Best Buy Firing Workers That Don't Harass You?

HardOCP News

[H] News
I'm not too sure about this one. Firing people that don't push credit cards on customers? That sounds too draconian even for Best Buy.

If we go three shifts without a credit card application, we will be written up by management. If we go twelve straight shifts with no applications, we are automatically terminated, no questions asked! Plus, we are now required to check in with the manager on duty both at the beginning and end of our shifts to discuss our daily sales and financing goals, or risk being fired!

Sounds like it's true. I know that they are forced to ask if you want the CC, protection plan, etc.. It's a huge thing. They'd rather do that than talk to them about the actual product.

I worked in retail long enough to know it is probably true, though I'd say it is a particular store doing it vs actual company policy.

Some people are naturally better at selling "plans", and by naturally I mean blonde, blue eyed, big boobed, and clueless selling to an old man pressing on his zipper. Unfortunately, that is TOO true. I see so many worthless bimbos at these big box stores, and that is why -- bar none. They can't actually help you in a tangible way, but they sell those incentives to guys. Maybe it works in reverse SOME, but not nearly as much.

I checked with a friend of mine who works there while going back to school and that is not the policy here, but he said that it would not surprise him if it was in some areas because they are under a lot of pressure to push the cards.

the way business is going down i wouldn't doubt this a bit, i mean you can get cheaper with shipping and tax if applicable on majority of items online than in store, plus they charge for delivery in local area as well, $35 is regular delivery charge and $75 for bigger item or TV itself. and edge to edge city limit is about 9 mile.