Whats everyone using for HTPC remote these days?

PeaKr

Gawd
Joined
Sep 6, 2004
Messages
884
I have an Intel NUC I want to install kodi on, looking for a remote I can use to navigate windows 10 and kodi. I see a lot of cheap stuff on amazon but lots of complaints. I want to avoid the rechargeable ones. The Pepper Jobs Gyro looked good but its been sold out, not sure if it will ever be restocked. Suggestions?
 

tool_462

n00b
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
39
Used a Logitech K830 until I evolved to using Plex server and phone/Roku depending on which TV we are watching.
 

Blue Fox

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
11,784
If you have a NUC with integrated CIR, the Windows MCE remotes will work out of the box with no setup required.
 

staknhalo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 11, 2007
Messages
1,322
I've been using 4x Logitech Harmony 350s for years.

These are discontinued, so you'd have to buy on ebay or something. I prefer them though to the Harmony remotes with screens on them. When they die or get worn out I'll move onto the Logitech Harmony Hub + companion remote.
 

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,076
Plex+freenas and for clients AFTV stick 4k

I settled using this due to the sideclick combo that works really well and I have a sudo one remote setup. Also can use my phone as well for several apps via AFTV as well.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
795
Harmony One + FLIRC USB dongle for my RPi LibreElec (Kodi) player. Works pretty well, though I'm not sure how much life the One has left in it (occasional random reboots, sometimes doesn't want to wake).

Harmony remotes with bluetooth can also pair with a PC, and may be able to control Kodi that way (mine doesn't so I haven't been able to test).
 

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,076
I have a FLIRC USB dongle that I never used. PM if anyone wants it for shipping costs
 

DooLocsta

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
1,631
Plex+freenas and for clients AFTV stick 4k

I settled using this due to the sideclick combo that works really well and I have a sudo one remote setup. Also can use my phone as well for several apps via AFTV as well.
I do the same, the 4K AFTV stick is a beast especially if you can catch it for $24.99.
 

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,076
I do the same, the 4K AFTV stick is a beast especially if you can catch it for $24.99.
Yes but I just got a new TV with the latest Android TV version. Really digging it VS the Firestick interface. Way less shit shoved down your throat. I am simplifying my setups using built in apps as a priority. No more HT 3.1 setup upstairs does not work with my old main Sammy KS8000(A/V is 1080P and Sammy is 4K) which replaced my 10+ year old 42 inch XVT-Series. Still works to this day. New TV is a hisense 75h8g with Dolby Atmos support. Used to have an old school VOX soundbar but I am going to sell it along with the old School HT+receiver setup and get a nice Dolby Atmos Soundba for the Hisense. Eyeing TLC's Atmos 9+ but its not out yet. The KS8000 will now just be TV sound only as with the new TV downstairs is becoming the new Media area vs upstairs. So long story short I will probally have 2 4K Firesticks, with sideclick remote combo's for sale shortly. Watch out for them in the classifieds.
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
17,476
I use Plex and an Apple TV 4K and just use the Apple TV Remote. It controls the volume of my AVR as well.
 

IdiotInCharge

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
14,245
and get a nice Dolby Atmos Soundba for the Hisense. Eyeing TLC's Atmos 9+ but its not out yet.
Atmos has very little meaning with a sound bar... mostly just drivers oriented sideways and up to simulate 3D sound. Granted that may be a relatively cheap and minimal way to get 'sound', but decent discrete speakers shouldn't be too expensive and will significantly outperform with anything that gets streamed across the 'net.
 

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,076
Atmos has very little meaning with a sound bar... mostly just drivers oriented sideways and up to simulate 3D sound. Granted that may be a relatively cheap and minimal way to get 'sound', but decent discrete speakers shouldn't be too expensive and will significantly outperform with anything that gets streamed across the 'net.
Looking for a clean setup doing away with A/V receivers. Never been a fan of doing rear speakers. Currently have a 14 month old boy that knock down those speakers every time sitting behind the couch. I will look at systems that have the ability to add rear speakers down the line.
 

qbanb8582

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
2,063
I use a harmony hub with the companion remote. It uses a CR2032 battery and it lasts a few months. I have it control my HTPC over bluetooth. If I need to use a keyboard and mouse, I use a logitech K400.
 

p_monks33

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 3, 2012
Messages
162
Looking for a clean setup doing away with A/V receivers. Never been a fan of doing rear speakers. Currently have a 14 month old boy that knock down those speakers every time sitting behind the couch. I will look at systems that have the ability to add rear speakers down the line.
I was in the same boat, I had 4500 dollars worth of AV equipment in my living room at my old house. Sound was great, and it worked in that setup. New house is 14ft vaulted ceiling in my living area, and my kitchen is open to the living room as well. I just said to hell with it, sold off my AV stuff, and bought the N950 Dolby Atmos Samsung/Harmon soundbar. It looks cleaner, and I can honestly say that I get about 90% of the experience from it that I was getting with a 7.1 setup. I also have an LG dolby atmos bar in my office that sounds pretty decent, and I have seen them for 279 refurb on Woot. I agree with the above, that yes a full setup sounds better, more clarity, more isolation of sounds, but when you have children, and a wife that is particular about looks then a soundbar is MILES better than a regular TV speakers.
 
Top