AW3821DW (Nov 2020) with GSync Ultimate

cezarL

n00b
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
21
Could the non-flickers have Variable Backlight: Mode 2 active? I noticed it's bearly visible in mode 2, but modes 0 and 1 have clear dark grey flicker.
Edit: Mode 2 seems to have a hidden bonus level: left and right side of the monitor flicker when taking cursor from edge to edge, has anyone succesfully used HDR on this monitor? :D
Um... I tried all 3 modes but didn't really see any difference with regards to flicker in Windows.
I've left it on mode 0 for a good while now and pretty much got used to the flicker. Might give mode 2 another shot...
 

terve

n00b
Joined
Feb 13, 2021
Messages
12
They do seem to be cable sensitive, probably because of the fact that they push DP bandwidth the the max, and maybe the Gsync module on top of it. I had some minor, intermittent issues with mine after I got it over my very lengthy (20') DP cable so I decided to get a fiber optic one and that solved the problems.
Today my flicker returned even with the new purchased cable. Guess I have to try fibre optic too.
 

Lamont

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 26, 2004
Messages
3,685
I've been using it for a while and the only issue I have is that my GPU doesn't wanna run such a large resolution. There is considerable lag, un-responsiveness, YouTube vids go black (need to minimize to refresh) since moving to this.

Running a 980ti.
 

FaRKle0079

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
2,686
I didn't notice this till now (because it went to my spam folder), but Dell released a tech memo a few days ago about AW3821DW flickering.
Dell Tech Memo said:
Dell Technologies Alienware AW3821DW Gaming Monitor - Flickering at 30Hz

Dear Valued Dell Technologies Customer:

This E-mail is part of our commitment to proactively notify customers of important product quality and preventative maintenance information. Dell Technologies has identified that customers who purchased certain Alienware AW3821DW Gaming Monitors may encounter display flickering in a specific usage scenario when using low refresh rate at 30 Hz. This monitor is a gaming monitor designed to perform optimally at a higher refresh rate. Dell recommends that you use the monitor at a higher refresh rate for optimal performance.

According to our records, one or more of your Monitor(s) may be affected by this issue.

Service Tag(s)

As part of its proactive efforts, Dell Technologies highly recommends that you increase the refresh rate, through the advanced display settings as soon as possible to avoid encountering this issue.

If you decide to take no action at this time, please be advised that this product may encounter display flickering. As always, we continue to stand behind the warranty and service contracts applicable to your products.

Interesting how they didn't mention the problem at 60Hz too...
 

Leykis

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
394
Does this monitor come with software/controls to let you partition/divide the screen into various configurations?
 

neojam

n00b
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
50


I didn't notice this till now (because it went to my spam folder), but Dell released a tech memo a few days ago about AW3821DW flickering.
...
Dell Technologies has identified that customers who purchased certain Alienware AW3821DW Gaming Monitors may encounter display flickering in a specific usage scenario when using low refresh rate at 30 Hz. This monitor is a gaming monitor designed to perform optimally at a higher refresh rate. Dell recommends that you use the monitor at a higher refresh rate for optimal performance.
...

Interesting how they didn't mention the problem at 60Hz too...

LOL what a load of bullshit :spitoutdummy::D

What's the point of a G-Sync ultimate module in this display if the display doesn't work correctly at lower Hz anyway?? ( hell, according to a few posts in this forum it does already flicker at 60Hz!)
You could then just as well go for a "G-Sync Compatible" display with no G-sync module instead and save a lot of cash...
 

terve

n00b
Joined
Feb 13, 2021
Messages
12
What are your specs if you don't mind me asking? And this is also with the second 3821DW, right?
Nvidia RTX 3080. Yes this is the changed monitor. I haven't changed the cable yet, coz the random flickering doesn't always happen while the monitor is warming up and it's way more subtle than with the first one.
 

exlink

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 16, 2006
Messages
5,955
Checking in since I’ve had the monitor for quite some time now. I’ve been using the monitor extensively nearly every day for the past 6 months and haven’t had a single issue. No flickering, has even uniformity, no G-SYNC issues, no input lag/responsiveness issues, no issues of any kind. Fantastic monitor from my experience.
 

Murzilka

Gawd
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
946
There is an updated predator 38S coming out - https://www.tftcentral.co.uk/blog/a...panel-175hz-refresh-rate-and-g-sync-ultimate/
If I were after a 38" monitor, or any monitor now, the 38S would be the one I'd be looking at. Forget about fald, halos, individual light pixels, max hdr brightness, and all that bragging crap - The Predator 38S will be the ultimate gaming and all around monitor. The smoothest, fastest, most detailed graphics performance you can get in 2021. I am sure they corrected that dark spots issue that the 38P had with the newer panel. Personally, like I had mentioned I am out of the game for at least a year.
 

Mystique

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
341
No HDMI 2.1? ..........

Sounds like a more expensive version of this monitor.
 

Mystique

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
341
If you want to make use of the 175 Hz, and 10Bit, you do.

Which, basically nullifies any advantage this display has over the one in this thread. I personally dont use 144 Hz over 10 bit, as it is, so going 175hz isn't going to change anything. Especially with an HDR display.
 

Murzilka

Gawd
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
946
If you want to make use of the 175 Hz, and 10Bit, you do.

Which, basically nullifies any advantage this display has over the one in this thread. I personally dont use 144 Hz over 10 bit, as it is, so going 175hz isn't going to change anything. Especially with an HDR display.
I think that it is 120hz 10bit max, actually. For SDR 8-bit is all you need. 10-bit is for HDR, which this monitor is not about.
 

Mystique

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
341
I think that it is 120hz 10bit max, actually. For SDR 8-bit is all you need. 10-bit is for HDR, which this monitor is not about.
FTA:
Spec wise the screen is 37.5″ in size, has a 2300R curve, and a 3840 x 1600 resolution IPS panel. There is an advertised 0.3ms G2G response time (take this with a pinch of salt), and although not yet confirmed we would expect other specs to include 1000:1 contrast ratio, 600 cd/m2 brightness and 178/178 viewing angles. The native refresh rate of the panel is 144Hz but an overclocking feature allows you to boost this up to 175Hz. The screen comes factory calibrated with a dE <2 as well.


The HDR capabilities have been updated since the old model too, now featuring HDR 600 which requires some form of backlight local dimming (edge lit here with limited number of zones). There is also the required wide colour gamut, with 98% DCI-P3 coverage quoted. 10-bit colour depth input will also be supported.

It is about HDR. The reality is that if you don't use HDR with this display, you might as well get something 1000$ cheaper. Thus, 175 Hz is useless unless you like having 8 bit colorspace HDR translation. So, yeah, no HDMI 2.1, this is just a more expensive version from a less reliable brand than the one in this thread from 8 months ago.
 
Last edited:

Murzilka

Gawd
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
946
FTA:


It is about HDR. The reality is that if you don't use HDR with this display, you might as well get something 1000$ cheaper. Thus, 175 Hz is useless unless you like having 8 bit colorspace HDR translation. So, yeah, no HDMI 2.1, this is just a more expensive version from a less reliable brand than the one in this thread from 8 months ago.
Definitely no. It doesn't even have fald. It's just an echo of what HDR should be like. It is more expensive and it is much more advanced in terms of supporting color spaces. It has perfect support of the sRGB color space and you can assign individual color space to any input. Which is fucking crazy. The alienware just sucks balls in comparison, as well as for quality control. Haven't you read about the problems people are having with this dell 38"? The Predator X38 (I've had 3. (or 4...)) is perfect from one unit to another. It only has the equal flaw across all units - dark spots in the middle of the screen. This is structural defect which I hope has been corrected with the S38. Apart from that - it is juuuust perfect, no issues. If one's brain can compensate for the IPS glow (mine can), by all means - I encourage to get the Predator 38" monitor. This is the best gaming monitor in my opinion. That's it.
 

Mystique

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
341
Somehow "its not a TV" turned into "All my inputs can have a different setting.".... How is that not circular? Who else is using multiple inputs except people who'd use it like a TV?

sRGB isn't that useful unless you don't use HDR. Which, even if it's an "echo" of what it should be like, it's still pretty awesome, so I'd be surprised if anyone chooses to not use it, especially with the Auto-HDR on W10 preview insider builds. I recommend giving it a shot, it totally blows away non-HDR for me, regardless of sRGB or otherwise. ( I have a X27 predator with sRGB next to me, and it simply cannot compare. )

Now it is probably the best gaming monitor, but it's also 600-800$ more than this one, and it STILL doesn't have HDMI 2.1, and it's JUST coming out. Lets not forget that was the original gripe I had. If you're buying new, sure, you can definitely consider this one, but I wouldn't be so far as to say this new one will provide any meaningful upgrade to any AW321DW owner in 99% of use cases. If it could go 175 Hz @ 10bit, hell yeah. But that's not the case.

Kinda pre-emptive to something is "perfect", especially in regards to QA issues, when it hasn't even been released yet.
 
Last edited:

Murzilka

Gawd
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
946
It is an upgrade over dell 38" for someone looking for a perfection in the 38" hardware g-sync range, and who understands that HDR support is just a secondary bonus to the smoothest performance in SDR. My personal opinion is that dell is... okay I'm not going to post that, since there are dell owners here that can get offended. But there is a reason that I didn't even budge when it came out.
 

Mystique

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
341
Anyone running this beast through a KVM and getting 120 Hz 10bit with no negative effects? I know there's been some issues about this display being picky about the cable being used?

I am considering a hard decouple into a rPI for a Remote work setup where the VPN cannot escape a VLAN, since, well, don't trust any exe not to collect data these days.
 

FaRKle0079

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
2,686
Anyone running this beast through a KVM and getting 120 Hz 10bit with no negative effects? I know there's been some issues about this display being picky about the cable being used?

I am considering a hard decouple into a rPI for a Remote work setup where the VPN cannot escape a VLAN, since, well, don't trust any exe not to collect data these days.

I'm running the LG through a ConnectPro UDP-12AP at 120Hz and 10bit. I had to change the pixel format to 4:2:2 though. The screen would flash to black and back every once in a while at 4:4:4. This is more due to the KVM though. The UDP-12AP isn't nearly as capable as it's supposed to be...
 

Mystique

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
341
I'm running the LG through a ConnectPro UDP-12AP at 120Hz and 10bit. I had to change the pixel format to 4:2:2 though. The screen would flash to black and back every once in a while at 4:4:4. This is more due to the KVM though. The UDP-12AP isn't nearly as capable as it's supposed to be...
Dang, that thing looks like a beast. Kind of a bummer you can't do 4:4:4 with it. Kind of gives me pause at whether this idea is the right one for me because it sounds like that would happen with this display too.
 

Iching

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 29, 2008
Messages
1,867
There is an updated predator 38S coming out - https://www.tftcentral.co.uk/blog/a...panel-175hz-refresh-rate-and-g-sync-ultimate/
If I were after a 38" monitor, or any monitor now, the 38S would be the one I'd be looking at. Forget about fald, halos, individual light pixels, max hdr brightness, and all that bragging crap - The Predator 38S will be the ultimate gaming and all around monitor. The smoothest, fastest, most detailed graphics performance you can get in 2021. I am sure they corrected that dark spots issue that the 38P had with the newer panel. Personally, like I had mentioned I am out of the game for at least a year.
Who you shilling for? This reads like youtube influencer rubbish.
 

roromush

n00b
Joined
Mar 7, 2015
Messages
9
Guys I just got this monitor, and I have to say I'm somewhat disappointed with the panel. The colors are washed out, dark greens look almost grey. I'm coming from a 34GK95 which is also a Nano-IPS and the colors are way more vibrant on that panel even though its almost 4 years old at this point.

Did I get a dud here?

Also just a small complaint but the standby white LED strobing on the bottom right is pretty annoying, is there any way to disable this without unplugging the monitor?
 

thelead

2[H]4U
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
2,184
The lg gaming monitors are just oversaturated and not accurate (and I honestly prefer that look sometimes). The easiest way to achieve a similar look would be to adjust one of the game preset modes and set the RGBCMY sliders to around 70% across the board. It will look wildly inaccurate but likely similar to the lg panel.

All that said, I recommend using the custom color mode with something close to 100R 90G 80B give or take depending on your panel.
 
Last edited:

corb06

n00b
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
3
Got my monitor 3 days ago and just now when I turned it on there was a loud fan sounding from it. I have not heard it before, but man was it loud. I have a very quiet tower, no fans turning unless gaming, only slowly turning CPU fan that I cant hear. Also no old school harddrives spining and making noise. So the monitor was really loud.
Now I dont know what to do, I did not know that they put a fan in it. Does it come on often? Can I do anything to prevent it from going on?
Other than that deal breaker, this is a great screen. Love the size and 1600p height. Colors are great and brightness amazing. I used to own the Asus PG348Q and a brief 2 weeks with the Acer Predator X34GS that I returned for this Alienware.
 

Sycraft

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
4,943
Got my monitor 3 days ago and just now when I turned it on there was a loud fan sounding from it. I have not heard it before, but man was it loud. I have a very quiet tower, no fans turning unless gaming, only slowly turning CPU fan that I cant hear. Also no old school harddrives spining and making noise. So the monitor was really loud.
Now I dont know what to do, I did not know that they put a fan in it. Does it come on often? Can I do anything to prevent it from going on?
Other than that deal breaker, this is a great screen. Love the size and 1600p height. Colors are great and brightness amazing. I used to own the Asus PG348Q and a brief 2 weeks with the Acer Predator X34GS that I returned for this Alienware.
It does have a fan, all the high end Gsync ones do it is just normally very quiet. Sometimes it gets confused and comes on full blast. Unlplug the power from the wall, wait a bit, plug it back in and it should go back to being so silent you can't hear it. I've had it happen twice to me in the few months I've owned it.
 

corb06

n00b
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
3
It does have a fan, all the high end Gsync ones do it is just normally very quiet. Sometimes it gets confused and comes on full blast. Unlplug the power from the wall, wait a bit, plug it back in and it should go back to being so silent you can't hear it. I've had it happen twice to me in the few months I've owned it.
Ok! Thanks for the tip. Yeah it must have been one of those moments yesterday, cause like you said it went full blast for no reason when I turned the screen on with powerbutton.
 

corb06

n00b
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
3
Just noticed that the screen is still emitting heat even though I turned off with powerbutton. I can feel heating coming out from the right side of the top went, even hours after I turned off the screen. Is that normal for you guys as well?
 

Spartacus09

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 21, 2018
Messages
1,827
Just noticed that the screen is still emitting heat even though I turned off with powerbutton. I can feel heating coming out from the right side of the top went, even hours after I turned off the screen. Is that normal for you guys as well?
Yep when it turns off the standby mode seems to keep the pixels warm still or something, haven't tried turning it off directly but just windows tell it to turn off the screen it seems to semi-stay on.
 
Top