Battlefield 3 General Discussion Thread

saedrin

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 5, 2009
Messages
2,011
Won our first CEVO match! (preseason)

Very intense. Lots of fun. One round went to us, the other to them. We won on final ticket delta.

Vidlink
 

Plague_Injected

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
6,621
lol @ the tiny little drop that caused you to suicide at 5:16. That was ridiculous.

Nice video though.
 
Last edited:

saedrin

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 5, 2009
Messages
2,011
It's a running joke that I kill myself at least once per CEVO match or scrim. Like clockwork.
 

Plague_Injected

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
6,621
Haha. It's nice to have a gimmick if you do start to get known in the scene you're participating in.

I'm really hoping BF4 has some kind of spectator mode. It sort of prevents BF from being an e-sports title right from the start.
 

SHiZNiLTi

Gawd
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
927
Have you always been able to play Gun Master on Aftermath maps? I just joined a server that playing Gun Master on Talah Market.

Link to Battlelog: http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf3/battlereport/show/53470088/1/294683489/
Hey MDK88, I thought you were gonna take my gungame victory this round lol...
http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf3/battlereport/show/53470633/1/336717693/

I didn't realize you were from [H], I was like dang this guy MDK88 and his friend Wyre08 are pretty damn good in gungame, it was a 4 way tie with my friend the_unborn and your buddy Wyre08 for a while. I had to take a large gulp of my energy drink and enable try hard mode :p

We should all run together again sometime, I sent you a friend request.
 

Mattdk

n00b
Joined
Oct 21, 2011
Messages
57
§·H·ï·Z·N·ï·L·T·ï;1039527541 said:
Hey MDK88, I thought you were gonna take my gungame victory this round lol...
http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf3/battlereport/show/53470633/1/336717693/

I didn't realize you were from [H], I was like dang this guy MDK88 and his friend Wyre08 are pretty damn good in gungame, it was a 4 way tie with my friend the_unborn and your buddy Wyre08 for a while. I had to take a large gulp of my energy drink and enable try hard mode :p

We should all run together again sometime, I sent you a friend request.

Didn't know you where on [H] either. Game looks a ton better with those setting you gave me, and I had a ton of fun playing with you last night.
 

SHiZNiLTi

Gawd
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
927
Didn't know you where on [H] either. Game looks a ton better with those setting you gave me, and I had a ton of fun playing with you last night.
Yep, we did really good. Took 1st and 2nd for about 10 rounds in a won each round. By that last round I was dead tired lol, was 430am!!!
 
Last edited:

spindoctor

Gawd
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
820
should I purchase close quarters? are people on that?

I'd say it's the most popular of all the map packs by far. Although if you are willing to spend 15$ on the CQ pack alone, maybe you should consider waiting and getting premium instead for 25-30$ or so when it goes on sale next. Far more value for your money.
 

etegv

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 31, 2011
Messages
259
I'd say it's the most popular of all the map packs by far. Although if you are willing to spend 15$ on the CQ pack alone, maybe you should consider waiting and getting premium instead for 25-30$ or so when it goes on sale next. Far more value for your money.

im so dumb

i bought the base game for 10 and then saw EA had a sale on their map packs so I bought the AM set

is there a way I can swap? lol sounds ridiculous I know, but damn really want the CQ map pack
 

odditory

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
6,482
i think AM is way better than CQ.

This. CQ = Call of Duty map pack. AM maps are beautiful for infantry oriented players (that coming from an aircraft whore) and more to the point the AM maps are really what I wish the base game infantry maps would have been. One of them in particular I forget the name, is like 'Grand Bazaar done right.'
 
Last edited:

etegv

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 31, 2011
Messages
259
This. CQ = Call of Duty map pack. AM maps are beautiful for infantry oriented players (that coming from an aircraft whore) and more to the point the AM maps are really what I wish the base game infantry maps would have been. One of them in particular I forget the name, is like 'Grand Bazaar done right.'

thats the thing, I just like the close combat of CoD as opposed running around with your team trying to find someone to kill. Really wish I had read more reviews of CQ... had I known it was meant to appeal for the Cod crowd, I wouldve bought it instantly..

do you guys think EA would allow me to swap if I asked them? CQ is what I really want. I know what BF3 is supposed to be and I appreciate what they did, but its just not my cup of tea (maps are too big imo)
 

etegv

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 31, 2011
Messages
259
no they wont

that just sucks. Eff this shit man, might have to sell it. Tired of waiting around just trying to kill someone

nvm, Ill use CQ map as my first bill me later purchase lol.
 
Last edited:

etegv

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 31, 2011
Messages
259
AM is just as good as CQ, why are you freaking out?

yea maybe youre right

Just played the map with the shipping containers and had a lot of fun

Maybe I havent played all the AM maps lol. Played the bazzar one, which was ok, but I really enjoyed the shipping container map. Just bought CQ, so shopefully Ill enjoy that as well.

Edit: bought CQ and had a lot of fun playing the mansion map. Thought all the BF3 were like this but guess not.


thanks
 
Last edited:

etegv

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 31, 2011
Messages
259
If I purchased an SSD, would it reduce some of my lag? Im not a huge gamer and my parts are like 4 yrs old (non-oced amd 635/4870/8gb RAM), but im fine with playing on low settings if theres no lag. Really my only issue but a fun game so far.

thanks
 

WhyYouLoveMe

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
6,513
If I purchased an SSD, would it reduce some of my lag? Im not a huge gamer and my parts are like 4 yrs old (non-oced amd 635/4870/8gb RAM), but im fine with playing on low settings if theres no lag. Really my only issue but a fun game so far.

thanks

No, that won't reduce your lag. Both your vid card and CPU are probably holding you back. Getting an SSD will reduce load times and map switches, however.
 

etegv

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 31, 2011
Messages
259
No, that won't reduce your lag. Both your vid card and CPU are probably holding you back. Getting an SSD will reduce load times and map switches, however.

yea thats what I figured

ok so simple question. Id like to play on a 1680/1050 resolution. What would be a safe card to buy that wouldnt bottleneck my CPU? Ill try to OC the CPU as well. Thanks, sorry last post on this,
 

spaceman

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
Messages
14,763
A 560 is about the level of card you want to get if possible. A 6950 would certainly run the game well with pretty decent settings at that resolution. You have to oc that cpu to the hilt though. What is your budget?
 

r3awak3n

Gawd
Joined
Dec 7, 2006
Messages
965
yeh its tough. I had a 560ti and my qx6700 struggled with that game. I OCed it by maybe 200 mhz (couldnt push anymore out of it) and still had to play on low/med settings to get about 45 fps.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
18,830
when are they going to add Deathmatch to Battlefield?...hopefully BF4...I don't like teamwork...I want to be a twitch shooter

I kid
 

spaceman

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
Messages
14,763
Close Quarters with 32 players would be a perfect game if you want that. It is team death match on a small map. Or scavenger or gun master.
 

SHiZNiLTi

Gawd
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
927
Did some playing around with the SweetFX SMAA Injector, definatly an improvement in color once you get everything tweaked just right. The SMAA does a pretty good job smoothing out the jaggies, no fps drop either in comparison to MSAA that drops fps by about 30.

Before SweetFX, lots of blue and kinda dull:


After SweetFX, less blue and much sharper:


Still might enable MSAA to remove more jaggies, 200fps kinda overkill :)
 

Colonel Sanders

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 26, 2001
Messages
4,257
Is it just me or is there a pervasive (i.e. on any server) lag / rubberbanding going on right now in BF3? Pings are fine in the server browser but I am rubber banding pretty badly. Pingtest.net is giving me A's across the board so it's not my connection...
 

spaceman

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
Messages
14,763
There is weird lag. Kind of an occasional hitch. Generally, this is due to PB taking screenshots and scanning.

SweetFx is a great upgrade for literally no performance cost. Two thumbs up from this guy.
 

Maplehamwich

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 14, 2011
Messages
1,539
Is it just me or is there a pervasive (i.e. on any server) lag / rubberbanding going on right now in BF3? Pings are fine in the server browser but I am rubber banding pretty badly. Pingtest.net is giving me A's across the board so it's not my connection...

I've been experiencing that for sure. Super frustrating.
 

USMCGrunt

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
3,103
There is weird lag. Kind of an occasional hitch. Generally, this is due to PB taking screenshots and scanning.

SweetFx is a great upgrade for literally no performance cost. Two thumbs up from this guy.

Will SweetFX cause PB to shit on you?
 

SHiZNiLTi

Gawd
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
927
No PB issues, it doesn't mod any game files. It's acts the same way as if you were to do some color/sharpen tweeks in the nvidia or ati control panel.

This isn't like the BF Colour Tweaker of FXAA injector, those are different.
 

Colonel Sanders

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 26, 2001
Messages
4,257
There is weird lag. Kind of an occasional hitch. Generally, this is due to PB taking screenshots and scanning.

SweetFx is a great upgrade for literally no performance cost. Two thumbs up from this guy.

I've been experiencing that for sure. Super frustrating.

Thanks. Just curious, where are you both located? I'm playing with a friend and they say they have zero rubberbanding right now.
 

Silverghost

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2002
Messages
2,627
Since when did people figure how to get on top of Talah Market? I was playing TDM and there was about 4 or 5 of them up there. So I made it my mission to ruin their fun. L85 and M320 LVG. The LVG's huge drop works great for this stuff, getting their spawn beacons and plain blowing up them up dozens of times. It got to the point where they purposely blew up my cover and had buddies hang out in my spots that gave me good angles and one recon would fly one mav after another after me. Eventually the one recon left, but the rest camped their asses off up there.
 

GoldenTiger

Fully [H]
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
19,715
§·H·ï·Z·N·ï·L·T·ï;1039535033 said:
No PB issues, it doesn't mod any game files. It's acts the same way as if you were to do some color/sharpen tweeks in the nvidia or ati control panel.

This isn't like the BF Colour Tweaker of FXAA injector, those are different.

Great to know, I was wanting to use it for BF3 and TSW but was concerned it may set off anti-"cheat" alarms. I'll have to try SweetFX out now!
 

Droc

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 20, 2007
Messages
3,333
Since when did people figure how to get on top of Talah Market? I was playing TDM and there was about 4 or 5 of them up there. So I made it my mission to ruin their fun. L85 and M320 LVG. The LVG's huge drop works great for this stuff, getting their spawn beacons and plain blowing up them up dozens of times. It got to the point where they purposely blew up my cover and had buddies hang out in my spots that gave me good angles and one recon would fly one mav after another after me. Eventually the one recon left, but the rest camped their asses off up there.

I joined a game and spawned on my squad only to find +20 of our team on the roof. They must glitch up somehow, and its super lame. I switched teams and just picked off heads
 
Top