virtualizing small office server

Forealz

Limp Gawd
Hi guys
I've started administering a small office server on the side, and I'm considering virtualizing it. The server is SBS 2008, and it really needs to be cleaned up (they use public folders to archive email, I'm looking into using sharepoint for this)

Ideally, I'd like to make a new clean image with data in all the right places then load it up over a weekend and hopefully the process will be painless. I'm looking into the free vmware edition, as I'd like to keep costs down and don't need to make multiple virtual machines or anything. Can I use vmware for free for just one server like this?

I'd like it virtualized so that if the server were to go down I could get it back into service quickly without downtime. I'm not really sure where to start.

I'd like to make the perfect image on my work computer (im a basic computer tech) then just drop it into the server over a weekend or something. Can I use free vmware for this? Am I missing some huge piece of information that would derail my plan?

Yes check to make sure the server is compatible with ESXi free. If it isn't, Xenserver Free is a viable alternative.

I'm not sure on the policy of using free ESXi for business purposes, but if it's fine then there's nothing wrong with your plan, really. Just make sure the hardware can handle virtualization (older servers will not)

I'm not sure on the policy of using free ESXi for business purposes, but if it's fine then there's nothing wrong with your plan, really. Just make sure the hardware can handle virtualization (older servers will not)