Xfire and V-Sync Issue

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by suiken_2mieu, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. suiken_2mieu

    suiken_2mieu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,839
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Okay, I plopped in my second 7970 a couple days ago and immediately ran into an issue with v-sync when I loaded up BF3.

    On a single-GPU, I have no issue with v-sync. I get FPS from 0 to 60. Though with Xfire, I immediately get 30 / 31 FPS locked with V-sync. If I turn off v-sync I get 65 FPS (I have that as my frame limit). It's very smooth at without v-sync, but when there's flashing or the frame rate fluctuates, I get tearing. Massive tearing.

    The weird part is that I average 60+ FPS at almost all times. So I wouldn't think the v-sync FPS halving would effect me. Ideas?
     
  2. aznever

    aznever Gawd

    Messages:
    565
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    raise your frame limit to 120 and then set vsync. you should get 60 after that.
     
  3. suiken_2mieu

    suiken_2mieu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,839
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Nope, it still goes down to 30/31FPS. It does this whether there is a cap in place or not. It's really weird to me. I want to avoid using D3DOverrider as it cause instability in my system.
     
  4. suiken_2mieu

    suiken_2mieu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,839
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
  5. LuminaryJanitor

    LuminaryJanitor 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,341
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Weird. You sure it's running on both GPUs? Don't know about Crossfire, but FPS halving doesn't seem to happen in SLI.

    I know you don't want triple buffering as a permanent solution, but what's your framerate with it enabled? Over or under 60?
     
  6. Rizen

    Rizen [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,056
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
  7. staticlag

    staticlag [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,700
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Are you running with one crossfire bridge connected or both?

    I had issues similar to this and purple banding when I ran both bridges connected.
     
  8. 257Tony

    257Tony Gawd

    Messages:
    722
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Some games just seem to do that. I'm playing dead space 3 right on my 7970 xfire setup,and get 150+ fps (5760x1080) with vsync off , and 30 with it on. Afterburner frame limiter with vsync off fixes that one, some games require d3d overrider or Radeon pro with triple buffering forced to get it right.
     
  9. next-Jin

    next-Jin [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,357
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Wouldn't this be a triple buffering thing?
     
  10. LuminaryJanitor

    LuminaryJanitor 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,341
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Vsync in all 3 Dead Space games caps your fps at 30 (probably a "feature" inherited from the console verisons...). Disable it in-game, force it from the control panel. BF3 doesn't have this problem.

    Only if the framerate's under 60 without vsync, which it apparently isn't.
     
  11. suiken_2mieu

    suiken_2mieu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,839
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    With triple buffering I still have a 30 FPS cap. Which is weird. That's with over 60 fps and under 60 fps.

    I haven't, will try this.

    Just one. A while ago, I heard something about the crossfire bridges not being designed for large eyefinity resoltuions. Like there was a bandwidth cap. But that was during the 5000 series, dunno if that is / was an issue.

    I had that issue with dead space as well, but I never heard of anything like this with BF3.

    No. Triple Buffering would actually dis-allow the fps halving issue.