2048mb of pure TCCD goodness

Viper87227

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 2, 2004
Messages
17,783
and?

edit: crappers, I just noticed you dont have an A64 :D. Does intel have the same 4xx512MB = PC2700 deal taht A64's do?
 

Absentee

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
9,414
Viper87227 said:
and?

edit: crappers, I just noticed you dont have an A64 :D. Does intel have the same 4xx512MB = PC2700 deal taht A64's do?
no....
 

OldMX

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 17, 2002
Messages
3,532
Congratulations, i just upgraded from 512MB to 1024MB and it gave my programs/games a nice boost, cant imagine the boost of another 1024MB :D

OldMX
 

PClark99

2[H]4U
Joined
May 3, 2000
Messages
2,830
won't do much for games. Some RAM heavy apps it will help.

games not much and there are alot of boards out there that have problems driving 4x512 sticks of RAM.
 

Viper87227

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 2, 2004
Messages
17,783
Shapeshifter said:
any company selling 1gb sticks that are TCCD?

I dont think there is, I have seen it. To my knowledge TCCD only has 256 and 512 flavors.
 

lt_wentoncha

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2005
Messages
285
PClark99 said:
won't do much for games. Some RAM heavy apps it will help.

games not much and there are alot of boards out there that have problems driving 4x512 sticks of RAM.
Thanks! You answered my question. So far all I do is HL2 and Far Cry; I was wondering if another gig would eke out some extra performance, so I guess it won't. However, if I was going to run SolidWorks (some heavy duty engineering app), would I need 2 gigs of RAM?

Thanks.
 

SparksNelec

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
225
Solidworks by itself doesn't need 2GB, but depending on what you're working on in the program, it could get that high. Just open up the biggest project you have and check on your memory usage in Task Manager. If you're physical RAM is nearly used up, then yea, upgrading your RAM would make sense.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
836
1). Not same problem as a64 (maybe). a64 has onboard memory controller, which downgrades 4 doubled sided pc3200 sticks to pc 2700 (also, single sided chips are v. rare so don't bother). HOWEVER intel has an offboard on the motherboard memory controller, so it depends on the mobo (however all new ones will be fine)

2). TCCD has now stopped production, and they only do 256mb / 512mb. However 2048 mb of value 3338 or 3448 ram is like 2fps in games.

3). You don't need 2gig ram for solid works. it may improve speed a bit, but not much.
hope this helped
f
 
Top