Antec ISK 310-150

mryerse

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
2,110
With the silver one you don't have to flip a door down to access the slim drive. Personally I prefer black though.
 

fr500

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
1,069
Well you're right about the PSU but i don't mean to add 3.5" drives in there anyway and the drive cage is easy enough to remove.

They should have redesigned it to fit the big shuriken at the very least.

I still want a review though, the idea of a PC this small with a decent graphics card ("decent" for casual gaming and older games is good enough for my bedroom)

If a GT220 works i'd get one ASAP, maybe with a Zotac H55 and an i5 :D
 

Steeeeve

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
2,596
It can't do enough for me to warrant looking into it more. Not for the [H]ard guys in my opinion :)
 

fr500

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
1,069
not every [H] guy builds PCs for gaming, overclocking and benching, people build PCs for friends, brothers, sisters, grandparents.
 

CrimandEvil

Dick with a heart of gold
Joined
Oct 22, 2003
Messages
19,671
I'd stick w/ the less fugly 300.
Really? I have no interest, me personally, in the 300 since I think it looks pretty ugly. I'm all over the 310 though since I think it has a nice, classic, clean style.
 

Steeeeve

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
2,596
not every [H] guy builds PCs for gaming, overclocking and benching, people build PCs for friends, brothers, sisters, grandparents.
Good point but I was just saying that it isn't really for the enthusiast. I'm just trying to be cute with the wording :)
 

Steeeeve

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
2,596
Really? I have no interest, me personally, in the 300 since I think it looks pretty ugly. I'm all over the 310 though since I think it has a nice, classic, clean style.
Every case is said to be "fugly". Since I've been here I don't think there has been one case SFF case that everyone agreed was good looking... or even mostly agreed.
 

CrimandEvil

Dick with a heart of gold
Joined
Oct 22, 2003
Messages
19,671
Every case is said to be "fugly". Since I've been here I don't think there has been one case SFF case that everyone agreed was good looking... or even mostly agreed.
lol Which seems to be true of every case too. I don't know, I dig the 310. :)
 

Granthos

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
190
Personally I am going to use the 310 as a little HTPC. I think it will look wonderful next to or on top of my NSK2480 :).
 

EnderW

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 25, 2003
Messages
10,985
son of a bitch, I see this as I'm setting up my Antec Remote 350 and Gigabyte H55 board
think I'm gonna get this case and the Zotac H55 ITX
 

EnderW

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 25, 2003
Messages
10,985
what kind of optical drive do you need? regular slim drive or slot loading?
 

mryerse

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
2,110
I'd buy the zotac now if it was available, but I'm tired of waiting and ready to build so I think I might go antec remote micro atx.
 

EnderW

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 25, 2003
Messages
10,985
I'd buy the zotac now if it was available, but I'm tired of waiting and ready to build so I think I might go antec remote micro atx.
yeah it looks like the ISK doesnt have a built in IR receiver
 

CrimandEvil

Dick with a heart of gold
Joined
Oct 22, 2003
Messages
19,671
yeah it looks like the ISK doesnt have a built in IR receiver
Is that really much of a problem? Just hide the little receiver under the TV or something. Other then that, the ISK uses laptop drives so you can pick a tray loader or a slot loader. I'd go slot since it looks cleaner. :)
 
Last edited:

EnderW

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 25, 2003
Messages
10,985
Is that really much of a problem? Just hide the little receiver under the TV or something. Other then that, the ISK uses laptop drives so you can pick a slot loader or a slot loader. I'd go slot since it looks cleaner. :)
slot loader or slot loader? :confused:
 

EnderW

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 25, 2003
Messages
10,985
Tray loader. lol I have no idea how that happened! Swore I wrote tray the first time....
well it looks like the cover on the DVD slot pops off anyway, so I don't see the point of the 310 over the 300
the 300 is black so it would be a lot easier to find a matching drive
 

fr500

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
1,069
Does the case have vents on both sides? I think ISK 300-65 does not
 

grendel19

Gawd
Joined
Jun 26, 2009
Messages
579
Does the case have vents on both sides? I think ISK 300-65 does not
Yes, the 300-150 does have vents on both sides. The PSU fan is actually pretty quiet at idle temps. Not sure if it ramps up under load.

I damaged the faceplate locking mechanism while building this. If anyone has an idea how to fix it, please let me know. Can't think of a good mod for it.
 

EnderW

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 25, 2003
Messages
10,985
Yes, the 300-150 does have vents on both sides. The PSU fan is actually pretty quiet at idle temps. Not sure if it ramps up under load.

I damaged the faceplate locking mechanism while building this. If anyone has an idea how to fix it, please let me know. Can't think of a good mod for it.
can you tell what size of fan the PSU uses?
I'm guessing 80x15
 

fr500

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
1,069
they went for a psu...they should have gone at least 250w I think. Maybe it has decent amp rating on the 12v rails, can you post that info?
 

lowteckh

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
5,073
....

O what the hell, not a PICO PSU? Then the ISK300-150 would be the same as well.

And 250w for what? An i7 920 with half the case chopped up for the video card...?
 
Last edited:

simonw

n00b
Joined
Aug 7, 2009
Messages
46
they went for a psu...they should have gone at least 250w I think. Maybe it has decent amp rating on the 12v rails, can you post that info?
From the manual, it states 10A on the +12V rail, so not too bad.
 

fr500

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
1,069
why? a typical H55 system isn't going to exceed 100 watts
http://www.silentpcreview.com/article1019-page5.html
There are people installing low profile cards in there and video cards need amperage on 12v rails, many cheap PSUs have 500w, and most of the juice on 5v and 3v rails. In the long run either the PSU or the GPU dies.

10A should be enough for the current lp cards as the 5570/5450 or the G210/GT220
 

grendel19

Gawd
Joined
Jun 26, 2009
Messages
579
can you tell what size of fan the PSU uses?
I'm guessing 80x15
It is a 80mm, but I can't tell the thickness. My feeble attempt to remove and replace the PSU fan failed. There isn't an obvious way to take the PSU chassis apart. Then again I didn't try very hard.
 

Granthos

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
190
It is a 80mm, but I can't tell the thickness. My feeble attempt to remove and replace the PSU fan failed. There isn't an obvious way to take the PSU chassis apart. Then again I didn't try very hard.
I took mine apart. There is a screw that is covered by a "if removed, your warrenty is voided" sticker. ;). Once you get this out of the way you slide it around a bit and can get inside of the PSU. I can post pictures if needed/wanted. I am most likely going to replace the fan inside of the PSU.
 

simonw

n00b
Joined
Aug 7, 2009
Messages
46
I wouldn't mind a pic of the PSU label if possible, just to check what brand/model Antec are using.
 

fr500

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
1,069
Has anyone got a build like this:

- Zotac H55/Intel DH57JG
- 4GB RAM
- Intel Core i3 530
- ATI HD 5570

I'm looking into such build but dunno if it will be too much for the PSU. IGP graphics will be disabled of course so there is more headroom than expected. i3 530's TDP is 73w for the complete package and the 5570 cannot exceed 75w (it's more like 50w I have read) so it should be doable
 

Izza

Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2004
Messages
753
I'm considering the same build, but with the ECS board. I'm a bit leery of the stock PSU being able to handle the load... would like *some* headroom for light overclocking.

Aside from the PSU issue, I've still got heatsink clearance to deal with. Height isn't a problem so much as width with the socket smashed right up to the PCIE slot. :(
 

DrFreeze

Gawd
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
935
If i ever end up finding a suitable AMD mini-itx board, this case will probably house my main rig, i'm thinking low power AMD quad core, 4gb of ram, an SSD for boot, a smallish hdd (250-320 gb) for local file storage (rest goes on the server anyway)

if only i could find a good amd board, the only boards available here cost a ton, and then compromise on issues that i dont want compromised (only a single dimm slot, old am2 chipset, using sodimm memory while i have 2x2gb ddr2 for re-use)

The shitty thing is, zotac has several boards i would be willing to try, but here in europe all i can find are the intel ones, and no US reseller willing to ship to here..
 
Top