budget motherboard for 10700

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,257
I snagged a 10700 on ebay last night for $260, its the non K. I'll be using my existing 3200 ram. I'm not sure which chipset to go with.
 

E4g1e

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 21, 2002
Messages
7,252
You will need a Z490 chipset motherboard. Otherwise, your so-called "3200"-speed RAM will be capped at only 2933 MHz with that CPU.
 

D-EJ915

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
1,299
would 267 mhz make a difference though? from the benchmark I saw, at 4k it didn't matter but 1080p it mattered some, even 2400 mhz isn't that far behind 3200 mhz

https://www.pcgamer.com/does-ram-speed-matter-gaming-amd-intel/
If you're just gonna plop them in and not do any memory timing tuning then probably not to be honest. Compared to what TheHig posted this is probably the cheapest z490 board I'd get: https://www.newegg.com/msi-z490-a-pro/p/N82E16813144306?Item=N82E16813144306 It's not amazing but since you have a locked CPU it doesn't have to be.
 

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,257

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,257
been looking into the power limit unlock. doesn't seem very useful for gaming. https://www.techpowerup.com/review/intel-core-i7-10700/16.html

asrock boards have trouble with it from what I've read. this z490 board is on sale for $130, so I could overclock later on if I got a rocket lake K cpu. https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16813157923?Item=N82E16813157923

not sure what to do, lol. I want the cheapest board that wont sacrifice gaming performance. may end up with the msi mortar, cause the torpedo went OOS.
 
Last edited:

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
27,455
been looking into the power limit unlock. doesn't seem very useful for gaming. https://www.techpowerup.com/review/intel-core-i7-10700/16.html

asrock boards have trouble with it from what I've read. this z490 board is on sale for $130, so I could overclock later on if I got a rocket lake K cpu. https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16813157923?Item=N82E16813157923

not sure what to do, lol. I want the cheapest board that wont sacrifice gaming performance. may end up with the msi mortar, cause the torpedo went OOS.

It does when you're CPU limited. And if you plan on having a high clock rate after the turbo limit expires and it drops to the regular 65W.

The cheaper end ASRock Z490 board were trash. You'd be better off with that MSI B460.

At this point, you might as well wait and see what happens with 5XX board tomorrow. Maybe the 4XX board go down in price to clear them out.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Gabe3
like this

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,257
It does when you're CPU limited. And if you plan on having a high clock rate after the turbo limit expires and it drops to the regular 65W.

The cheaper end ASRock Z490 board were trash. You'd be better off with that MSI B460.

At this point, you might as well wait and see what happens with 5XX board tomorrow. Maybe the 4XX board go down in price to clear them out.
didn't know that was happening tomorrow, thanks.
 

zandor

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
3,415
been looking into the power limit unlock. doesn't seem very useful for gaming. https://www.techpowerup.com/review/intel-core-i7-10700/16.html

asrock boards have trouble with it from what I've read. this z490 board is on sale for $130, so I could overclock later on if I got a rocket lake K cpu. https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16813157923?Item=N82E16813157923

not sure what to do, lol. I want the cheapest board that wont sacrifice gaming performance. may end up with the msi mortar, cause the torpedo went OOS.
I've used both of those, one in my Linux box/file server (B460 Torpedo) and another one in a quiet build I did for my dad for Christmas (B460 Mortar WiFi). You'll need to turn the power limit back on as they both disable it by default. Where to set it depends on your cooling and what you find useful. Personally I'd just fiddle with it until you figure out how high you can set it while keeping temps to your liking.

I played with the power limit on dad's build a bit before I set it to stock (65W), boxed it up, wrapped it and shipped it. The 10700 will run 4.6 on all cores at around 170W in Prime95 small FFTs with AVX off. With AVX2 on I was able to get it up to 4.3 at 185W. That's all the little Corsair H60 120mm AIO would take. I haven't played around with the Torpedo. It has an i3-10100 with the Intel stock cooler on it.
 

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,257
I've used both of those, one in my Linux box/file server (B460 Torpedo) and another one in a quiet build I did for my dad for Christmas (B460 Mortar WiFi). You'll need to turn the power limit back on as they both disable it by default. Where to set it depends on your cooling and what you find useful. Personally I'd just fiddle with it until you figure out how high you can set it while keeping temps to your liking.

I played with the power limit on dad's build a bit before I set it to stock (65W), boxed it up, wrapped it and shipped it. The 10700 will run 4.6 on all cores at around 170W in Prime95 small FFTs with AVX off. With AVX2 on I was able to get it up to 4.3 at 185W. That's all the little Corsair H60 120mm AIO would take. I haven't played around with the Torpedo. It has an i3-10100 with the Intel stock cooler on it.
thanks. I'm using Cryorig H7. I don't know if it good enough
 

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,257
I've used both of those, one in my Linux box/file server (B460 Torpedo) and another one in a quiet build I did for my dad for Christmas (B460 Mortar WiFi). You'll need to turn the power limit back on as they both disable it by default. Where to set it depends on your cooling and what you find useful. Personally I'd just fiddle with it until you figure out how high you can set it while keeping temps to your liking.

I played with the power limit on dad's build a bit before I set it to stock (65W), boxed it up, wrapped it and shipped it. The 10700 will run 4.6 on all cores at around 170W in Prime95 small FFTs with AVX off. With AVX2 on I was able to get it up to 4.3 at 185W. That's all the little Corsair H60 120mm AIO would take. I haven't played around with the Torpedo. It has an i3-10100 with the Intel stock cooler on it.
do you know what the torpedo goes to? its not listed on this chart because it was released after those I think: https://www.msi.com/blog/intel-b460-h410-power-limit-overclocking

I'm wondering if it s 180/135/180, or if its like the mortar's 210/255/255

EDIT: I'm in a support chat with msi, this is what they said
I asked one of my colleagues just now and he says it's the same underlying board design as the Bazooka.


So it looks like my initial belief was correct, it's a 180A/135W/180W

they are going to request info from engineering to know for sure. they said it could take a week till I hear back from them. but yeah, I'm still curious what yours is.
 
Last edited:

zandor

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
3,415
I'm pretty sure it's 210/255/255. I don't recall the exact numbers from last fall but the BIOS on the Mortar and Torpedo both default to something like that. What I do remember is they both had the same defaults.
 

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,257
I'm pretty sure it's 210/255/255. I don't recall the exact numbers from last fall but the BIOS on the Mortar and Torpedo both default to something like that. What I do remember is they both had the same defaults.
oh, hmm. are you able to check?
 

zandor

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
3,415
Oops. Didn't refresh before posting & missed your edit about asking MSI.

I can't really test the Torpedo anymore. I boxed up and shipped the Mortar and i7-10700 out at the end of November. My B460 Torpedo is running an i3-10100 and a stock Intel cooler. I poked around in the BIOS and I can set it for 210/255/255, but that doesn't mean it'll do it.

I think it's probably 210/255/255 though. The Torpedo's page on MSI's site says it has a 12+1+1 "Duet Rail Power System," just like that article you linked on power limit overclocking talks about with the Mortar and Tomahawk. They even recycled the picture. Look at the pics of the Bazooka, Torpedo, Tomahawk and Mortar. The Torpedo's heatsinks look like the Bazooka, but the power circuitry around the CPU looks like the Tomahawk. In particular, the Torpedo has 13 chokes like the Mortar and Tomahawk. The Bazooka only has 6.
 

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,257
Oops. Didn't refresh before posting & missed your edit about asking MSI.

I can't really test the Torpedo anymore. I boxed up and shipped the Mortar and i7-10700 out at the end of November. My B460 Torpedo is running an i3-10100 and a stock Intel cooler. I poked around in the BIOS and I can set it for 210/255/255, but that doesn't mean it'll do it.

I think it's probably 210/255/255 though. The Torpedo's page on MSI's site says it has a 12+1+1 "Duet Rail Power System," just like that article you linked on power limit overclocking talks about with the Mortar and Tomahawk. They even recycled the picture. Look at the pics of the Bazooka, Torpedo, Tomahawk and Mortar. The Torpedo's heatsinks look like the Bazooka, but the power circuitry around the CPU looks like the Tomahawk. In particular, the Torpedo has 13 chokes like the Mortar and Tomahawk. The Bazooka only has 6.
thanks for checking. yeah its probably 210/255/255. I'm thinking I should buy the mortar though, its $15 more, but I know what I'm getting. maybe I'll hear back from msi by the time I order tomorrow.
 

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,257
Did you hear anything back from MSI? Which board did you go with?
Have not heard from msi yet but I ordered the torpedo from amazon, they got 2 in stock. if I hear back from msi before I open the box and they say its 180 watt max I can return it easily. newegg charges like 30% restocking fee or something
 
Top