What was your 1st 3D video card ?

criccio

Fully Equipped
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
13,839
Voodoo 3 2000 my dad bought me so I could play Falcon 4.0. Trouble was we had a Mac at the time. They sold models with Mac vBIOSs but he bought the PC version so he figured out how to flash it with the Mac vBIOS and we got it working.

This man, to this day, still can't figure out when you need to single click or double click.

Also i'm fairly certain I've posted this exact thing in this thread before but it just popped up on New Posts and I can't be bothered to search.
 

sc5mu93

Gawd
Joined
Jul 11, 2018
Messages
577
pretty sure my first card was one of the first 3d-decellerators - S3 trio64 or virge. Ive drank many beers since then. cant remember clearly. Then iterated through a bunch of the ATI Mach/Rage cards.
 

chameleoneel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
4,317
Did I already post in here?....oh well! The first card which I bought for my own computer around 15 years old, was an 64mb ATI Radeon 9000 pro. It was a great little card which played anything I wanted with great image quality and settings.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
49
First dedicated card was probably an s3 virge, I probably still have it somewhere. Then I upgraded to an Intel 440BX system with a Slot 1 Celereon at 333, until I got a slot key adapter to add a coppermine P3 at 1 GHz, then that system was screaming! I then added an ATI Radeon 9600 I think, or an nVidia 6200 that I unlocked into a 6600, but it was so long ago I don't remember for sure. That could have been when I jumped to socket A with the goldfinger/trace pin mods.

Edit:
I remember using the heat sink off of the ATI 9600 on one of the chipsets on a DFI CFX3200 for sits' and giggles, since it was an ATI chipset. I used it where the black heatsink was, until I got a second DFI egg heatsink and did double those for more insanity. Wonder if I can find any of the old pictures anymore :LOL:
 

Secretweapon

Weaksauce
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
117
voodoo 2, had a rage ii before that, but I am not sure that counts. The performance in tomb raider was less than aspiring
 

grumperfish

Weaksauce
Joined
Apr 19, 2014
Messages
80
GPU's with no fan support was hip back in the day. I think the G200 was the hottest GPU i've ever had.
I had a PCI Voodoo Banshee and it died early due to no heatsink and poor case airflow. Replaced it with some SiS abomination (6326 IIRC) which was used up until a friend gave me his old Voodoo 3.
 

biztyke

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
2,203
TNT2, still have it sitting in a box in the shed. Also had an ATI All in wonder 128 Pro around the same time and a little later tried out a Voodoo 3 2000. Looking back I'm not even sure how I could afford it, I was in high school at the time. I spent a lot of time building, overclocking, etc back in those days. I even made my own water cooling setup with a home made water block.....worked pretty good!
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
822
Well, the first 3D accelerator I used was the one in my Compaq Presario 5204. It was a built-in ATI RAGE LT PRO, at AGP 2x speeds. Before that, my 486 only had a TVGA card that wasn't really doing 3D acceleration at all. The motherboard didn't have an AGP slot, unfortunately, so when I started finding games that I couldn't run on the integrated graphics, my only option was a PCI slot graphics card. Not PCI-E, just plain PCI... yeah. I can't remember the exact model, but I think it was a Diamond Stealth Radeon of some kind. I believe it was 9250 because when I look around at cards, that's the one that feels right. The boxes on eBay for those cards says those require a Pentium III and I only had a 350MHz K6-2, though, and I remember the card working (though still kinda slowly, it was more functional than the built-in graphics). So I don't know if that means I remember wrong or Pentium III was just the recommendation. I also remember carrying that PCI Radeon to my Athlon XP at first, and being blown away by the improved performance in games just from a faster CPU... then being blown away again when I got an actual AGP card like a GeForce 6600. What's hilarious is that when my next computer didn't have AGP, I looked at the motherboard and saw PCI-E and thought, "Oh no, I'm going to be stuck with crappy, slow PCI again just like before," and then was surprised it was faster.

But yeah, depending on what you count, it was either the built-in RAGE LT PRO, or a plain old PCI Radeon card used as an upgrade path on a machine that had neither AGP nor PCI-E.
 
Last edited:

Ikasu

Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2007
Messages
1,016
My first personal system, and not one I shared with my older brother, had a ATI Rage Fury Max. Ohh the good ol' days =P.
 

Shadowarez

Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2019
Messages
546
first gpu was actually SLI Voodoo 2 Banshees they were amazing for the time not performance lol bragging i ended up giving 1 to my friend so we could game.
 

Jack Of Owls

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
89
The Cirrus-Logic 1MB SVGA card that came inside the assembled AMD 5x86-based system I bought from a local Vietnamese computer dealership in the suburbs of Boston (later shut-down because they use to pirate all the MS-DOS/Windows 3.1 installations that came on their machines). It was so powerful it could play Quake 1 (which had just been released) at 10 FPS at 320 X 200.

Edited: OKay, I just realized that the Cirrus-Logic wasn't a 3D accelerator card so the first one I owned that was was the Stealth II with the Rendition Verite 2100 chipset. It played the special edition version of Quake designed for that chipset at +25 FPS, I think. Surprisingly it had full screen anti-aliasing at that framerate when even the Voodoo couldn't do that (?)
 
Last edited:

dthree

n00b
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
61
I think i had a voodoo or TNT2. I can not remember it's been so long ago.. just remember it was during the late 90s and I was running Quake 1 and 2 around that time.
 

Halon

Gawd
Joined
Aug 13, 2004
Messages
616
The Cirrus-Logic 1MB SVGA card that came inside the assembled AMD 5x86-based system I bought from a local Vietnamese computer dealership in the suburbs of Boston (later shut-down because they use to pirate all the MS-DOS/Windows 3.1 installations that came on their machines). It was so powerful it could play Quake 1 (which had just been released) at 10 FPS at 320 X 200.

Edited: OKay, I just realized that the Cirrus-Logic wasn't a 3D accelerator card so the first one I owned that was was the Stealth II with the Rendition Verite 2100 chipset. It played the special edition version of Quake designed for that chipset at +25 FPS, I think. Surprisingly it had full screen anti-aliasing at that framerate when even the Voodoo couldn't do that (?)
To be fair that Cirrus Logic card wasn't bad, but it was beholden to the CPU in that machine for Quake. The 5x86 was a solid high-clocked 486, but even at 160 MHz with a 3Dfx Voodoo board it would have been hard pressed to deliver a reliably good experience.

The v2100 was a decent chip, and VQuake was the best of all worlds in terms of running Quake in 1997. 16-bit color, edge antialiasing, SVGA resolutions, and accurate reproduction of software rendering features like overbrighting for lights made it a cut above GLQuake for everything but raw performance on faster hardware. I wish like hell Rendition had stuck around.
 

Jack Of Owls

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
89
To be fair that Cirrus Logic card wasn't bad, but it was beholden to the CPU in that machine for Quake. The 5x86 was a solid high-clocked 486, but even at 160 MHz with a 3Dfx Voodoo board it would have been hard pressed to deliver a reliably good experience.

The v2100 was a decent chip, and VQuake was the best of all worlds in terms of running Quake in 1997. 16-bit color, edge antialiasing, SVGA resolutions, and accurate reproduction of software rendering features like overbrighting for lights made it a cut above GLQuake for everything but raw performance on faster hardware. I wish like hell Rendition had stuck around.

Yeah, imagine my surprise when I could play Shadow Warrior for MS-DOS (which had also just come out) at 800 X 600, I think, on my Cirrus-logic board at about 20-25 FPS after I had upgraded my system to a true Intel Pentium running at 166MHz. It could brute force a game that I previously could never play at playable framerates at SVGA using the 5x86. It's still amusing to me though that any game I played at 25 FPS back then (ie Quake II when I got my Stealth II) I considered blazing fast. Now if I play any game and it dips below 60 FPS even for only a few seconds I get a frowny, pouty face lol.
 

schizo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
1,681
3dfx Voodoo 1, currently safely boxed in my parents' basement. Keep it for nostalgia purposes.

Have a Canopus Voodoo 2 down there too. Damn, I loved that card.
 

Wat

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 23, 2019
Messages
186
Ati rage pro PCI sometime in 97, replaced by a PCI voodoo banshee fairly quickly.
Stuck with pci cards for a while because I was a big fan of multimonitor setups. Got win98 on release day so I could do multimon.
 

snclawson

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
389
ATi 3D Rage Pro (Xpert@Play). All my friends at the time bought NVidia Riva 128’s, but I liked ATi (my previous card was a PCI Mach64), it had twice the memory (8MB vs 4MB) and TV out. What a bad decision! The Riva wiped the floor with it and ATi’s drivers were terrible, not to mention that it took forever for them to support OpenGL. Didn’t buy another ATi card until the 9800 Pro!

I don’t remember what the first 3D game that I played on it was, but I distinctly remember the final boss fight of Unreal being a slideshow on it. The same for pretty much all of Quake II, when it wasn’t crashing!
 

blank

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 28, 2001
Messages
3,205
STB Blackmagic 3D 12MB - Voodoo 2. But I think the Creative Labs 3D Blaster Annihilator Pro GeForce DDR was more memorable for me.
 

Mi|enko

n00b
Joined
Jun 20, 2004
Messages
42
Nvidia Riva TNT was the first one I had and it came in a gateway PC. This was back in '98 or '99 and I was also just discovering access to videos & FTPs. . . so I wanted a card that could output to my TV. As a result, the first GPU I actually purchased on its own was an ATI All-in-Wonder Pro (AGP). Loved that card.
 

jhtevans

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
373
My first 3D card was the TNT (Creative Graphics Blaster CT6710). Don't recall what the first game to use it was - probably something running on the original Quake engine.
 
Top