WHS Build

notsane

Gawd
Hi All,

I am looking to do a windows home server build. I am a pro photographer and would like to have a central place for my pc to be backed up in addition to backing up my external drives with photos. Currently I just use 1 drive per 6 months or so of photos and clone them to another drive for backup. Each year I start a new drive. I feel like a central storage place with an online backup like carbonite would be the ticket. The core of this system needs to be a 4+ drive RAID 5,6 or 10 array with 2-3TB/Drive.

Thanks in advance for your help!

1) What will you be doing with this PC? Gaming? Photoshop? Web browsing? Etc

Windows Home Server, PC backups, External Drive backups, Cloud backups on onboard array. Possibly streaming to my x-box via homegroup. I have 3 other PCs

2) What's your budget? Are tax and shipping included?

Not sure budget, under $1,000 less would be good

3) Which country do you live in? If the U.S, please tell us the state and city if possible.

Seattle, WA USA

4) What exact parts do you need for that budget? CPU, RAM, case, etc. The word "Everything" is not a valid answer. Please list out all the parts you'll need.

CPU, MOBO, RAM, Case, PS, CD, Raid Controller (raid 5?), Boot Drive, Disks for array (4x2-3TB?)

5) If reusing any parts, what parts will you be reusing? Please be especially specific about the power supply. List make and model.

No - Could possibly re-use an old WD 640 as a boot drive.

6) Will you be overclocking?
No

7) What is the max resolution of your monitor? What size is it?

1920x1080 for my TV, but I don’t really have a monitor except my 30” (2560x1600). I will probably just set this up in the garage and let it run w/o monitor.

8) When do you plan on building/buying the PC?

In the next week

9) What features do you need in a motherboard? RAID? Firewire? Crossfire or SLI support? USB 3.0? SATA 6Gb/s? eSATA? Onboard video (as a backup or main GPU)? UEFI? etc.