Will my dated gpu run these monitors?

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by safehaven, Jul 7, 2019.

  1. safehaven

    safehaven Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    204
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    My video card is very dated. First release date is 2012.

    Sapphire HD7850

    I bought of pair of these:

    LG 32" UHD 4K

    First, will my card even drive the resolution, 3840x2160?
    Second, will my card drive the resolution X2?
    Last, there is no DVI input on the monitors, can I run 1 HDMI and 1 DP at the same time?
     
  2. Mylex

    Mylex Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    142
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    It'll run both of those as long as you are just doing productivity stuff, it will get sketchy if you have the gpu doing extra tasks.
     
  3. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,212
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    I can't find any specs as to what standard it's using for HDMI and DP online. However, it should at a minimum be able to support 4k @ 30hz w/ full RGB off of all the ports.

    So if you're just using it for productivity it will be fine.
     
  4. safehaven

    safehaven Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    204
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    I haven't played a game in a few years, but if I did want to play a game, can it still be done somehow? Play at a lower resolution in game?

    What about Photoshop? Still using CS5, not sure if it tries to use the gpu or not.
     
  5. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,212
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    If you like gaming at 30hz it'll be fine. You'll have to go down to 2560 × 1440 to get 60hz.

    Ultimately though, a 2012 GPU is not going to be able to run any game made since 2012 with modern 3D graphics features at an acceptable frame rate @ 4k resolution.

    You'll be fine if all you do is do office stuff and play older games / less demanding indie title type of games.

    If it were me, i'd at least upgrade to a cheap low-end GPU that has displayport 1.3+ ports on it so you can at least drive those 4K panels at 60hz. Either a RX 560 or a GTX 1050 will do this, and you'll also get a bit more performance as well while using less power. We're talking $100 GPU's here, even cheaper if used. The 1650 also just came out that
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2019
  6. safehaven

    safehaven Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    204
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Local BB has these two options instock:

    XFX Radeon RX560

    and

    XFX Radeon RX580

    I have $15 credit at BB so the 560 would be $115. OR, I can get BB to price match Amazon and I could pick up the 580 for $175.

    I'm assuming that the 580 is worth the extra $60???
     
  7. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,212
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Keep in mind that unless you are sitting with at least a 1080ti / 2080 or ideally really at least a 2080ti 4K gaming is pretty much not doable.

    So investing more in a GPU might not make sense if you are fine just lowering settings to render at 1080p anyways.

    If a 560 or 1050 will get you the frame rates you want while running games at 1080p i'm not sure why you'd spend more on a GPU.

    At the end of the day you aren't running 4k native resolution in any marginally modern 3D title unless you are willing to spend $600+ on a GPU.

    RX 560 for $99 new on Amazon - https://www.amazon.com/Sapphire-Rad...ywords=rx+560&qid=1562535670&s=gateway&sr=8-1
     
  8. safehaven

    safehaven Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    204
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    So, just go for the 560 and save the $60?
     
  9. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,212
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    That's up for you to decide. I'd look at some benchmarks of games running at 1080p and see what frame rate / settings is going to be fine for you.

    The key point of the GPU upgrade is so you can at least run two 4K displays @ 60hz without any interface limitations.
     
  10. safehaven

    safehaven Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    204
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Agreed on the reason for changing out the gpu. I appreciate all of the help and feedback as I do not have the time to relearn and get caught up on the lastest gpus and games.

    I've been out of gaming for some time now, but would definitely like to have the option in the future. 1080P is perfectly fine with me. WIll the 560 handle 1080P at say 60FPS, or do I need to go bigger?
     
  11. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,212
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    If you got a RX580 you'd be over 60FPS in most games at 1080p I would think.
     
  12. crazycrave

    crazycrave Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    377
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    I use the Club 3d display port to HDMI 2.0 = 4K 60Hz on my R9 280 (HD 7950 ) and 290x , Free Sync support started with 290/290x

    https://www.amazon.com/CAC-1170-Dis...ocphy=1020990&hvtargid=pla-441921093756&psc=1

    As for the RX 580 it would be the better option as I play World of Tanks in 4K High settings with the 8Gb RX 570 as I get around 49 to 70 fps depending on the map , so you can game in 4K if you dail it back but not like a 2080Ti = lol at the price you pay for Ultra 4K gaming .
     
  13. Joust

    Joust 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,745
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Check out the 'Deals' section. You can probably find a very favorable price on that tier of hardware there from time-to-time. Or the FS/FT if you're into secondary market stuff.
     
  14. RazorWind

    RazorWind 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,254
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    You may be able to drive one or both at 30Hz, but I doubt you'll be able to drive them at 60Hz.

    I couldn't get my 290X to drive a 4K display at 60Hz via HDMI - I'd imagine a 7850 is in a similar boat, since it's only like half a generation back.

    My solution was to just find a deal on an RX590.
     
  15. defaultluser

    defaultluser [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,367
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006

    Not exactly It only has a single Displayport 1.2 output. The HDMI output will only work above 30hz if you don't mind running at 4:2:2 chroma.
     
  16. Mylex

    Mylex Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    142
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    He would be able to display anything at 30 or 24Hz on the HDMI port at 4k and the 2nd monitor will do 4k 60. He most likely won't know he's using it at 30Hz unless he plays a movie recorded at higher then 30fps. Considering his question as stated yes it will drive that resolution x2.
     
  17. RazorWind

    RazorWind 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,254
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    I can't speak for anyone else, but I can see the difference between 30 and 60Hz in a desktop setting. It's not exactly unusable, but it's noticeably choppier than 60Hz.
     
    defaultluser likes this.
  18. defaultluser

    defaultluser [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,367
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006


    Right, and I don't know if AMD video cards support 4:2:2 chroma to allow HDMI 1.4 to d 60fps, like Kepler? I know Intel's GPUs don't allow it.

    This is the trick I used to power my 4k TV off my 750 Ti, even after the DP port died.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2019
  19. rhansen5_99

    rhansen5_99 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,990
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    From experience 4k at 30 for productivity is very jumpy to me. You could try it and see if you notice, or even one at 60hz and the other at 30. You might be able to live with it.... if not your best bet is to get something with HDMI 2 or Displayport, you could grab one of these for $120AR https://slickdeals.net/f/13189606-asus-arez-expedition-radeon-rx-570-8gb-gddr5x-video-card-3mo-xbox-game-pass-for-pc-120ar-newegg?attrsrc=Test:HideExpiredSearch:Control&src=SiteSearchV2_SearchBarV2Algo1. Another option since you card has one display port is to get something extremely cheap with a dp to act as a second card.

    Thinking about this more, why not a single larger screen say a quality 49" 4:4:4 panel? I am not a fan of a bezel, and then you could use your existing card with a dp to hdmi 2 active adapter and save some $$$$
     
  20. defaultluser

    defaultluser [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,367
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    You don't need a video card that expensive, or that power hungry. That's what they made hte RX 550 for:

    https://www.newegg.com/asrock-radeon-rx-550-rx550-2g/p/N82E16814930001

    Has 1 DP 1.4 plus one HDMI 2.