Upgrading system. How to transfer current Win 10 Pro key to it?

Despotes

Gawd
Joined
Aug 27, 2005
Messages
806
I'm going to install a new mobo and cpu, What's the best way to transfer my current digital license to the clean install to it? Should I create a Microsoft account to tie my current license to this account somehow?
Update: I just linked my Product Key to my Microsoft Acct.
So, after a clean install on my new system, will there will be an option to Activate using my Microsoft Acct?
 
Last edited:

AltTabbins

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 29, 2005
Messages
20,091
Just log in with your new account during the setup and it will activated on the first boot.
 

Rustler

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 13, 2003
Messages
338
I wiped my system and logged in when I was installing Windows 10 1909, then I upgraded from a 4 core to a FX8320, its an older system but it serves me well. I did not have to activate after the processor change.
 

mICKEL

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
259
The last motherboard bought had issues with two mvme drives. I put an old sata ssd in it and then it was working fine. I replaced the motherboard and than the second drive I bought is working fine. Widows would not reactive and I did associate it with my account. I had to call them. I bought a windows seven key they said. Amazon refunded me. I had to buy another key.
 
Last edited:

Despotes

Gawd
Joined
Aug 27, 2005
Messages
806
Simply logging in to my account didn't work. Using the troubleshooter didn't either. Calling Microsoft didn't even work. Cs said I had to use my key code from my Win 7 install and use the change my product serial number option. Luckily after all these years I found it in my e-mail folder and it worked!
 

criccio

Fully Equipped
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
13,187
I swapped my mobo and CPU from intel to AMD and didn't have to reactivate.
 

M76

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
11,466
There are people who actually use a microsoft account to sign in to windows? Now I've seen everything.
 

criccio

Fully Equipped
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
13,187
There are people who actually use a microsoft account to sign in to windows? Now I've seen everything.

I found it to be quite convenient after doing a full reinstall last week. Lots of settings and preferences pulled over automatically.
 

ThreeDee

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 5, 2001
Messages
10,985
awhile ago I ran into this and I logged into my account online and did something there .. maybe remove old PC if it's showing and see if your new setup is listed .. ? It's been awhile like I said, but I farted around in my account and got it straightened out .. if nothing else, you might have to shell out $10-15 and get a new key as maybe your digital license was for one PC use ... maybe
 

vick1000

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
2,077
If your key was not a retail (as in it was OEM), it won't work on another machine (motherboard). If it was retail, you should have your key somewhere, type 'activation' in the search bar.
 
Top