750,00
    	Bios Mem Clock			900,00
    	Driver version			8.970.100.1100
    	BIOS Version			XX-XXX
    	ROPs				16
    	Shaders				800 unified
    	Memory Type			GDDR5
    	Memory				1024 MB
    	Bus Width			32x8 (256 bit)
    	Pixel Fillrate			12,0 GPixels/s
    	Texture Fillrate		30,0 GTexels/s
    	Bandwidth			115,2 GB/s
    	Noise Level			Moderate
    	Max Power Draw			150 Watts
    		Count of performance levels : 3
    			Level 1 - "Perf Level 0"
    				GPU Clock	500 MHz
    				Memory Clock	900 MHz
    			Level 2 - "Perf Level 1"
    				GPU Clock	500 MHz
    				Memory Clock	900 MHz
    			Level 3 - "Perf Level 2"
    				GPU Clock	750 MHz
    				Memory Clock	900 MHz
    I am aware that this monitor (Dell UltraSharp U2515H), has only DisplayPort and HDMI ports, but i currently have an HDMI to DVI adapter.

    Questions:
    1. Regarding the resolution will there be any compatibility issues -i found that my current GPU has a maximum output resolution up to 2560 x 1600?
    2. Since i am going to connect this monitor on GPU through the HDMI-DVI adapter will there be any noticeable quality loss?
    3. Read somewhere something about Windows 10 scaling support (not sure). Will there be any issues if i continue to use Windows 7 while getting the U2515H?
    4. With the current system setup would it be better if i look at other options such as Dell UltraSharp U2415H or U2412M?
    5. If there aren't any other concerns i should care about, should i go for the U2515H?

    Sorry for the long post.
    Thanks in advance for your time.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2015
  36. Sgt_Strider

    Sgt_Strider Gawd

    Messages:
    945
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Anyone here got any suggestions on a good monitor mount? I'm looking to mount two Dell U2515Hs to my desk.
     
  37. Lava Lamp Freak

    Lava Lamp Freak Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    348
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    I recently built a new PC (ASUS Z97-A motherboard) and am having an issue with the U2515H's USB hub. When my keyboard and mouse are connected through the display and then the display to the PC, the PC takes a while to POST/boot. It just sits at the ASUS logo for a long time.

    If I try to go into the UEFI BIOS, it often freezes as soon as the BIOS loads. However, if I connect my keyboard and mouse directly to the PC, there is no issue and it boots very fast and has no issues entering BIOS.

    I exchanged the motherboard and the same thing happens with the new one, so it's not the PC. Also, I don't have any problems when connecting the display's USB to my Dell laptop or an older Dell PC. Any ideas? It seems that there is something weird happening specifically between the U2515H's USB controller and the ASUS motherboard. It will eventually boot, but it's annoying having to wait a couple minutes for it to POST.
     
  38. geok1ng

    geok1ng 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,132
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    I just tested how much can i reduce front and back porch on the U2515H and turns out it can reach 227.90 Mhz, which is more than enough to fir 3 inside the DP 1.2 bandwidth. i share my CRU settings with all people interested in using a triple portrait setup:

    [​IMG]