AW3821DW (Nov 2020) with GSync Ultimate

killabunny

n00b
Joined
Dec 27, 2020
Messages
6
Hello from Finland! I've always owned quality IPS panels because of coding and graphics work. so I was curious if this AW3821DW monitor would be enough for my work.
Because of this amazingly high quality forum thread, I already knew, that it would be somewhat of a compromise to buy it, but I did buy it..

Here are my thoughts after 2 weeks of use:

1. Calibration/color/brightness settings out of the box are all HORRIBLE. You can literally burn your eyes with the default settings and lose your sight temporarily.

2. Learning curve to get settings right is steep, I literally used DAYS trying to figure out how to get this monitor to display even something close to sRGB or CMYK with natural brightness. I've never used this much time for color correction on ANY monitor, usually it takes few minutes to get the brightness and colors right.

3. HDR is unusable. Your eyes will be burning into your sockets on longer use and there are not enough settings currently available to make it better.

4. Some days, when the monitor is first time turned on, it can flicker few times during first seconds of use. It feels like it needs to warm up or something before it's fully operational. Can grow into a problem in longer term?

5. Ambient light sensor seems to somewhat work now - after I did the reset thing found on Reddit, but it's still not perfect and it would be great to have some adjustment setting on it.

After all of that being said, I gotta say.. I do LOVE❤️ this monitor! :D It's crisp enough and so amazingly wide, 120-144Hz is a bliss and now when I've gotten the color/brightness settings to somewhat close to the real world - I have no regrets!

Comp: Omen 30L i7-10700K with Nvidia RTX 3080

Thanks for everyone who has contributed into this thread! Great stuff!
What do you think about the color accuracy with HDR ON in Windows?
 

cezarL

n00b
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
20
What do you think about the color accuracy with HDR ON in Windows?
Mine needed considerable adjustments to RGB controls, but once set the delta-e measured by DisplayCal with an i1D3 meter was 0.1-0.2 for the whitepoint.
 

Sycraft

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
4,915
Hey fellows,

The ambient sensor DOES NOT work with HDR ON in Windows. Correct?
No it doesn't. HDR is mastered to absolute brightness levels meaning that the user isn't supposed to have control over the brightness. It's kinda annoying, but that is the standard.
 

thelead

2[H]4U
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
2,172
Mine needed considerable adjustments to RGB controls, but once set the delta-e measured by DisplayCal with an i1D3 meter was 0.1-0.2 for the whitepoint.
I know that each panel is different but just for a ballpark, what are your RGB settings?
 

FaRKle0079

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
2,678
So apparently these monitors have an issue with HDMI input that causes the flickering issue I had on my first panel. Well, the 2nd panel does it too!.

If you're on HDMI input and 60Hz or less the screen will start to flicker and burn in the image of whatever you have on the screen. This image stays even after hard power off (disconnect power cable), and will show up in the diagnostic mode. If you leave the unit unplugged for days, then it'll finally go away. Using DisplayPort I haven't been able to reproduce this issue, but HDMI it occurs once the monitor has been on for a bit (like 30min). I saw on reddit a good amount of other people have had the same issue as me.
 

cezarL

n00b
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
20
I know that each panel is different but just for a ballpark, what are your RGB settings?
R-100, G-94, B-85
Mine's from the first batch sold in Eastern Europe.

So apparently these monitors have an issue with HDMI input that causes the flickering issue I had on my first panel. Well, the 2nd panel does it too!.

If you're on HDMI input and 60Hz or less the screen will start to flicker and burn in the image of whatever you have on the screen. This image stays even after hard power off (disconnect power cable), and will show up in the diagnostic mode. If you leave the unit unplugged for days, then it'll finally go away. Using DisplayPort I haven't been able to reproduce this issue, but HDMI it occurs once the monitor has been on for a bit (like 30min). I saw on reddit a good amount of other people have had the same issue as me.
Hmmm interesting.
I'm using DisplayPort with the desktop PC, but expecting a docking station for the work laptop to be delivered in a couple of days, will be connecting that through an HDMI input, hope it will run at 85Hz... (a direct HDMI connection from the laptop only gives me 30Hz :) )
 

nighthink

n00b
Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Messages
2
Ca anybody please confirm how does this monitor behave with macbook pro connecting via HDMI? Really considering this one but in my setup I would use DP for gaming PC and the plan was to use HDMI for connecting macbook pro. But if I can achieve only 60Hz at most via HDMI that is disappointing.. I saw somewhere the limitation over HDMI shall be 120Hz for this monitor.
 

Cali3350

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2002
Messages
4,668
Ca anybody please confirm how does this monitor behave with macbook pro connecting via HDMI? Really considering this one but in my setup I would use DP for gaming PC and the plan was to use HDMI for connecting macbook pro. But if I can achieve only 60Hz at most via HDMI that is disappointing.. I saw somewhere the limitation over HDMI shall be 120Hz for this monitor.
It will entirely depend on the resolution you are trying to drive. You will be limited by the HDMI 2.0 spec. At native resolution you will only have 60hz, yes. If you reduce the resolution to 3440x1440 you can get up to 110hz.
 

Cali3350

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2002
Messages
4,668
It will entirely depend on the resolution you are trying to drive. You will be limited by the HDMI 2.0 spec. At native resolution you will only have 60hz, yes. If you reduce the resolution to 3440x1440 you can get up to 110hz.
Can anyone confirm this monitor does not support 4k downsample? IE I plug in a PS5, it will not accept a 4k signal from the PS5 and internally sample it to a resolution that works? The LG does this, so that's a point against this for me if so.
 

terve

n00b
Joined
Feb 13, 2021
Messages
8
What do you think about the color accuracy with HDR ON in Windows?
The accuracy of HDR doesn't matter if it's unusable. Atleast my eyes get burned and tired instantly (even with contrast below 60), so not sure why anyone would want to use it with this monitor.. you should wear sunglasses if you do?
 

terve

n00b
Joined
Feb 13, 2021
Messages
8
4. Some days, when the monitor is first time turned on, it can flicker few times during first seconds of use. It feels like it needs to warm up or something before it's fully operational. Can grow into a problem in longer term?
Edit: Dell changed my monitor and the problem is gone. -- I changed the DisplayPort cable and the flicker is gone! \o/
 
Last edited:

thelead

2[H]4U
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
2,172
The accuracy of HDR doesn't matter if it's unusable. Atleast my eyes get burned and tired instantly (even with contrast below 60), so not sure why anyone would want to use it with this monitor.. you should wear sunglasses if you do?
You can set the HDR/SDR brightness balance slider to 0 in windows HD color settings if you're sensitive to bright screens.
 

terve

n00b
Joined
Feb 13, 2021
Messages
8
You can set the HDR/SDR brightness balance slider to 0 in windows HD color settings if you're sensitive to bright screens.
Yes, but then the greys get dimmed and you lose ambient sensor. Atleast for me, the SDR is the only way I get natural brightness with this monitor, that work in any room lighting without any adjustments needed during the day. Might be different for you, or for your monitor, but atleast my retinas are burning hot with HDR on and none of the adjustments make it better or more suitable for longer use. If they develop adjustable brightness curve setting for it, I will definetly give it another chance.

OLED panels don't seem to suffer from the same problem and they can be fitted with ambient sensor to produce natural colors according to room lighting. I guess we just need to wait for OLED's to enter the FPS market (AW5520QF anyone?😀), hopefully with a bit more affordable pricing.

> Edit: I got my replacement monitor from Dell and this doesn't seem to have such huge fluorocent brightness effect, with this the HDR is much more settle. Seems there are differences between monitors.
 
Last edited:

terve

n00b
Joined
Feb 13, 2021
Messages
8
Here's my AW3821DW random flicker problem, which I'm currently trying to figure out with Dell support:
AW3821DW-flicker-problem.gif


> Edit: Dell sent me a new monitor and this problem seems to be fixed.
 
Last edited:

Sycraft

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
4,915
Here's my AW3821DW random flicker problem, which I'm currently trying to figure out with Dell support:
In any cases of trouble like that, always make sure to try a different Displayport cable. The ones Dell includes are not great and issues are easier to find since this display literally pushes it to the limit of the technology. Not saying that is what is happening here, but it can be. I had a few issues with mine with a longer cable that I used, worked fine for my old 2560x1440 144Hz monitor, so I replaced it with a fiber optic cable and the issues went away. For normal length cables just get a good quality one and see if it helps. If it doesn't then ya time to get a repalcement.
 

thelead

2[H]4U
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
2,172
Yes, but then the greys get dimmed and you lose ambient sensor. Atleast for me, the SDR is the only way I get natural brightness with this monitor, that work in any room lighting without any adjustments needed during the day. Might be different for you, or for your monitor, but atleast my retinas are burning hot with HDR on and none of the adjustments make it better or more suitable for longer use. If they develop adjustable brightness curve setting for it, I will definetly give it another chance.

OLED panels don't seem to suffer from the same problem and they can be fitted with ambient sensor to produce natural colors according to room lighting. I guess we just need to wait for OLED's to enter the FPS market (AW5520QF anyone?😀), hopefully with a bit more affordable pricing.
42" OLEDs will likely be released next year but ABL is a pain. But if you like low-brightness all the time, that won't be an issue for you. I like HDR (real HDR anyway) and can't stand using my OLED tv as a monitor. Any time I full screen a white window, the brightness dims considerably and when I exit out of the windows, the brightness ramps back up. It's a jarring experience. But for those that like their monitors to never go above ~100 nits, you'll love OLED.
 
  • Like
Reactions: terve
like this

Sycraft

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
4,915
42" OLEDs will likely be released next year but ABL is a pain. But if you like low-brightness all the time, that won't be an issue for you. I like HDR (real HDR anyway) and can't stand using my OLED tv as a monitor. Any time I full screen a white window, the brightness dims considerably and when I exit out of the windows, the brightness ramps back up. It's a jarring experience. But for those that like their monitors to never go above ~100 nits, you'll love OLED.
That, and the burn in potential, are what stop me from getting one for my living room. I do use my TV in there for computer duties sometimes and it just seems like trouble for that purpose. So I have a FALD TV out there. That was also part of what sparked me to get this screen. It isn't the perfect everything I want display, and I know that in the future there will be better HDR screens for computers... but it is also clear that isn't happening any time soon so I might as well have something I like a lot now, and then get a new display in the future, whenever in the future it ends up being, that they have one with tech that works well for desktop functions AND HDR.
 

thelead

2[H]4U
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
2,172
That, and the burn in potential, are what stop me from getting one for my living room. I do use my TV in there for computer duties sometimes and it just seems like trouble for that purpose. So I have a FALD TV out there. That was also part of what sparked me to get this screen. It isn't the perfect everything I want display, and I know that in the future there will be better HDR screens for computers... but it is also clear that isn't happening any time soon so I might as well have something I like a lot now, and then get a new display in the future, whenever in the future it ends up being, that they have one with tech that works well for desktop functions AND HDR.
Agreed. I bought my OLED as a night time movie watching display. For that, it's great for now. That said, image retention (not burn-in) is a big problem. Literally 2 seconds of my apple tv home screen displayed will result in the icons being visible on an all gray screen for ~20 seconds (some apps open up this way which makes the image retention super noticeable). I know it's not burn in but it makes me wonder how resilient they really are to static images like an excel spreadsheet that stays up for 4 hours.
 

Sycraft

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
4,915
Agreed. I bought my OLED as a night time movie watching display. For that, it's great for now. That said, image retention (not burn-in) is a big problem. Literally 2 seconds of my apple tv home screen displayed will result in the icons being visible on an all gray screen for ~20 seconds (some apps open up this way which makes the image retention super noticeable). I know it's not burn in but it makes me wonder how resilient they really are to static images like an excel spreadsheet that stays up for 4 hours.
Ya that is my worry. Computer usage is literally worst case scenario as you have not just a long term static image, but large parts of it are monochromatic so pixel shifting won't help. Like for a videogame HUD or TV logo that can do the trick but not so much for desktop usage. I wouldn't want to have to worry about ruining my expensive toy any time I used it for desktop work.
 

thelead

2[H]4U
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
2,172
Ya that is my worry. Computer usage is literally worst case scenario as you have not just a long term static image, but large parts of it are monochromatic so pixel shifting won't help. Like for a videogame HUD or TV logo that can do the trick but not so much for desktop usage. I wouldn't want to have to worry about ruining my expensive toy any time I used it for desktop work.
Yeah. I think it's highly dependent on the user. I know that I like to walk away from my computer and not worry about leaving the static image up for however long until I sit back down. I'm more about function over form for my use case.
 

luzx

n00b
Joined
Feb 15, 2021
Messages
4
Anyone has this issue?

I have two monitor both of them connect through DP port (RTX 30800), main monitor is AW3821DW.

When win 10 turn off monitor automatically (I set 10 min), both of them will turn off their backlight normally but after a while (maybe 1hr or 2hr), AW3821DW will turn on backlight...

it is annoyed me and i am not sure if this will hurt monitor?

Thanks!
 

Sycraft

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
4,915
Anyone has this issue?

I have two monitor both of them connect through DP port (RTX 30800), main monitor is AW3821DW.

When win 10 turn off monitor automatically (I set 10 min), both of them will turn off their backlight normally but after a while (maybe 1hr or 2hr), AW3821DW will turn on backlight...

it is annoyed me and i am not sure if this will hurt monitor?

Thanks!
No I haven't noticed that, when I lock my screen it turns the monitor off and it stays off any time I've looked at it. Connected through DisplayPort here too to a 3090. One thing to try is a "hard reset" of your monitor meaning unplug the power, leave it unplugged for like 20 seconds, then back in. That will reboot the onboard stuff. Might help. Also it might possibly be a DP cable issue. I've never seen it myself but some people have reported issues with sleep on other monitors with certain DP cables that have one of the pins wired up they shouldn't. So you can try a different cable, see if that helps. Never seen it myself, but seen it around online enough that I would consider it possible.
 

luzx

n00b
Joined
Feb 15, 2021
Messages
4
No I haven't noticed that, when I lock my screen it turns the monitor off and it stays off any time I've looked at it. Connected through DisplayPort here too to a 3090. One thing to try is a "hard reset" of your monitor meaning unplug the power, leave it unplugged for like 20 seconds, then back in. That will reboot the onboard stuff. Might help. Also it might possibly be a DP cable issue. I've never seen it myself but some people have reported issues with sleep on other monitors with certain DP cables that have one of the pins wired up they shouldn't. So you can try a different cable, see if that helps. Never seen it myself, but seen it around online enough that I would consider it possible.

Thank you, it is very strange problem... i try to reproduce this issue tonight, but it seems normal... the backlight will not turn on after disable monitor (~4hr).
(but last week, i face this problem maybe 3 times)

I want to ask another question, Does anyone of you have the same issue?

I have the same issue and can reproduce this problem easily, just follow the instruction in the youtube link.
want to know if this is hardware issue or common issue.

Alienware AW3821DW left side flicker on HDR​

 

terve

n00b
Joined
Feb 13, 2021
Messages
8
Here's my AW3821DW random flicker problem
Wow, Dell sent me a replacement monitor and all the things I said (page 12) seems to be fixed with this one! Colors and brightness levels are straight out of box 10 x better, no more flicker and image is much more natural. Feels like totally different monitor! Happy!
 
Last edited:

luzx

n00b
Joined
Feb 15, 2021
Messages
4
Wow, Dell sent me a replacement monitor and all the things I said were wrong, seem to be fixed with this one! Colors and brightness levels are straight out of box 10 x better, no more flicker and image is much more natural. Feels like totally different monitor! Happy!

Hello sir, would you help to confirm this AW3821DW flicker on HDR issue?
Just want to know if this is common issue or should i RMA my monitor.
Thank you very much.

 

terve

n00b
Joined
Feb 13, 2021
Messages
8
You can set the HDR/SDR brightness balance slider to 0 in windows HD color settings if you're sensitive to bright screens.
With the new replacement monitor I got, the over-bright HDR-fluorocent colors are non-present. I can almost get natural levels of brightness now straight out of the box with this new monitor. Such huge difference in overall brightness and color accuracy between the two. I think my faulty monitor had close to 1000 nits - it was that bright... I literally lost my eye-sight for few seconds while I was adjusting it... It's a lot better, but I still prefer SDR coz of the ambient sensor :)
 

terve

n00b
Joined
Feb 13, 2021
Messages
8
Hello sir, would you help to confirm this AW3821DW flicker on HDR issue?
Just want to know if this is common issue or should i RMA my monitor.
Thank you very much.

With HDR on, yes - darker greys flicker on the top-left side. HDR off works fine. Contact Dell support? (edited)
 
Last edited:

luzx

n00b
Joined
Feb 15, 2021
Messages
4
With HDR on, yes - darker greys flicker on the top-left side. HDR off works fine. Contact Dell support? (edited)

Thank you very much.

It seems common issue, everyone will have this issue, not a fault monitor, when you test you can press space it will hide the right information box then left/right side will both flicker.
Hope Dell will release a new firmware to address this issue...

You can read this comment from another forum (less backlight zones).
https://www.overclockers.co.uk/forums/threads/new-alienware-q3-2020.18895590/page-48
 
Last edited:

djase

n00b
Joined
Mar 5, 2021
Messages
1
Thank you very much.

It seems common issue, everyone will have this issue, not a fault monitor, when you test you can press space it will hide the right information box then left/right side will both flicker.
Hope Dell will release a new firmware to address this issue...

You can read this comment from another forum (less backlight zones).
https://www.overclockers.co.uk/forums/threads/new-alienware-q3-2020.18895590/page-48
I have this monitor since December and I don't have this problem at all.
 
Top