Battlefield V Beta is Open

AlphaAtlas

[H]ard|Gawd
Staff member
Joined
Mar 3, 2018
Messages
1,713
The Battlefield V Beta opens today. While the battle royale mode advertised in the latest trailer isn't available yet, players can jump into the classic Conquest mode or try the new multi-round "Grand Operations" mode, where each round is based on specific day in WWII and previous rounds have an impact on future ones. There's also a five part "Tides of War" event players can participate in. Some sites found that the game runs better in DX11 than it does in DX12 mode, and others say there are matchmaking issues, so be cautious when you jump into the beta.
 

F.E.A.R.

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
1,455
I'm ready to try it out for myself this morning. From watching the videos it seems a bit underwhelming. We shall see.
 

schlitzbull

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
480
Level design is better than I remember. I haven't played a battlefield game since 4 though. I'm not mad at it.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Messages
645
I've been playing the last few day. Its a lot more fun than I though.
That Time To Kill is fantastic!
 

Schtask

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
436
I lost 15 fps using DX12 in BF1, so the DX12 news on BF V doesn't surprise me.
 

djoye

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2004
Messages
2,954
Does anything run better in DX12 than DX11? I played QUBE 2 in DX12, it ran great but it's not exactly a particularly demanding game.
 

Ragenrok

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 15, 2007
Messages
4,389
Cool downloading now, I loved BF1 regardless of what everyone else on this forum seemed to think so im excited to try this one out. Open beta will give me a good chance to pick between the PC and PS4 version
 

Dahkoht

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
450
Curious are tanks modeled at all in reality ? As in heavily armored portions are actually armored and not going to be penetrated at all except by heavy ap rounds and tracks , turret etc are separate parts that get affected differently ?

Or are they one big hp pool period and doesn’t matter where you shoot them ?
 

DKS

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 14, 2006
Messages
478
You will get your ass whupped right off the bat. Beta is better than the alpha.
 

EdKiefer

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 4, 2012
Messages
226
The demo runs good, smooth like BF1, I get about the same performance as BF1.

I really like the changes, I didn't like older BF1, BF4 were you need to empty a whole magazine to kill someone.
The pace is slower than older versions, which is good IMO.

There were issues the first day with matchmaking but "seem" to be fixed.
I also saw a loss of spawn points on the first day after while of playing, that seems fixed too.

The game visually is very good IMO, even w/o RTX stuff.

Hopefully, they have time to polish it up a bit before release.
 
Last edited:

Spidey329

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 15, 2003
Messages
8,683
Preloaded last night. Today, COX is celebrating this by having a very large outage in my area. Been down since 8:55am PST (right as I was going to give this a whirl) and their status page (latest update) is estimating a return to service of midnight.

Perfect timing on their part. I'm really hoping someone fatfingered the status notice update and they meant PM, not AM.
 

IcePickFreak

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
1,624
I knew better, but I wasted time DL'ing this to try it out since I haven't touched BF in ages. Already uninstalled. (n)
 

drutman

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
275
DX 12 not worth a crap,a stuttering mess, plays at 60 fps @ 4K on a mix of ultra and high settings.(DX 11) with my 390X.

Enjoy it but it could easily be a expansion pack/dlc for $20, not worth 60 feels like a re skin of BF1.
 

Accursed

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
463
Gonna play tonight, was initially Meh about it.

Now that I've played Black-Ops 4 and I think its a step back from WW2, I don't think I'll buy it. Not planning on playing Forsaken for D2, and Anthem has been pushed back to next year. Could care less about RDR2.

So now I'm sitting here praying it's good and fun or else this year is gonna be kinda slow.
 

Sparky

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
3,329
There is a bug if you die while getting resurrected you will not be able to spawn in. You have to leave the server or wait till it ends.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2006
Messages
979
DX 12 not worth a crap,a stuttering mess, plays at 60 fps @ 4K on a mix of ultra and high settings.(DX 11) with my 390X.


your kidding, right? im getting about 30-40fps (at best) on high at 4k with my 1080. the only way im getting a solid 60fps on high is on 1080p. because 1440p refuses to run.... it gives black bars all around it in full screen mode. or in windowless border i get about 20fps.
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
11,696
Played shortly. Feels more casual like BF1. A good bit of stuttering.

The one mode that wasn't Conquest was trash. You only get two mags worth of ammo, pretty much no vehicles (or none). Don't know if there are more than two modes.

Shooting is loose, spreads a lot, and not very precise. Similar to BF1.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
26,589
your kidding, right? im getting about 30-40fps (at best) on high at 4k with my 1080. the only way im getting a solid 60fps on high is on 1080p. because 1440p refuses to run.... it gives black bars all around it in full screen mode. or in windowless border i get about 20fps.
He forgot to mention that's with 50% scaling ;).
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
2,379
Really only interested in the BR mode, sad to see it's not included. I will play this some anyway to see what I think of the engine/performance. I did the same in BF1 and it was a terrific looking game, but the gameplay sadly did not reflect the era at all and was the same as it usually is.
 

EdKiefer

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 4, 2012
Messages
226
No way you can run 4k@60 on 390 but getting back to reality, there is one big issue and this is not only a BFx problem but all the new tech that will come out will be part of DX12.
This game and seems many others show how much work needs to be done to get smoother gameplay than what DX11.
So this will hinder a lot of new stuff and this isn't a Nvidia or AMD thing, it affects both.
 

Spidey329

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 15, 2003
Messages
8,683
No way you can run 4k@60 on 390 but getting back to reality, there is one big issue and this is not only a BFx problem but all the new tech that will come out will be part of DX12.
This game and seems many others show how much work needs to be done to get smoother gameplay than what DX11.
So this will hinder a lot of new stuff and this isn't a Nvidia or AMD thing, it affects both.

If I recall correctly, DICE used to be teamed with AMD (since 2013?) and leaned into DX12/Vulkan/etc. as far as tech went, so you'd expect better DX12 performance in those titles and access to AMD stuff (FreeSync, etc.).

At some point in the past few years they've switched to being an Nvidia GameWorks studio. Seems they're too busy implenting new proprietary Nvidia tech than getting proper DX12 working. I believe BF:V is the first GameWorks title for DICE in a very long time.
 

Upgrayedd

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 17, 2018
Messages
136
I get about 80-100fps @1080p w/ GTX 970. Turn postprocessing down, its too much of a hog. Everything else is on high though, not ultra.
 

EdKiefer

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 4, 2012
Messages
226
If I recall correctly, DICE used to be teamed with AMD (since 2013?) and leaned into DX12/Vulkan/etc. as far as tech went, so you'd expect better DX12 performance in those titles and access to AMD stuff (FreeSync, etc.).

At some point in the past few years they've switched to being an Nvidia GameWorks studio. Seems they're too busy implenting new proprietary Nvidia tech than getting proper DX12 working. I believe BF:V is the first GameWorks title for DICE in a very long time.
I don't know on switching but DX12 is bad for either AMD or Nvidia, yeh AMD Dx11 is bad so it might improve a bit for them but all tests I have seen say frame times are bad even on AMD HW.

So my point was if big AAA Dev team like Dice have trouble putting in the time to make it good, that says a lot for overall work needed to be put into DX12.
Maybe with more DX12 feature, it will get more love but IMO I don't expect it to improve much in BFV but maybe I am wrong.
 

EdKiefer

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 4, 2012
Messages
226
I get about 80-100fps @1080p w/ GTX 970. Turn postprocessing down, its too much of a hog. Everything else is on high though, not ultra.
What CPU are you running?
What I do is set a cap to like 65-70 depending on the game. I think I have BF1 on 70 and BFV on 65, I do this to keep it smooth as CPU% has a lot to smooth play.
Setting wise I run a mix of med and high.

If I was to remove cap my 3570k would sometimes go to 95-100% and then the gameplay is laggy, with cap my fps are a flat line in MSI AB.
 

JRUHg

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
386
Cool downloading now, I loved BF1 regardless of what everyone else on this forum seemed to think so im excited to try this one out. Open beta will give me a good chance to pick between the PC and PS4 version
PC is dead after launch.
 

JavaLava

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
145
Played a few hours tonight...really enjoying the beta. The game play is smooth, weapons more predictable compared to BF1, liking the fact you start with more limited resources, and also liking the changes to the spotting system (pressing Q). Unfortunately, im still pessimistic about the future of this game and if the community is going to die within the first 3 to 6 months. Even the chats in the beta...everyone is using there history degree and still bitching about the inaccuracies of the game. Its just a game...could care less about the stupid comments of DICE defending the "history accuracy" of the game they created. If its fun...its fun...and im enjoying the beta.
 

Accursed

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
463
Hmm odd, doesn't even launch for me, game looks like it's about to start then takes me right back to the origin games menu. Guess I'll be googling more before I start playing.
 

readeh

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
314
I've been having a lot of fun playing it. Every class seems well balanced as well.
The M30 Drilling is amazing except for a weird bug that makes the gun float and makes it impossible to use while iron sighting.. I think Dice made a smart move with delaying it to fix the many bugs.
 

Upgrayedd

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 17, 2018
Messages
136
What CPU are you running?
What I do is set a cap to like 65-70 depending on the game. I think I have BF1 on 70 and BFV on 65, I do this to keep it smooth as CPU% has a lot to smooth play.
Setting wise I run a mix of med and high.

If I was to remove cap my 3570k would sometimes go to 95-100% and then the gameplay is laggy, with cap my fps are a flat line in MSI AB.
4790K and a G-Sync screen so I don't ever cap it unless its going over 144Hz then I cap to 141fps in game if I can or if I can't I use NVInspector. I played earlier and was mostly 90-105fps.
 

EdKiefer

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 4, 2012
Messages
226
Last edited:

Riccochet

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
25,426
Hmm odd, doesn't even launch for me, game looks like it's about to start then takes me right back to the origin games menu. Guess I'll be googling more before I start playing.

I was only able to play for about 5 minutes then it bombs back to desktop. No error, no message, just boom, desktop. I wasn't finding anything that would indicate a resource issue. 1080Ti and 32GB of system RAM, everything looked good.

Then I found this:

https://answers.ea.com/t5/Technical-Issues/BFV-Beta-Keeps-Crashing/td-p/7019534

It may help you. I haven't had a crash since.
 

Dayaks

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 22, 2012
Messages
8,327
What stops me is BF1 is dead because of rampant hacking. I see no reason BFV wouldn’t be the same.. or worse because of how they handled PR.
 
Top