After i shut down.

DavidD

n00b
I am new to both forums and water cooling so please bear with me. I just filled my system for the first time and i noticed some things I had not thought about like the fact that the pump did not act as a barrier to back flow when the power was off. Then as I was filling I over filled the reservoir and found out the lid was not screwed on all the way and leaked. My pump and reservoir are at the bottom of my loop, so my concern is that gravity will have its way and fill my reservoir when I power down and since the lid is leaking I will over flow all over the bottom of my case? Since this is my leak test of my loop I used just distilled water and planned to drain it so at that time I will tighten the lid but I will have to power down before I do that and hence my concern. The pump/reservoir are a Neachanger 200ml, I have a 120 pass through rad for the MB mono block and a 240 rad for the gpu block with the orientation of this rad having the in and out port at the top.

Welcome to the Hardforums.

My first tip will be that you generally have an easier time getting help if you format your posts so that they are easy to read. Try breaking things into paragraphs. Images help too!

So, to your question, your reservoir really shouldn't leak. Is there no way to close it securely? In a well built system without any leaks, once you fill it completely, usually you don't have any gravity issues, as you'll have the fluid in the up tube and the down tube acting as a counterweight to itself and Generally stays up there.

Open a vent valve or have a small leak though, and it may come crashing down.

I'd be nervous about having a reservoir that doesn't seal shut though...

Yes, when the loop is fully air, and water tight, you should have fewer/no issues with backflow.