Ya'll see this?

Discussion in 'Mining & Cryptocurrency' started by atp1916, Jun 2, 2018.

  1. atp1916

    atp1916 [H]ard|DCoTM x1

    Messages:
    3,624
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
  2. Airbrushkid

    Airbrushkid 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,164
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
  3. sgrinavi

    sgrinavi [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,254
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
  4. pclausen

    pclausen Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    444
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Why do they still bother putting audio on what is clearly a mining mobo?

    I might pick one up to check it out. I recently got some Gigabyte B250-FINTECH boards, and I have not been impressed with those. They don't like my PICO inverters (lets me use server PSUs), so I'm stuck using ATX PSUs with them, which was not my plan.

    I'm pretty sure you can use just a single PSU with these. The reason there are 3 PSU power connectors is to allow turning them all one and off at the same time, in case you need that many to power your GPUs.
     
  5. atp1916

    atp1916 [H]ard|DCoTM x1

    Messages:
    3,624
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    They put audio on it, but leave out the m.2 connector!
     
  6. sgrinavi

    sgrinavi [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,254
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    I figured, I've seen two, just not three - is that unique?
     
  7. atp1916

    atp1916 [H]ard|DCoTM x1

    Messages:
    3,624
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    I've never seen more than 2, at most - 3 definitely unique.

    Really, since the major AIBs started making these types of boards, having even 2 ATX connectors was out of the ordinary.
     
  8. oblox

    oblox Gawd

    Messages:
    843
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    The Asus Mining Expert has three.
     
  9. atp1916

    atp1916 [H]ard|DCoTM x1

    Messages:
    3,624
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Outside of the Asus stuff oblox :p
     
  10. thebufenator

    thebufenator Gawd

    Messages:
    998
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    I don't understand why these have any ATX power at all.

    Just have the DC power converters on board and take 12v only from the server PSU's.

    Easy peasy
     
  11. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,715
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Because they're optional, and because the cheapo $50 HP refurb server PSU's are still hacky despite their wide use. There's no point in ASUS limiting this board's market by removing them.

    A lot of big operations actually swear by ATX PSU's - especially direct from manufacturer - because even though the upfront cost is higher than the cheapo HP refurbs, at scale the numbers can actually crunch out better when factoring the entirety of TCO (warranty replacement, failure rates, resale, downtime costs).
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2018
  12. oblox

    oblox Gawd

    Messages:
    843
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    I'd love to see pictures of a large farm using consumer ATX psus compared to server psus rated for a commercial environment. Not to say they don't exist, I just haven't seen them personally. I'll take running 2000w+ server psus over consumer atx any day of the week (and twice on sunday).
     
    thebufenator likes this.
  13. pclausen

    pclausen Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    444
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Having a 12V 6-pin Molex power connector would be sweet. They could have that in addition to the standard 24 pin ATX. Would probably not add more to the cost than those 2 extra ATX connectors.

    I too use server PSUs anywhere I can. I was very disappointed that the Gigabyte B250 Fintech mining mobos I picked up are not compatible with any of the PICOs I have tried on them.
     
  14. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,499
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Hey - maybe you can plug these in directly?

    :)


    usb-bitcoin-mining-rig.jpg
     
  15. pclausen

    pclausen Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    444
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    LOL.

    So 36 of those will hash more or less than a 1050Ti?