BENT PINS! LGA 1156 how do i fix? sigh bought this from one of the members here

Discussion in 'Intel MoBos' started by vvilliamm, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. vvilliamm

    vvilliamm Gawd

    Messages:
    594
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Alright.. the mobo wasn't shipped with a socket protector on but i guess he losted it. he was very nice though anyways Now i face a problem i recently bought the lga 1156 msi p55 gd80.
    below are all the pics.. how do i bend it back without breaking them?


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2010
  2. lucky777

    lucky777 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,078
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    1hammer1lubejar.
     
  3. bluejrag0n38

    bluejrag0n38 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    255
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Find a lead pencil that uses lead that's about the same size as the pins and put the pins in the tip of the pencil, where the lead comes out and straighten the pins slowly.
     
  4. Gimpy04

    Gimpy04 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    136
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    razor blade is what I'd try
     
  5. siliconnerd

    siliconnerd [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,782
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    X-acto knife if you have one. Also a magnifying glass would be really good to have. If you can't bind the pins back, I would ask for the money back on the motherboard since it wasn't your fault the pins came bent.
     
  6. Rabid Badger

    Rabid Badger 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,104
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Get yourself one of these in 0.5mm.
     
  7. vvilliamm

    vvilliamm Gawd

    Messages:
    594
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    hmm well i used a mini screw driver and over the past 30 minutes bending it back slowly. if my i7 860 boots does that mean its ok? or does it mean that its just not using those parts of the cpu?
     
  8. lucky777

    lucky777 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,078
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    If it boots it's fine.
     
  9. vvilliamm

    vvilliamm Gawd

    Messages:
    594
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    alright bless me and bring me good lucK lol. Going to put in my i7 860 tm.. could i boot the i7 860 without a heatsink just to try it out or is that not recommended.. woudl be so much work to install my corsair h50 on top of it then realize its not working.. maybe i should hold it down =]
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2010
  10. lucky777

    lucky777 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,078
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    I recommend a hammer.
     
  11. jiminator

    jiminator Capt Obvious

    Messages:
    10,707
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    lol, I rebuilt a system a couple of months ago and noticed the heatsink needed to be turned 90 degrees. so i carefully pulled it up, only the paste pulled the cpu (amd x2) out of the socket. was fun straightening pins for the next hour. I used a credit card. I suspect you will need a lot more luck for this one.
     
  12. vvilliamm

    vvilliamm Gawd

    Messages:
    594
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    lol going to a jewelery store tm.. and see if they will help me push it back and probably tip them
     
  13. vvilliamm

    vvilliamm Gawd

    Messages:
    594
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    so boots tm = fine =]
     
  14. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    23,622
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Well, I definitely wouldn't try booting without a heatsink. If it boots, run some tests, memtest, some stability test in Windows or whatever and see if you get any errors.
     
  15. jiminator

    jiminator Capt Obvious

    Messages:
    10,707
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    lol yes, no heatsink, the cpu may fry before the thermal protection kicks in.
     
  16. phiquach

    phiquach Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    497
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    damn, i saw this thread and thought it was one of my boards i sold. scared the s**t out of me. lol. good thing it wasn't me :p
     
  17. RickyJ

    RickyJ Gawd

    Messages:
    989
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    I use a very fine electronics tweezer to straighten them. Use the reflection from a light source to help line them up, and be super careful with the tweezers. Always works for me!
     
  18. vvilliamm

    vvilliamm Gawd

    Messages:
    594
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    ok.. after 3-4 dreaded hrs of pain and suffering even went out to buy a magnifying glass. after 12 times of trying to boot heres what i got lol.. seriously which one is it?
    [​IMG]
     
  19. staticlag

    staticlag [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,679
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    +1 on the mechanical pencil, used to do this all day when I was back in HS working at a local PC shop.
     
  20. Met-AL

    Met-AL [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,897
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    How many CPUs does your task manager show? If it's 8 its an I7 right?
     
  21. OmegaAvenger

    OmegaAvenger 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,358
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    i'm willing to bet thats a software glitch saying its an i5 in cpuid.
     
  22. Zero82z

    Zero82z [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    28,011
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    CPU-Z is correct.
     
  23. osrk

    osrk [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,854
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    glitch
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2010
  24. Zero82z

    Zero82z [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    28,011
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Ever heard of the i5 750?
     
  25. TeeJay

    TeeJay Gawd

    Messages:
    559
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Cores.
     
  26. Met-AL

    Met-AL [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,897
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Task manager shows CPU's, it makes no differentiation between cores and cpus, when in fact a core is a cpu.