Windows 10 Pro Insider Preview 17074 Audio Settings

Discussion in 'Computer Audio' started by cageymaru, Jan 13, 2018.

  1. cageymaru

    cageymaru [H]ard|News

    Messages:
    17,326
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    I got the Windows 10 Pro Insider Preview 17074 update today and thought I'd share a few screenshots of the new audio settings screens since eventually these changes usually make it to release. Using the Realtek onboard audio with the 5.1 option enabled and the Creative Blaster X-Fi MB5 software running on my GA-AX370-Gaming K7 . I have the front speakers set to small, center / rear speakers disabled and the sub output boosted. Everything seems to work well. I didn't have to reinstall my software when I upgraded. The first link above details all the changes that happened with the update. The old sound control panel and properties windows are still there; you just have to look in the new menus to find them.

    Enjoy! :)

    2018-01-13 (2).png 2018-01-13.png 2018-01-13 (1).png
     
    pendragon1, IdiotInCharge and criccio like this.
  2. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,479
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    cool. that just installed yesterday for me, hadn't noticed it yet.
    Ps your first pic doesn't seem to work.
     
    cageymaru likes this.
  3. cageymaru

    cageymaru [H]ard|News

    Messages:
    17,326
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    There ya go! Unfortunately I want to play Black Desert Online and it won't launch on this version of Windows. So back to the live version for me. :)

    2018-01-13 (2).png
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  4. djoye

    djoye 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,572
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Nice to see they're getting more detailed with audio options. I hope they'll fix the quick speaker setup selection option (right-click on the sound icon in systray), I run 7.1 at 96kHz/24-bit, sometimes I switch to 5.1 since some 5.1 audio sources incorrectly route surround to the rear speakers; when switching to 5.1, it forgets my quality settings and defaults to 48kHz/16-bit. I guess I need to figure out how to report that to MS.

    Edit: I looked into the Feedback Hub and tried searching first, ugh, that place is a mess. Regardless, I submitted the issue to them and used the steps recorder to show the issue. Considering how cluttered the feedback hub is, I'll be surprised if I see results, heh.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2018
    cageymaru likes this.