Win 10 ISO Install from USB

DWD1961

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
304
I was trying to install Win 10 Pro tonight from USB, and when I got to the initial Windows screen, my USB keyboard was dead. I couldn't even navigate to "Next." I had to use a PS2 mouse to navigate. Once that initial screen was done, the USB keyboard came to life. Why is that? I thought we could use USB to install for the last 10 years? I was in teh BIOS previously, and the USB keyboard worked fine.

It's been a long time since I did a Desktop install.
 

auntjemima

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
5,636
I was trying to install Win 10 Pro tonight from USB, and when I got to the initial Windows screen, my USB keyboard was dead. I couldn't even navigate to "Next." I had to use a PS2 mouse to navigate. Once that initial screen was done, the USB keyboard came to life. Why is that? I thought we could use USB to install for the last 10 years? I was in teh BIOS previously, and the USB keyboard worked fine.

It's been a long time since I did a Desktop install.
I get this issue if I try and use USB3 ports before the first restart.
 

DWD1961

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
304
I get this issue if I try and use USB3 ports before the first restart.
The X58 REV 2 didn't have USB 3.0, but I get your point. Good thing I kept my PS2 mouse or I would have been screwed. I've had that mouse bail me out more than once. I remember asking a PC mentor friend way back after USB took over (who was a brilliant PC technician, going back to 1982, when he hacked his way into his Burger King account over a modem to change something in the store remotely, and afterwards, corporate called to tell him he was dismissed, lol - he was the manager) why he still had a PS2 mouse? He walked over, opened a drawer that had about 5 of them, and gave me one. He said, "You're gonna need this for a long time as you do computer work, trust me. Just drop it in the bottom of your tool box, and forget it for now." He was right, and I still have it, rubber ball in the bottom and everything, except a mouse wheel, which wasn't invented yet. I use to have a PS2 keyboard for the same reason, but it has been lost now.
 

dbwillis

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
7,736
Is that the Gigabyte board? maybe the NEC driver isnt in the installer?
 

DWD1961

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
304
Is that the Gigabyte board? maybe the NEC driver isnt in the installer?
I don't know, but any board with USB 2.0protsshould work, unless the Windows ISO I downloaded from MS didn't load the drivers? I wouldn't doubt it coming from Microbrains. If I could run what I wanted on Linux, I'd never load Wiindows again. I have zero Windows software on my Windows machine, except the stuff they prohibit you from uninstalling. I use to uninstall that crap too by deleting the GD files and removing the registry entries, but I gave uop since Microbrains automatically loads it back on every Fing "auto install" update they do.

At some point I'm going to load the new Linux gaming release that is suppose to run 99% of all PC/Windows based games. I haven't use MS Office for over a decade, or any other software they have,except Windows. Up until Windows 8 Playskool release, I was somewhat ok with Windows, and had run all Windows releases including DOS, Windows 2.0, 3.0, 3.1 for Workgroups, 95, 98, 2000, ME, Vista, XP, and 7 Pro. But when I saw Windows 8, I knew I was done. Now they have Windows 10 Clutter-box, half Windows 8, Half Win 7, and an ALL NEW KIND OF WINDOWS FUCKED INTERFACE that ONLY Microbrains could have created, that. pisses off the App / Phone crowd, no brain users types as much as it does professionals. The only thing Windows 10 got right was stability. Linux has had that for 25 years. So has Apple.
 

Tremololo

n00b
Joined
Jan 14, 2020
Messages
6
It all depends on the version of the motherboard and BIOS. There are still some, not the most popular motherboard motherboards and other accessories that do not support USB, but these are really units, I came across this when I needed to flash a new Ryzen on an old motherboard.
 

Serenkol

n00b
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
6
On older boards, there really are similar problems, but I have not encountered this for several years.
 
Top