6gb DDR2 vs. 4gb DDR3

Jerec

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
109
Seems like you should just get the newest simply because the old standard will eventually become hard to find, making upgrades difficult or expensive.
 

EvilPokemon

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 1, 2009
Messages
84
Are you on 32 bit or 64 bit OS?
If you're using a 32bit OS anything over 4gb will be ignored.

Either way, I'd go with 4gbs of DDR3. Really, nothing common should be consuming more than 4gbs of RAM just yet.
 

jeremyshaw

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
12,512
Are you on an AMD system?

Because, iirc, the ddr3 controller of AM3 AMD CPU are still just dual channel. Feel free to correct (and bash) me if I am wrong.
 

kbaer89

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
78
I already have 6 gigs of DDR2.

I was just wondering how good DDR3 is compared to 2.
 

Dangman

Ninja Editor SuperMod
Joined
Dec 15, 2005
Messages
46,062
I already have 6 gigs of DDR2.

I was just wondering how good DDR3 is compared to 2.

By themselves, no real world performance difference whatsoever.

However if you look at the bigger picture, DDR3 RAM basically means you can use Core i5 and Core i7 CPUs. Now those CPUs will provide a performance increase depending on what exactly you're doing with the PC. Old C2D/C2Q CPUs do not benefit from DDR3 RAM at all.
 

Jerec

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
109
There usually isn't so much of a difference between one generation of RAM and the one before it. It's just the evolution of the technology in the bigger picture. RAM speeds have gone up and power usage has gone down.
 
Top