AMD Bulldozer / FX-8150 Desktop Performance Review @ [H]ardOCP

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by FrgMstr, Oct 11, 2011.

  1. fps4ever

    fps4ever [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,310
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Then why not get the cheapest Intel 9xx chip with 6 cores/12 threads and triple channel memory? I do not see the logic unless it's cost and then the lower priced 2600K has just as many threads?
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2011
  2. st4rk

    st4rk Gawd

    Messages:
    977
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    I am about to build a machine and was considering 2600 or BD. I think I will go with BD. I play multiple accounts at once in Eve Online and WoW (8 at once in Eve, 10 at once in WoW). The fact that BD has 8 physical cores is great. I never liked assigning an instance of Eve or WoW to a hyperthreaded "core" on my i7.

    I ran 8 WoWs on my p2 x6 and it handled it great. I can only surmise a BD will be even better, as such I will choose a BD over the 2600 at this point.

    Yes it is disspointing and quite embarassing that my p2 x6 will outperform my (future) BD, but those are one-off scenarios I could care less about.
     
  3. OldPueblo

    OldPueblo [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,352
    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Well cost always matters, but this is my question. All of these benchmarks are running only one program at a time, some multi-threaded and some not. That's not how I use my desktop. I wish someone would load up a whole bunch of different apps and benchmark various ones with other things running and then publish that. That's my real world scenario. The only place BD is doing really well are in scenarios that would seem to be close to what I do. Lots of threads or in my case lots of apps.

    I'd like to see some kind of equivalent of this video, since it's marketing and you can doubt its validity.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mdPi4GPEI74
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2011
  4. savantu

    savantu [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    That is impossible; repeat after me, IMPOSSIBLE.

    2x4 core Westmere vs. a single 8 core FX8150.

    8 full fledged Westmere cores vs. 8 half width FX cores.

    INT => 24 ALUs for Westmere vs. 16 for FX.
    FP => 16 FPU 128bit units vs. 8 128bit units ( same throughput as 16 if you use FMA )

    The comparison doesn't take into account the fact that the Xeons have HT, thus increasing execution unit utilization, a far better cache subsystem and last but not least 2x the memory BW.

    Something has to be wrong for FX to outperfom the dual 4 core Westmere system. It is simply a matter of resources. 8 mules will not pull 2 elephants.
     
  5. Abit667

    Abit667 Gawd

    Messages:
    962
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    It's not entirely impossible. You seem very eager to over-analyze a Newegg comment, but if you want to do that you missed a few things.

    He never said which E5600 series CPU he was using. The MAJORITY of those that I encounter out there are clocked near 2Ghz. The faster ones are just too expensive and most people don't order those as they see it as doubling the cost of the workstation or server for only a couple hundred mhz gain on each core. That poster was concerned about price, so I would doubt he's using the fastest E5600s available.

    Also the dual E5600 system is a NUMA system, the FX 8150 is not. If his application is not NUMA aware and he left it on, that's going to hurt performance a good bit. The lower end E5600s all have slower QPI links which is going to hurt it even more, and they are most likely running DDR3 800 or 1033. The 8150 system does not have to worry about any of this.

    Between clock speed and memory bandwidth and latency its entirely possible that his custom application does perform better on a single 8150. There are many more variables to consider than just adding up some specs and saying it's IMPOSSIBLE. It's a fucking newegg comment that says nothing more than "hey this thing worked better in our very specific application than our Xeon workstations!". No one is saying that a single Bulldozer is always better than dual Nehalems.
     
  6. Makaveli@BETA

    Makaveli@BETA 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,305
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Finally someone with some common sense ;)
     
  7. alienz

    alienz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    248
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Primarily I am looking for the chip that could do the fastest code compiles from visual studio.

    Would it be better to go with a BD and 8 cores or a higher clocked 2500k?

    Haven't had much experience comparing CPUs based on compile times but figured it could be important for programmers.
     
  8. SLee

    SLee Gawd

    Messages:
    955
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    For compiling, it may be worth it to go up to the i7 2600K:

    http://images.anandtech.com/graphs/graph4955/41699.png
    http://www.hardware.fr/articles/842-15/compilation-visual-studio-mingw-gcc.html
     
  9. alienz

    alienz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    248
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    @Slee

    Thanks, looks like I might have to splurge for an i7. Just hope the RAM I recently picked up will behave with it.
     
  10. Emission

    Emission [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,176
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Wow. Words cannot describe how disappointed I am to be seeing this.

    Some 600W for that barely 5 GHz overclock. Well, if I want a new room heater at least I know where to look. Then again, I'd probably get like 2 to 4x the performance going with SB clocked at like 8 GHz and it would still probably use less energy.

    Thankfully AMD has it's video card division to count on for the income, because it's pretty clear that BD won't bring in much.
     
  11. caseychaos

    caseychaos Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    139
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    im not sure but dont hold this on me if im wrong, but i believe that the BD is not multi-threaded, and i know the IPC is low but for an architecture that is brand new, i dont think they did too bad, i really wished they had done more work on it and release it a little later on this year, but hey IPC doesnt hinder gaming much, but i do hope in the future to see BD and its up coming bothers/sisters do way better in the bench marks,
    BUT- one thing is certain, YOU DONT HAVE TO BUY A NEW MOBO IF YOU HAVE ONE THAT SUPPORTS BD! unlink intel... AMD actually have a processor that can be used on mother boards that were out BEFORE it was out. and i just saw intel launched a 6 core sandy bridge processor that is $599 AND you have to buy a NEW MOBO FOR IT... another what 300-4000 or more?! fuck that noise. id in the ned have a processor that is 300 and some change that is in a way "backwards compatable" with mother boards. than but 900$ worth of new shit. and for what 2 more cores than the first sandy bridge? thanks intel but ill pass on that. im sure intel fanboys are drooling over it and making love to thier new CPU and MOBO right now.. RIGHT IN THE DISC TRAY! lol. jk intel guys, but im not for either company , im just about rational buying choices and whats good on my wallet.
     
  12. FireBean

    FireBean Gawd

    Messages:
    994
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
  13. os2wiz

    os2wiz Gawd

    Messages:
    536
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    I simply can't believe all the hype and bs from these pimple faced nerds here who look at a computer as a hot-rod. I'll take machine that can do more work practically such as Photoshop, Mathematica,, run a compiler and such simultaneously in less time. That is always the REAL test in the business world not necessarily the world of finance capital , but the world in which practical people live and work.None of these jokers care a damn but about a benchmark that is artificial and their stupid violence-ridden, patriotic , fascist shoot-em-up games. Mindless drones in my book.
     
  14. dkev

    dkev Gawd

    Messages:
    1,013
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2000
    First, I'm not pimply faced. Second, you clearly missed the point of this site.
    There's the door –——>
     
  15. InternationalHat

    InternationalHat [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,481
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Practical everyday people live and work solely in mathematica and photoshop apparently? Also in the context you provided, "finance capital" is a meaningless mishmash of two words that you thought sounded good together.

    I'd bet most business use revolves around Office, CRM, POS, proprietary business software, and HR software. Additionally, almost everything is a web app. Outside of business reporting, I imagine excel is the heaviest piece of software most business users would regard as slowing them down. Most Excel benchmarks have shown the 8150 being pretty subpar even compared to the i2500. More importantly, your business users are generally moneymakers. IT guys complaining about compile times are an expense. Also if you have a heavy solution and aren't using a build server, errr why?

    Anyway, go back to raging about something for no reason and misrepresenting the "business world."
     
  16. OldPueblo

    OldPueblo [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,352
    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    I really would like to see benchmarks done in parallel. Please don't make me buy this to test it!
     
  17. pelo

    pelo 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,911
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
  18. mzs_biteme

    mzs_biteme [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,595
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2001
    These paragraphs pretty much sum up what AMD should have done....:

    and...

    /thread and Bulldozer debacle... Piledriver can't come soon enough...
     
  19. snefan

    snefan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    303
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    why has the review been removed?!
     
  20. defaultluser

    defaultluser [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,452
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    You're right, the link is not valid and the list of suggestions only has the Gameplay Performance review.
     
  21. psy81

    psy81 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    509
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    AMD yeah they will never be Intel but their CPU is still good value...I have no problems playing games even on my Phenom II 965 and I heard Bulldozer actually performs much faster in Windows 8. Microsoft is still working on a patch for the bulldozer processor which should allow it to address SMT (simultaneously multithreading) support and better harness the power of 8-core processing with AMD's Bulldozer architecture, which is optimized for Windows 8. They recently pulled the windows 7 hotfix since it turned out that two patches are needed.

    http://www.maximumpc.com/article/new...ulldozer_patch


    AM3+ socket will also support Vishera processor with piledriver processors so AM3+ will still have some life left in it.

    http://www.fudzilla.com/processors/i...nch-in-q3-2012
     
  22. lorraine02

    lorraine02 n00b

    Messages:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    mark first , and read it later ! :eek:
     
  23. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    48,389
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997

    Should be back up today minus the text from pages one and two. We had a database failure and lost the content. Only lost the introductory pages, so nothing of any real analytical value is missing.
     
  24. Mosher

    Mosher Gawd

    Messages:
    780
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Is it ok to bring food in there? I think were gonna load up and bring our own lunch if it's allowed. More time basking in awesome that way...

    AHH ok, I found where it was said there would be food availible there, that fixes that.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2012
  25. 014

    014 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    193
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Here's a take on the newest Windows 7 patches.
     
  26. Szigeti

    Szigeti n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Hi,

    Could someone tell me, what is the best seting for overclock AMD FX 8150?

    Thank you in advance.
     
  27. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,792
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    First, you are best to start a new thread on this subject. Second, we will need to know what your complete computer config is in order to be able to help.
     
  28. Szigeti

    Szigeti n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Hi,

    Thank you for your answer.

    Here is the config of my machine:
    Asus M5A99x EVO,
    AMD FX 8150,
    Club 3D GeForce GTX 550 1.5GB DDR3
    Cooler Master Silent Pro 850W,
    Crucial Ballistix 2x4GB DDR3 PC15000 Elite,
    Western Dig Caviar 1TB SATA 3.0 64MB
     
  29. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,792
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Nice setup. Are you still using the stock cpu cooler?
     
  30. Szigeti

    Szigeti n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    For now, I just installed Win 7 64bit, that's all.
    I have not yet changed anything, or services.
     
  31. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,792
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Until you get better cooling, I would not overclock at all. Once you are ready, ask around to those who have an 8120 or 50 to see what they use. Hope you are enjoying it.
     
  32. Szigeti

    Szigeti n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Good idea! Thank you for the advice !;)
     
  33. lieutenantduran

    lieutenantduran n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    I just wanted to thank the AMD team, (sarcasm) as now we all get to enjoy a stagnant market, and all of the joys lack of competition provides!, here's hoping kepler blows away the HD7XXX series!
     
  34. Tsumi

    Tsumi [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,020
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    We sincerely thank you for your useless hate post.
     
  35. Mr Spocko

    Mr Spocko Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    339
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Roll on piledriver let's hope they can improve performance and power consumption a decent bit. Might be worth buying!

    Until then I'll roll on with my quad core BD ready set up.
     
  36. Mix

    Mix Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    242
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2000
    I just purchased the FX 8 core, but my next processor sadly, for the first time in 10+ years will be an Intel.
     
  37. biggston

    biggston Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    252
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Its a good thing that you have purchased an AMD processor.
    Cause it might be their last ones in high end cpus. :D
    Maybe in 2013 they won't be doing high end cpus.
     
  38. biggston

    biggston Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    252
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    So based on Trinity 29% compute performance improvement,does that mean that we will have a 990x cpu performance in the high end segment with vishera? :D
     
  39. adobian

    adobian Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    268
    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    I plan to use VMWARE on windows and Zen on Linux, is the BullDozer the way to go guys? Or should I jump ship and go with an I7?
     
  40. ebduncan

    ebduncan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,006
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Well depends. The I7 say 2500k or 2600 can really only effectively run 4 VM's You can run 8 on the 2600k but the other 4 are slow as piss.

    So if you run more than 4 Vm's, The bulldozer makes a good fit.