WHS Bare Metal Restore Issue

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by Trepidati0n, Dec 19, 2011.

  1. Trepidati0n

    Trepidati0n [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,826
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    One of my wifes favorite sites last night managed to get "infected" and thus when a pop up for a update to java came up, she hit accept. Well, her lappy is now a shiny happiness of Windows 7 antivirus 2012 :( I could go through the process of trying to remove it, but I thought that a simple restore would be better (simpler).

    However, I tried to use the restore CD and it failed in two differnt ways:
    • In the first case I did it with her laptop. It finds the driver (the ones in the current restore CD ISO) but when it comes to finding the server it can't (yes, I did reboot the server just in case). I secondarily went right to the realtek site and got the XP drivers (to try and force 32bit compatability) and put them on a USB stick, but it won't find the drivers on stick.
    • In the second case I even tried using my main rig as a host (I would pull her HDD and restore to a USB enclosure). I ran into the same issues, it can't find the server.

    What bugs me is that the last two times (older HW) I did not have this issue. Anybody know of some way to help me through this? I could say screw it and just manually remove the virus but not having the ability to restore from my backups is very bothersome.
     
  2. Old Hippie

    Old Hippie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,013
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    I'm pretty confused.

    AFAIK the WHS Restore CD will only work if you have made a back-up from the computer that needs restored and it will only restore that computer.

    Are you trying to restore a computer with those parameters?
     
  3. Trepidati0n

    Trepidati0n [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,826
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    You are too far ahead of the equation, I can't connect with the server at all from the target device.

    Step 1: stick in restore CD
    Step 2: boot on restore CD
    Step 3: Wait a bunch of time
    Step 4: connect with sever
    Step 5....n: make your machine happy again

    I'm getting stuck @ step 4 regardless of what I do to try and get network connectivity.
     
  4. thefordmccord

    thefordmccord [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    are you trying to do this over wireless? I have never had any luck restoring from WHS using wireless.
     
  5. Trepidati0n

    Trepidati0n [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,826
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
  6. Trepidati0n

    Trepidati0n [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,826
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Finally had some unpressured time to work on it today and got it going.

    The issue was the notorious "64bit" issue. WHS restore is a 32 bit program. However, the drivers that come with (that suck) and 64 bit machines don't work well. Worse yet is Realtek drivers suck (as does their HW).

    The way to resolve the issue is to download the Vista and WinServer 2008 Driver and put the 32 bit drivers on a USB stick. Then hunt for for the drivers during the install and it should fix itself. Machine is reloading itself as we speak. I also tried the same technique on my main rig and I can connect to the server.

    http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads...d=5&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false
     
  7. Trepidati0n

    Trepidati0n [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,826
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Update: Repair went fine..but got a "bootmgr not found" after. Had to use a win7 64bit install for a quick repair and all is right with the world.
     
  8. Old Hippie

    Old Hippie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,013
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    My many WHS restore attempts have been knida like a box of chocolates....ya just never know what youre gonna get. :D

    I have several connector/restore discs (including the origional) and a 64bit XFiles version.

    I think it depends on the position of the planets, the day of the week, and how I'm holding my mouth as to which one will work on any particular day. :)

    I'm glad you got it sorted!
     
  9. Trepidati0n

    Trepidati0n [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,826
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    I tried hunting for hte Xfiles version but I could'nt find a legit source. Any chance you would be willing to host it somewhere?
     
  10. Old Hippie

    Old Hippie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,013
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Legit....from me........that doesn't compute. :D

    I can put it on my Rapidshare account for ya but it'll have to be split in parts with WinRAR and at 726 MB it wouldn't burn on a CD for me so I had to burn it to a DVD.

    It'll take awhile but if you want it I'll upload it.

    Lemme know if you wanna try.
     
  11. Trepidati0n

    Trepidati0n [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,826
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    I wouldn't mind. I can then host it on my webserver and make it available to others when needed.
     
  12. Old Hippie

    Old Hippie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,013
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    OK.

    It's in one piece but I RAR'd the file to make it smaller.

    This is an MDF file because that's the way it came but you can convert it to any type you want.....ISO or whatever.

    The password is Old Hippie and you must use the capital letters and space.

    Let me know if there's any problem. :)

    Here's the link.
     
  13. Trepidati0n

    Trepidati0n [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,826
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Cheers..got it. I will convert it to ISO and put it on my webserver. I'll make it available on PM for those that want it.
     
  14. Old Hippie

    Old Hippie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,013
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Cool! :)