Tubing question

Discussion in 'Water Cooling' started by Anh N., Jul 6, 2019.

  1. Anh N.

    Anh N. Gawd

    Messages:
    673
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
  2. ChefJoe

    ChefJoe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Yes, you can. I bought most of my Tygon tubing in a university store.
     
    Anh N. and Brian_B like this.
  3. Brian_B

    Brian_B 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,304
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Yup it works fine. Just be careful because it loves to kink when it gets soft - no sharp turns. Your loop temp should be well under 145 so it won't melt. Works very well with barbed fittings. Can get a bit loose unless you support it on ferrelled (compression) fittings (anti-kink springs are awesome).

    The thicker stuff they use for ice maker lines (Polyethelene) - that stuff is champion and works very well with ferrelled fittings (I tried push-to-connect fittings like they sell at Lowes to use on ice machines, but that was a bad idea, don't do that), but it's not clear and won't work with barbed fittings..
     
    Anh N. likes this.
  4. Anh N.

    Anh N. Gawd

    Messages:
    673
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Thanks guys. That makes me feel much better. This would be like 1/4 to 1/5 the cost of those watercooled brand name. Thanks agaain.
     
  5. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,409
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Any tubing will work.

    Some tubing may have plasticizer leeching problems which may coat various components in the loop and cause the coolant to become cloudy.

    The specialty tubing sold for water cooling purposes tends to have better formulared or less plasticizer to minimize this issue.

    You can probably get away with the cheaper stuff, but we really aren't dealing with a shit ton of money here. You might save some insignificant sum, like $15, but if it causes you problems down the line, is it really worth it?
     
  6. Anh N.

    Anh N. Gawd

    Messages:
    673
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    You do make a valid point. The problem a lot of time is not cost wise but more of a convenient issue, since Lowes is like 10 min away.
     
  7. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,409
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Fair, but if you have a prime subscription, Amazon will ship it to you withing two days. That's how I got my Primochill tubing,
     
    DrezKill and Anh N. like this.
  8. hititnquitit

    hititnquitit Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    505
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Spend the extra and get some primochill lrt. That stuff is bulletproof. Ran it for 5 years straight and it was as clean the day i tore it down as the day i installed it.
    Theres a reason the cheap stuff is cheap.
     
    Anh N. likes this.
  9. Anh N.

    Anh N. Gawd

    Messages:
    673
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Is there a Primochill tubing being sold by itself? All the ones I can find is a combo package with cleaners, etc..
     
  10. hititnquitit

    hititnquitit Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    505
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    You can buy it by the foot at performance-pcs.com
     
  11. Anh N.

    Anh N. Gawd

    Messages:
    673
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Awesome. Thanks !!!
     
  12. hititnquitit

    hititnquitit Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    505
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Yw enjoy the new loop!
     
  13. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,409
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    I bought my Primochill Advanced LRT in a box from Amazon, not as part of some bundle.

    They do include a small bottle of what they call sysprep, but this is more of a "free gift" included in the retail packaging than it is some sort of bundle. I know they call it a "bundle" in the listings but that is just to make it sound like you are getting more than you really are.

    It's one tiny little bottle in a package with tubing.
     
    Anh N. likes this.
  14. Anh N.

    Anh N. Gawd

    Messages:
    673
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Thanks for all the suggestions and help from everyone. Finally got it up running. Using EK Aluminum Fluid Gaming kit, and the Vega 56 bought from Kyle here on [H]. Sorry for the potato phone pics.

    uxfJhwVrrjhmEe6rULG14bGDnc-pt0hP8KTmvKF3nLpzngaIarq6NfbX95mmk58O8mFq_fulRAOalZ66Y=w1919-h1440-no.jpg

    8z9MFdBl2FLV3nfku4DU4bhEPjaFm5MScBSBNSve_InXAZ8M2EKmgafk8vUgLs1hxkVSOYz_9u14s69QQ=w1474-h1965-no.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2019
    AlexisRO, AthlonXP, DrezKill and 2 others like this.
  15. hititnquitit

    hititnquitit Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    505
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Nice job, it looks good!
     
    Anh N. likes this.
  16. Net Prowler

    Net Prowler [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,040
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Very cool!

    How did you get that Joker thing on the top? Is that made with a laser engraver? Or custom ordered?
     
  17. Anh N.

    Anh N. Gawd

    Messages:
    673
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
  18. drklu

    drklu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,196
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Nice job, looks great especially for your first WC build !
     
    Anh N. likes this.
  19. AthlonXP

    AthlonXP [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    20,264
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    That is very pretty indeed!
     
    Anh N. likes this.
  20. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,897
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    hows that workin out for ya? temps good? there are a lot of doubters of the alu loop but I think its a decent bang4buck.
     
  21. Anh N.

    Anh N. Gawd

    Messages:
    673
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    .

    It's not an exceptional performer, but is adequate. :) Defeinitely cheaper than the copper loop for sure, it would've cost at least 2x.

    CPU about 80°F at full Aida 64 , 33°F at idle (about same temp from my Corsair 100i v2), and 47° under load, and around 35°F at idle for the Vega 56. I also added an extra 360mm radiator to expand the A240R kit.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  22. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,883
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    I bought cheap 1/2" ID clear tubing, it has been replaced twice in 14+ years.
    I only replaced it because it was over 7 years old each time and needed a good clean.
    The more light gets to the tube the quicker it develops a film on the inside.
    I now have my PC inside a table which is nearly completely dark and the last pipe change 4 years ago still looks like new, completely clear.

    The downside is it leaches water very slowly, evaporating not flowing, more when new.
    I use a short vertical T-piece with a marble instead of a reservoir, maybe 10ml in volume. The marble is removed to top it up and seals it when inserted. (Dont run a T-Piece without a marble seal, it grows all sorts of crap!)
    When the pipe was new I had to top it up about 5ml each week but after a few months it would last 1 to 2 months each time.
    If I leave it longer it develops a minor vacuum causing the tube to squash slightly which mostly fills out when replenished amd otherwise causes no issues.
    You perhaps wont notice the water disappearing if you use a reservoir.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2019
    Anh N. likes this.
  23. FearTheCow

    FearTheCow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,731
    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    I think you might have Fahrenheit and Celsius mixed up...
     
    Anh N. likes this.
  24. Anh N.

    Anh N. Gawd

    Messages:
    673
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    I sure did. lol
     
  25. celwin

    celwin Gawd

    Messages:
    1,002
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    That's a lot of rad surface area for just a CPU and GPU loop; But I'm with you in thinking there is no such thing as too much rad when it comes to water cooling.
     
    Anh N. likes this.
  26. Anh N.

    Anh N. Gawd

    Messages:
    673
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    The A240R kit only comes with a 240mm rad, which seems kinda anemic for both CPU + GPU. Since I was thinking of adding a rad, might as well get an 360mm rad, the case (lian li pc011 dynamic) has plenty of room. :)