Borderlands 3

Bigbacon

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
17,293
man the references to stuff in this game so far is hillarious...

they got Downton Abbey in there... Brilliant!
 

Bigbacon

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
17,293
Right click the volume icon in the task bar, click open sound settings, on the right click sound control panel, find your playback device and go to properties, go to spatial sound tab, enable windows sonic for headphones, go back into the game and enable it (can do this with the game open)
of is that a headphone only thing? I'm on speakers
 

pek

prairie dog
Joined
Nov 7, 2005
Messages
1,264
I set to DX12, lonnnnng load time every time (getting sick of seeing Claptrap dance), but no real performance hits with my 1080ti.

But, anybody else get the free pre-order guns/grenades and have them all zeros? completely useless.

Edit: I see some others have the same issues with the pre-order bonus.
 
Last edited:

pandora's box

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
4,639
of is that a headphone only thing? I'm on speakers
I guess...Not sure whats causing your issue if that didnt resolve it.

Having an absolute blast playing as Zane. Game looks amazing in Ultrawide, since turning down volumetric fog - I've been pretty much locked 75fps+. Downloaded the Dolby Access app which enables Dolby Atmos for Headphones in Windows 10 - game sounds a lot better now after enabling that. The gunplay is absolutely amazing, found some pretty amazing and fun to use guns and I'm only level 10.

MW4KMuM.png


Took the day off work to play the game :).
 
Last edited:

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
18,693
I set to DX12, lonnnnng load time every time (getting sick of seeing Claptrap dance), but no real performance hits with my 1080ti.
I'm there with you. Bail on DX12 until we see and hear some different things. Not worth it.



The only issue I'm seeing so far goes like this:

If I fire the game up and all my settings are there (4k, etc.) and I go into the benchmark I get impossibly good performance that's impossible for those settings and a single 1080ti. So I go back to resolution and set it to something different, apply it, then set it back to 4k, apply it, hit the benchmark and see something a lot more realistic.

In other words it's almost like the settings (at least resolution) aren't fully keeping?
 
Last edited:

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
18,693
Not sure why, but things are acting wonky in fullscreen mode for me. It keeps trying to revert to 1080p and disable HDR. Swapping over to borderless fixes it.
On the audio front, the game uses Atmos and does a nice job with the positional stuff.
As a game, it's more of the same thus far...which is fine by me.

I'll try this borderless setting if this "resolution doesn't seem to hold even though it says it" issue continues for me.
 
Last edited:

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
18,336
I'll try this borderless setting if this "resolution doesn't seem to hold even though it says it" issue continues for me.
We might be having the same issue. The in-game menu will tell me my res is 4K, but everything looks pixelated and/or blurry. When I check my TV's details pane, sure enough it's only at 1080p. Sometimes HDR is on, other times it isn't. Toggling back and forth can partially fix it, but it kills off HDR completely.
So far borderless seems to fix that. Probably because in borderless mode it's locked to 4K.
 

Superjoe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
1,113
I'm loving it, runs and plays great. But the "Spatial Sound" nonsense is f'ing pissing me off, lol.

This only plays in 2.0 for me, because I don't have Spatial Sound enabled in Windows. Because the only options are for headphones. So WTF, no surround sound without headphones?

Other than that I'm happy as a clam.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
18,336
The fact that it's using Atmos probably has a lot to do with the sound issues. I remember lots of people having sound problems with SotTR when they added Atmos. Eventually they pulled it and didn't bring it back for several months.
On the positive side, the audio sounds really good if you have the config they want :p
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
22,819
The fact that it's using Atmos probably has a lot to do with the sound issues. I remember lots of people having sound problems with SotTR when they added Atmos. Eventually they pulled it and didn't bring it back for several months.
On the positive side, the audio sounds really good if you have the config they want :p
It's just a scheme to get you to pay $15 for the Atmos app. Want proper sound? That DLC is additional.
 

Superjoe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
1,113
The kicker is I have an Atmos sound bar on my TV, but I guess since I'm going HDMI to the TV, then HDMI-ARC to the soundbar it's not detecting it. It's some real stupid shit but I blame Windows more than I blame Gearbox. Why the F are spatial sounds ONLY for headphones??? I don't expect anyone to answer that, just bitching, ha ha.

Kinda can't believe a game developer would ONLY provide surround sound for such a small use case.
 

pek

prairie dog
Joined
Nov 7, 2005
Messages
1,264
I've not had any issues other than the DX12 thing, I'll go back to DX11 and see how it looks. Really fast re-spawn timers, though. I can use the gun machine just outside the new HQ, sell things, go out, kill a bunch of Scrags, sell loot, by the time I do that, they re-spawn, kill (with the vehicle), loot, sell, lather, rinse, repeat. I can level up right outside the HQ without going anywhere else. And the napsack is only 16 items, with the pre-order stuff taking up space and nowhere to stash it until they fix it, I may just sell them and recover the inventory space. As it is, I have to keep running back to sell my loot and don't get around to actually doing anything to advance the story. At least I can use the old trick of swapping the loot with what I am using so I can get the challenge points for white/blue/green things.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
18,336
It's just a scheme to get you to pay $15 for the Atmos app. Want proper sound? That DLC is additional.
Luckily the home theater version of Atmos is free.
Not including needing an AV receiver that can decode it and a compatible video card HDMI-out hooked up to your PC of course...
 

Captindecisive

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 13, 2017
Messages
262
I was getting more and more skeptical the closer it got to launch time; it seemed like they were trying so hard to hype it up, that maybe they knew something was off. After playing for around 6 hours last night, my fears were at ease, I enjoyed every minute, from the small to bigger QoL improvements to the dialogue to the fighting, it all was enjoyable.

I can't speak for other AMD cards, but the 19.9.2 drivers gave me ~12-14% increase in FPS even though they only list the 5700 models for the driver. With my Radeon VII at 2025/1200 on a Ryzen 3600X, in-game settings at 2560x1440 with Badass preset with motion blur settings to off and using DX12; 19.9.1 drivers were FPS avg of 74.5 and 13.44ms frame time - with 19.9.2 drivers that went to 84.5 and 11.97ms frame time averages.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
22,819
I was getting more and more skeptical the closer it got to launch time; it seemed like they were trying so hard to hype it up, that maybe they knew something was off. After playing for around 6 hours last night, my fears were at ease, I enjoyed every minute, from the small to bigger QoL improvements to the dialogue to the fighting, it all was enjoyable.

I can't speak for other AMD cards, but the 19.9.2 drivers gave me ~12-14% increase in FPS even though they only list the 5700 models for the driver. With my Radeon VII at 2025/1200 on a Ryzen 3600X, in-game settings at 2560x1440 with Badass preset with motion blur settings to off and using DX12; 19.9.1 drivers were FPS avg of 74.5 and 13.44ms frame time - with 19.9.2 drivers that went to 84.5 and 11.97ms frame time averages.
Seems like the menus are as bad as ever, though.
 

Captindecisive

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 13, 2017
Messages
262
I actually prefer the menus to previous entries in the series. They may not be perfect, but they're much more clear in navigation now. Plus the fact I can click a weapon in my inventory and click the one I want to put in its place and it works on the first click instead of a clicksterfuck like BL2 with swapping weapons.
 

Aireoth

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 12, 2005
Messages
4,105
I actually prefer the menus to previous entries in the series. They may not be perfect, but they're much more clear in navigation now. Plus the fact I can click a weapon in my inventory and click the one I want to put in its place and it works on the first click instead of a clicksterfuck like BL2 with swapping weapons.
I miss things from BL1, the weapons where more fun, the menus easier to read, the characters where better, and the gore (really helps with the feeling of impact when you snipe off the head of a psycho).

Was any of that brought back for BL3 (Characters, guns, gore)?
 

pandora's box

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
4,639
I miss things from BL1, the weapons where more fun, the menus easier to read, the characters where better, and the gore (really helps with the feeling of impact when you snipe off the head of a psycho).

Was any of that brought back for BL3 (Characters, guns, gore)?
Guns with multiple firing modes. Thats all I will say about the guns - yes they are definitely better.
Characters - I'm only level 12 but so far I'm really liking Zane
Gore - The game does not use PhysX so there is less gore imo but its still pretty damned good.
 

Captindecisive

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 13, 2017
Messages
262
Gore definitely brought back, brains flying out of heads that you punch or shoot, etc. The guns, at least in my 6 hours, are so fun, there are already so many cool things I didn't see in BL2 (I haven't actually played BL1). Characters, hard to say at this point for me.

Edit: It is definitely more gory (heads popping off, bodies exploding into red mist, brains flying out) and so far, feels more gritty than BL2 in many ways. It's a welcome change. The dialogue for killed bandits/others is also really good and has a much larger variety than BL2.

My only real issue so far, are things like bleeping out a "bad" word on weapon descriptions. You're literally murdering thousands of people/animals/etc, how is a bad word worth censorship when watching a head or body explode is not? It's amusing/annoying.
 

Aireoth

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 12, 2005
Messages
4,105
Guns with multiple firing modes. Thats all I will say about the guns - yes they are definitely better.
Characters - I'm only level 12 but so far I'm really liking Zane
Gore - The game does not use PhysX so there is less gore imo but its still pretty damned good.
There was nothing for Gore in 2, which just made it feel like playing an arcade game shooting spit balls.

Gore definitely brought back, brains flying out of heads that you punch or shoot, etc. The guns, at least in my 6 hours, are so fun, there are already so many cool things I didn't see in BL2 (I haven't actually played BL1). Characters, hard to say at this point for me.
1 is better than 2 in every area except for narrative and scenery, Handsome Jack and Tina where kinda the only thing 2 had over 1 imo.
 

Captindecisive

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 13, 2017
Messages
262
There was nothing for Gore in 2, which just made it feel like playing an arcade game shooting spit balls.



1 is better than 2 in every area except for narrative and scenery, Handsome Jack and Tina where kinda the only thing 2 had over 1 imo.
I'm really going to have to play through BL1 after I get some time in BL3. I was meaning to get that play time finished before BL3 dropped, but just never made the time.
 

Derangel

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
19,261
Apparently the game requires a constant 2Mb/s upload just for DRM. That's quite a bit for DRM I wonder what kind of info they're sending.
 

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
18,693
I am using spatial sound with the headphones since that's my primary setup and I'm impressed with it. I'll be A/B ing the sound back and forth to decide exactly what spatial sound is doing and which way I ultimately prefer but there's no "negative" here for me.
 

w35t

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
1,170
Just played to level 9, super fun so far!

I set my group to public, started a new game, and had a full 4 most of the time. No one really communicated though.
 

Comixbooks

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
15,493
Yeah I'm afraid to do a public group due to exploits I made that mistake last time around.
Going to stay away from Golden Keys as well unless I get that one from linking my account
they are level based anyway. I got some awesome gun out of a vending machine for 2,500 cash it's pretty wicked looking think I'll upload a pic here.
 

mr_zen256

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 29, 2005
Messages
2,386
The people having issues with spatial sounds, what hardware setups are you using? Spatial sound is working out of the box here on Soundblaster AE-5 analog out (5.1 surround).

Gore definitely brought back, brains flying out of heads that you punch or shoot, etc. The guns, at least in my 6 hours, are so fun, there are already so many cool things I didn't see in BL2 (I haven't actually played BL1). Characters, hard to say at this point for me.

Edit: It is definitely more gory (heads popping off, bodies exploding into red mist, brains flying out) and so far, feels more gritty than BL2 in many ways. It's a welcome change. The dialogue for killed bandits/others is also really good and has a much larger variety than BL2.

My only real issue so far, are things like bleeping out a "bad" word on weapon descriptions. You're literally murdering thousands of people/animals/etc, how is a bad word worth censorship when watching a head or body explode is not? It's amusing/annoying.
The gore is a welcome return. BL2 was so heavily neutered compared to BL1, it was insane. In the case of censoring expletives in weapon descriptions, I see it as a humorous irony rather than overt censorship.

EDIT: Just noticed that "Spatial sound" is disabled in my settings, however I am getting positional surround sound regardless of this. Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't spatial sound simply positional audio?

EDIT: NVM, just saw that "Spatial sound" is a new Windows feature (aka gimmick)..
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: w35t
like this

Captindecisive

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 13, 2017
Messages
262
The people having issues with spatial sounds, what hardware setups are you using? Spatial sound is working out of the box here on Soundblaster AE-5 analog out (5.1 surround).



The gore is a welcome return. BL2 was so heavily neutered compared to BL1, it was insane. In the case of censoring expletives in weapon descriptions, I see it as a humorous irony rather than overt censorship.
Could be right, in the humorous irony context, it's quite funny.
 

pandora's box

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
4,639
Not joining any public games due to people potentially using exploits and people rushing through the game. I want to enjoy the game. The side missions are just as good as the main story. That coffee mission was fucking hilarious. Currently lvl 15 as Zane, and he feels really OP, loving the combo of the clone and the sentinal.
 

w35t

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
1,170
Not joining any public games due to people potentially using exploits and people rushing through the game. I want to enjoy the game. The side missions are just as good as the main story. That coffee mission was fucking hilarious. Currently lvl 15 as Zane, and he feels really OP, loving the combo of the clone and the sentinal.
Yeah I’m gonna turn off public, people were running through it all really fast, I was always behind and missing stuff.
 
Top