Antec ISK 310-150

NichoTL

Gawd
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
772
Has anyone got a build like this:

- Zotac H55/Intel DH57JG
- 4GB RAM
- Intel Core i3 530
- ATI HD 5570

I'm looking into such build but dunno if it will be too much for the PSU. IGP graphics will be disabled of course so there is more headroom than expected. i3 530's TDP is 73w for the complete package and the 5570 cannot exceed 75w (it's more like 50w I have read) so it should be doable
As long as you don't spend your time running Furmark and OCCT at the same time, you won't come anywhere near the limits of the 150W PSU. In fact, for common HTPC tasks I'm willing to bet you won't draw more than 70-80W from the PSU. If that.
 

fr500

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
1,069
I'm considering the same build, but with the ECS board. I'm a bit leery of the stock PSU being able to handle the load... would like *some* headroom for light overclocking.

Aside from the PSU issue, I've still got heatsink clearance to deal with. Height isn't a problem so much as width with the socket smashed right up to the PCIE slot. :(
With an i3-530 stock hs and 2 noctua NF-R8 on the side it should be enough.
 

tvih

Gawd
Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
566
As long as you don't spend your time running Furmark and OCCT at the same time, you won't come anywhere near the limits of the 150W PSU. In fact, for common HTPC tasks I'm willing to bet you won't draw more than 70-80W from the PSU. If that.
I concur. Heck, even my current system (in my signature) only takes a maximum of 175W or so at the wall (and that's when stress-testing both GPU and CPU at once). An i3 system with a low-power HD 5xxx series card should very easily stay under 150W even at maximum load.
 

NichoTL

Gawd
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
772
I concur. Heck, even my current system (in my signature) only takes a maximum of 175W or so at the wall (and that's when stress-testing both GPU and CPU at once). An i3 system with a low-power HD 5xxx series card should very easily stay under 150W even at maximum load.
Your i5-750 is overclocked right?
 

jparge

n00b
Joined
Jul 24, 2010
Messages
4
Hi all,

I really am in love this case and would like to buy it ASAP, but I also want to get the absolute maximum performance for it too, so hopefully I can pick up some pointers here... :)

Of all my Googleing this afternoon, this forum seemed to come up the most, and based on some other threads that I managed to find here, the following mini-itx motherboards came highly recommended :
1. Intel DH57JG
2. KINO-780AM2
3. Gigabyte H55N-USB3

My technical knowledge is not too great... I can put it all together but I'd be lying if I said it wasn't a fluke to get it all working. :)

I'd like to use an i5/i7 with an additional high performance / low profile graphics card, but I fear that I might run into cooling problems, or exceed the available 150w... although, based on some earlier posts in this thread, the latter probably won't be an issue.

Do you think that the m-itx boards mentioned above are worth investing for this case, or could you recommend some others?

Are there any cards that would handle the occasional stress from OpenGL work in Blender?
- Blender recommends an average card to have a minimum of 128mb ram + opengl support... I'm assuming any card from the last 3 years will probably meet this criteria, but probably not fit into this case... :(

Really I just want to run a small and sweet machine with Ubuntu, host Apache, MySQL and PHP for local access, frequently use Mozilla apps for the web, and occasionally run Blender for some minor modelling work. :)
 

bastage

Pics of your wife?
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
12,835
@jparge: For starters one of those motherboards is an AMD board that isnt worth beans. THe h57 & h55 boards you have lsited though are both good.. & from what you describe your uses at I would start with NO video card & see how they do using the clarksdale GPU (will work with all i3's & dual core i5's) Might also consider if your building from scratch the ASUS M4A88T-I Deluxe AM3 board (uses sodimm memory so if you arent building from scratch that would be an added cost) & a low end AMD quad core for about the same cost. Either way if you find the onboard graphics arent enough you can add a graphics card later (but from what you described I dont think you will need to)
 

fr500

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
1,069
You best bet is an i3 530/540/550, maybe an i5 750s if you can find it and an ATI HD5570.

Since you don't really mention gaming I guess you would be safe under the 150w limit.

If you really need the performance and want to keep it small the Silverstone SG05/6 are way to go, you could house an i7 860 and an ATI 5770, maybe even a GTX460 in there with the 450w PSU upgrade
 

jparge

n00b
Joined
Jul 24, 2010
Messages
4
Thanks so far.

@bastage : I probably should have mentioned that I would want to use my 30" Dell UltraSharp at max res as I prefer to have a big viewing area. Can I still do that without an additional card?

@fr500 : The case is most important to me, this is the nicest and sleekest looking case I've ever seen, I really want it more than anything, it would fit perfectly into my environment too! Unless Silverstone make one that looks exactly the same I wouldn't touch it. :p

I love the idea of an i5 750(s?) + HD5570 though...

Do you think the following setup would work?
  • This beautiful ISK 310-150
  • Intel DH57JG
  • i5 650 (or 750s? - compatible??)
  • 2x 2GB DDR3 1333
  • ATI HD 5570
  • And finally my 320GB Seagate 2.5in SATA 5400RPM (from this computer)

I'm not a gamer, but it would be nice to be able to run DVDs from this, or even BluRay if I can get ahold of a slim BluRay drive (exists?)...

I think I'd just like to stuff this case with the best possible set of components and not have to worry about overheating or getting enough power. :p
 
Last edited:

kencheeto

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
2,851
You will be fine using an i3-530 instead of i5 750 + ati 5570 if your needs are limited to blu-ray. Intel integrated graphics even give you 8 channel LPCM pass-thru.
 

tvih

Gawd
Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
566
jparge, what you are listing is actually overkill if you just plan to watch DVD and Blu-Ray with it, and nothing more demanding. Even an Atom CPU with ION graphics can handle those tasks. So an i3 530 with the integrated graphics would also be fine, no need for the additional graphics card unless you want to play games.

A good example of an Atom-based (dual core), ready-built HTPC would be the ASRock Ion 330 packages, one being available with Blu-Ray as well. But of course a "proper" desktop CPU allows for more demanding tasks should you have a need to run them at some point.
 

jparge

n00b
Joined
Jul 24, 2010
Messages
4
@tvih : I just want the best I can get from this case, doesn't matter if it's overkill, I just wanted to know what would work. :p
- would that work?

I wouldn't go for a ready built HTPC, unless it came with the ISK 310 case.
 
Last edited:

KenF

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 15, 2007
Messages
464
You best bet is an i3 530/540/550, maybe an i5 750s if you can find it and an ATI HD5570.
What is the largest heatsink that will fit in the ISK300/310 without significant modification?

I know a number of members use the Big Shuriken with a Scythe Haze-Maru in the ISK300/310, but it looks like many (all?) of those setups use significant modifications, such as top side cutouts. I would like the largest possible heatsink to achieve the highest possible performance in a business application environment, while keeping noise to a minimum.

An i5 750 at stock speed with 1.35v memory and an ATI HD5570 consumes around 150W at load, but an i3 530 or i5 650 can be overclocked to ~3.8GHz at around 140w. Some power and performance measurements of overclocked i3 and i5 setups with the ATI 5850 and 5870 are found here and here. Note the 5570 uses about 10 watts less at idle (i.e. when not gaming) than the 5850.
 

Motaa

Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
705
Going to throw this idea out there, would be interesting if I ever got it running.

Case: Antec ISK 300
Mobo: GA-H55N-USB3
Processor: intel i3 540
Graphics: Power Cooler 5770 low profile
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws 2000mhz
Hard Drive: 80GB intel G2 SSD + TBD storage
PSU: Included
Optical: TBD
Heatsink: TBD

i3 will not bottleneck the 5770.
5770 low profile has not yet been released and could potentially become vaporware or not fit but it's the essential component.
PSU will run a 5770 but might need an upgrade (Suggestions that fit in the ISK 300?)
 

fr500

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
1,069
Don't think the PSU will last with a 5770. No matter low profile or not.

Remember that this Antec PSU is not very good and not very efficient.
 

kencheeto

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
2,851
Yeah, I wouldn't bet on a 5770 and i3 running on 150w at all. I know I was pushing my SG06's 300w psu when I had an x3440 and 5770.
 

leifeinar

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 24, 2007
Messages
345
PSU will run a 5770 but might need an upgrade (Suggestions that fit in the ISK 300?
I tested this with an undervolted E8600, I think it pulled 155W from the plug, so u need a bigger psu. The m-atx psu from silverstone might fit, but im not shure how to fit it, this allso means no optical drive.
 

Necere

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 3, 2003
Messages
2,743
The 450w Silverstone SFX PSU won't fit without significant modding and removal of the optical drive, as leifeinar mentioned, and even then it might not fit. Best bet is one of these; the stock 150 watt unit in the ISK looks to be about the same size so they should fit with minimal modding. You'd probably want to remove the 40mm fan though, since you've got the 80mm exhaust fan in the ISK now which should be significantly quieter.

Has anyone tried running an extended PCI bracket and external PSU to run a bigger GPU with this case?
The case isn't wide enough to fit a full-height card. The only way this might be possible would be to use a right-angle/flexible PCI-e riser to run the card parallel to the motherboard. The back panel over the IO cutout would needed to be cut to accommodate the PCI-e bracket. You'd only be able to fit a single-slot card though, and the card would most likely run into the space occupied by the 2.5" drives, so they would need to be relocated some place. You'd also have the problem of the CPU cooler being obstructed by the card. Not impossible, but a lot of modding to get it to fit.
 

Necere

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 3, 2003
Messages
2,743
I was thinking of using some PCI-e x16 Riser cabling like this: http://www.1topstore.com/product_info.php?language=en&currency=USD&products_id=11976
with this case to create a sort of docking station for an External GPU, much like the external GPU solution that Cyclone ran with his laptop a while back (http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1522180)
No particular reason why you couldn't do that. The only caveat is that PCI-e flexible extenders have a fairly short maximum length compared to external PCI-e cables (what he's using) and from what I've seen most of the readily available extenders top out at 15cm (like the one you linked), which might only barely be enough to reach an external enclosure. You may be able to get one custom made up to 30/38cm though (link).

Somewhat in a similar vein was this external GPU mod a guy here did not too long ago.
 

mrmylanman

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
1,484
Just wondering, would it be possible to put a 1U server PSU in this case? Or are those too long.
 

Necere

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 3, 2003
Messages
2,743
Yes, unless it's too long (or too wide). 1U only defines the maximum height (~40mm); width and length are variable. The PSU in the ISK is essentially a 1U power supply, as are virtually all the "mini-itx" PSUs listed on newegg.

Basically, you want something around 1.7" x 3.2" (~40mm x ~80mm), with a length probably under 6". I'm not sure how long the stock PSU is - maybe someone who has it can measure it. If a replacement is too long it could potentially interfere with a longer PCIe card or the front panel cables.
 

jparge

n00b
Joined
Jul 24, 2010
Messages
4
I've done some more research and I'm pretty sure I will go for the following set-up :

  • This ISK 310-150 case
  • DH57JG motherboard
  • i5 650 processor
  • 2x 2GB DDR3 1333
  • ATI HD 5570
  • 320GB Seagate 2.5in SATA 5400RPM
  • Some low power slim DVD±RW.

In terms of measurements it should all fit quite nicely, and based on the test results for the i5-650 and HD-5570, I shouldn't really exceed the 150w either. I'm not going to be gaming anyway, but it's nice to know I could, for example if my legs broke or something and I couldn't leave the house... lol :D

I'll post some pics in this thread once I get it together.

I might do a final search just to see if I can save some power, or maybe swap the HDD for a SSD. I also looked at the HD 5450.

Just out of interest, if the demand for power on the components exceeds the available power from the PSU, what would happen? Can it damage the components? Could I lose data on the HDD? Many thanks. :)
 

Dangman

Ninja Editor SuperMod
Joined
Dec 15, 2005
Messages
46,062
Question: If you're not gaming, what's with the HD 5570 card then? What do you need a dedicated video card for?

If the demand for power exceeds the PSU's capability, usually, the PSU will just automatically itself down before it can do any damage to the PC. However, there are some situations where the PSU will provide the exceeded amount of power but will do so with out of spec ATX ripple. Which means damage to the PC parts over time. There's also a few cases where the PSU will just up and die if pushed past its rated capability. Occasionally, that death will also end up killing the PC as well.
 

Necere

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 3, 2003
Messages
2,743
You might consider a Xeon L3426 to save 20-30 watts. It's basically a socket 1156 version of a mobile I7-840QM. Quad core with a TDP of 45w, compared to the i5 650 in your spec with a TDP of 73w. The base clock is a lot slower - 3200mhz vs. 1867mhz - but the turbo boost with 2/1 cores loaded is 9/10 on the Xeon vs. 1/2 for the i5... meaning you only lose ~133 mhz. Plus you have two extra cores. Downside is the Xeon is ~$130 more. Still half the price of essentially the same chip in mobile package.
 

mrmylanman

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
1,484
That looks like a winner of a CPU. 45W and a quad core? Best of both worlds, possibly... I wonder if it is any good at overclocking (for use with a Gigabyte or something along those lines). Even so that'd make a great all-around low-power computer I think. And with turbo-boost it should be fine with gaming too.

Hm....
 

cliffg

n00b
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
12
A couple of months ago I built my first ITX sys for my wife / son's computer:

ISK 310-150, ECS H55H-I mb, i3-530, 2 GB RAM (can't remember brand), Intel X25-V SSD, optical drive, stock fans / cooling (case, processor)

It's basically used as a netbook, with light gaming for my 10 yo. Nice bit of processing power, very responsive (specially with the SSD, and running Win 7), enough graphics power in the i3, light on electrical draw. It's very quiet, and only rarely does the case fan become audible (basically when running the DVD). It's more future-proof than an Atom based system, and in a few years may get handed to my son to become completely his (for whatever he wants to do - currently he's doing a bit of Lego Mindstorm robotics programming / interfacing on it, in addition to playing some games).

The ECS MB has been rock solid, and is a great value ($80 at the Egg, plus currently running a $15 rebate). If I build out an ITX for myself (considering for a hobby sys), I'll probably buy the Gigabyte, just for that small extra bit of future-proofness (USB 3.0).

Like others have said in this thread, I wouldn't put a graphics card in this case, with this power supply. I'd buy something like a SG-05 with more space and a bit more headroom in the power supply (and designed with graphics cards in mind). This was my first ITX build (I've done maybe a half dozen ATX or mATX builds in the last 10 years), and I could barely fit my fingers in certain areas, and had to be extra careful with cable placement and even with SATA cable connector ends. I'd be worried about heat, cable placement, and power supply with any kind of decent graphics card in it. If I hand it down to my son in a few years, he can add a cheap, low-height graphics card, with low power draw (if he wants).

Cliff
 

kencheeto

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
2,851
Remember guys, consider the option of buying a normal cpu and underclock it instead of paying premium for a low-power version.
 

fr500

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
1,069
I agree, even if you game with a 5570 CPU will not bottleneck a 5570 even if you clock it down to 2.5Ghz
 

leifeinar

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 24, 2007
Messages
345
Like others have said in this thread, I wouldn't put a graphics card in this case, with this power supply
I got a sapphire hd5570 in mine and it just perfect, silent and its got some power.


The ECS MB has been rock solid, and is a great value
How are the bios? is it possible to undervolt a little?

Remember guys, consider the option of buying a normal cpu and underclock it instead of paying premium for a low-power version.
not to many itx board has proper undervolting options. gigabyte has. but u can gain alot of the precious 12V by doing so.

My i7 920 with stock 1,22V is actualy stable at 0,94V. ill guess its some 50W or more tdp saved. and it runs at stock speeds.
 

cliffg

n00b
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
12
I got a sapphire hd5570 in mine and it just perfect, silent and its got some power.
I consider myself competent / basic level at building systems, but far from a dedicated or expert hobbyist. You're most likely much more adept at judging power draws, undervolting, cable placement, heat management, etc.

How are the bios? is it possible to undervolt a little?
I don't know - once I built the sys and installed everything, I haven't even looked at the BIOS (as mentioned, it's been a rock solid system). If my son becomes interested enough in a few years, he can play around with undervolting, overclocking, etc. I knew that with the i3, SSD, and no graphics card, that the 150 ps in the Antec should be well more than enough power, without any tweaks to the default BIOS settings.

Cliff
 

Izza

Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2004
Messages
753
Nope, no undervolting on the ECS. It's been a great, stable, board... if you leave things alone.

Playing with damn near any performance settings in the BIOS seems to result in failure to POST, to the point of not even being able to set my memory to run at 1600MHz.

If I could return it and get something else, I'd grab the Gigabyte. I got lured in by the price point, and should have known better.
 

mrmylanman

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
1,484
I asked about that in the last page. You have to essentially look into either a pico PSU (but I don't think there are any that are more powerful) or look into 1U server power supplies, one that isn't too long. They are going to be loud, though, so you'd probably want to look in to swapping the fan out as well.
 

Izza

Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2004
Messages
753
Are there any alternatives for larger PSUs that fit in this unit?
I'm running an Enhance 300W Flex PSU.

Stock, it had a 40mm fan that almost drove me insane from noise.

I simply soldered the stock 150's power lead to the Enhance, and put it inside the stock 150's case. Fits like a glove, and best of all, the larger fan makes things nice and quiet. (It helps too that the fan connector is the same on both power supplies. The polarity had to be switched though, so keep that in mind if you do this mod yourself.

I can take some pics of it if you'd like. After this mod, I can run my GTS250 without problems.
 
Top