Trasferring a vista install to a new hard drive?

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Archer75, Feb 7, 2008.

  1. Archer75

    Archer75 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,432
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    I have 2 hard drives in my computer, Vista currently resides on a 150gb drive. How can I go about copying the entire vista install over to the new 750gb hard drive without having to reinstall vista, apps, settings and data?
     
  2. kageon1

    kageon1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Deleted
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2013
  3. Sireal

    Sireal [H]Lite

    Messages:
    98
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    I used the trial version of Aconis Migrate Easy, just have both drives in your machine, follow a very simple wizard, set the new drive as your boot drive in bios or remove old one. Couldn't be easier and it's free.
     
  4. Tantrix

    Tantrix Gawd

    Messages:
    649
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    +1

    I've been using a bootable Ghost cd for years to make backup images and do disk-to-disk cloning. Haven't had an issue yet.
     
  5. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,987
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    I just did this very same thing yesterday morning, using my UBCD4WIN and Ghost. It worked perfectly.
     
  6. Sasiki

    Sasiki 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,821
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    If you have a seagate drive, download the copy utility off of their website. It's Acronis TrueImage with a different name, literally.
     
  7. yossarian

    yossarian Gawd

    Messages:
    798
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Same for Maxtor - Maxblast.

    Seagate's is DiscWizard.

    I've used Discwizard a half-dozen times in the last couple months and it's worked perfectly. Yeah, I'm having problems with my build...:rolleyes: