Building $500 Budget Gaming Rig Feedback Wanted

genester

Weaksauce
Hey, this is my first post but I'm ready to start contributing to the forums. I've been researching a new rig for a while now, and I'm ready to replace my old Pentium 4 DDR AGP build from 4 years ago.

1) What will you be doing with this PC? Gaming? Photoshop? Web browsing? etc

I'm a college student right now so mostly overall use, with some moderate gaming use thrown in. Trying to go futureproof on a budget.

2) What's your budget? Are tax and shipping included?

Around $500

3) Where do you live? San Diego, CA

4) What exact parts do you need for that budget? CPU, RAM, case, etc. Please be very specific.

I'm replacing everything except for 2 IDE hard drives and my 19" LCD.

5) If reusing any parts, what parts will you be reusing? Please be especially specific about the power supply. List make and model.

I'm reusing 2 old IDE hard drives and my 19" ASUS VW193T LCD. I also have a Asus V52 CPU Cooler

6) Will you be overclocking?

lightly, maybe more down the line (prolly up the ram mhz and fsb a little, but not cpu voltage tweak)

7) What size monitor do you have or plan to have? I have a 19" ASUS VW193T LCD.

8) When do you plan on building/buying the PC?

As soon as I have all the parts

9) What features do you need in a motherboard? RAID? Firewire? Crossfire or SLI support? etc.

I don't really need RAID, Firewire, or Crossfire, but it would be nice as a futureproof build.

10) Do you already have a legit and reusable/transferable OS key/license? Yes

Parts I Already Bought
Frys E8400 Mobo combo from Frys for $150
Thermaltake WingRS 201 for $30AR ($10) from Frys
Corsair 2 x 2GB XMS 5-5-5-18 for $10AR ($25) from Amazon with $15 GC

Parts I Am Very Close to Buying
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P for $117AR ($20)
PC Power & Cooling 500W for $50AR ($20)

I haven't decided on a video card yet, leaning towards HD4850 for $130 AR on newegg.