Trasferring a vista install to a new hard drive?

Archer75

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
6,432
I have 2 hard drives in my computer, Vista currently resides on a 150gb drive. How can I go about copying the entire vista install over to the new 750gb hard drive without having to reinstall vista, apps, settings and data?
 

Sireal

Weaksauce
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
98
I used the trial version of Aconis Migrate Easy, just have both drives in your machine, follow a very simple wizard, set the new drive as your boot drive in bios or remove old one. Couldn't be easier and it's free.
 

Tantrix

Gawd
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
650
Use Norton Ghost or Acronis TrueImage to image the whole install then use that to transfer over to your new hard drive.
+1

I've been using a bootable Ghost cd for years to make backup images and do disk-to-disk cloning. Haven't had an issue yet.
 

DeaconFrost

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
11,209
I just did this very same thing yesterday morning, using my UBCD4WIN and Ghost. It worked perfectly.
 

Sasiki

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 10, 2005
Messages
2,820
If you have a seagate drive, download the copy utility off of their website. It's Acronis TrueImage with a different name, literally.
 

yossarian

Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
799
If you have a seagate drive, download the copy utility off of their website. It's Acronis TrueImage with a different name, literally.
Same for Maxtor - Maxblast.

Seagate's is DiscWizard.

I've used Discwizard a half-dozen times in the last couple months and it's worked perfectly. Yeah, I'm having problems with my build...:rolleyes:
 
Top