XBOX 360 to computer monitor

xTABx7

Gawd
I have a dell 2005 and was just wondering what the best way everyone thinks hooking the 360 up to it would be? can i do 1080 in this combo? i'm a total newb to the HD area.

on a side note, i'm getting my 360 for free by going on a certain MTV show in downtown manhatten on the 21st because a family member is a producer. they will probably take 40 or so kids off the street, but i can imagine you would have to get there early.

also I havent seen anyone post anything about this site yet.... www.hex168.com basically you photochop and are entered to win. my family member says the grand prize is alot bigger than that site claims. I'm not promoting this site or anything, just have heard a ton about it and its on a bunch of other forums.

The X360 (apparently) will have a VGA adapter - so you can plug it into the VGA port of the 2005, however.... consoles almost always look like shit plugged into a computer monitor, so don't get your hopes up too high.

steviep said:
The X360 (apparently) will have a VGA adapter - so you can plug it into the VGA port of the 2005, however.... consoles almost always look like shit plugged into a computer monitor, so don't get your hopes up too high.

Thats because most console games are 640x480...

360 supports 1920x1080 and 1280x720, so we'll have to see.

hmm, i look foward to trying it out. i dread the price of the new 360 games though

Even with higher resolutions, and the excellent Genesis decoder inside the monitor, I don't see consoles providing a better picture than they do hooked up to a TV.

well the reason I ask is I have a 51 inch rear projection tv, but its from before the HD days. So i was curious as to what my better option would be. I cant imagine you would be able to see many improvments from xbox to xbox360 if you dont increase the resolution.. but correct me if i'm wrong.