Transferring a disk image from one local computer to another

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by carrierPigeon, Jun 18, 2018.

  1. carrierPigeon

    carrierPigeon [H]Lite

    Messages:
    110
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    I am a little short on storage space right now. So, I would like to take a ~50GB disk image from one computer and transfer it to another computer. Note that I am not using the disk image to create an operating system install, I am just transferring this data so that I have a backup. The computer that I am transferring to has extra space.

    Both computers have NTFS hard drives.

    1) what method should I use to do the transfer? It seems as though ethernet is the best (the computer receiving the transfer has 10/100 ethernet). Also, I guess I should have both of the computers connected to my router, and not go through an additional switch?

    2) should I check the file at each end? I am not too familiar with checksum but is that something that I should read up on?
     
  2. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,365
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    plug the source drive into the destination computer and copy it from disk to disk.
    10/100 will be limited to 10MB/s so it'll take an hour or so over Ethernet.
     
    carrierPigeon likes this.
  3. carrierPigeon

    carrierPigeon [H]Lite

    Messages:
    110
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    I have to avoid using sata cables for that, though, right? Because otherwise the computer wont know which drive to boot to.
     
  4. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,553
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    just make sure your primiary is set as the only boot device and it will be fine. or wait an hour for the transfer.
     
  5. carrierPigeon

    carrierPigeon [H]Lite

    Messages:
    110
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Ok, when I first hook up the 2nd hard drive, I will go into the legacy bios and set that.
    Thanks for the tip. This is going to be much better than ethernet.
     
  6. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,553
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    set the boot drive first then connect the second, saves confusion.
     
  7. carrierPigeon

    carrierPigeon [H]Lite

    Messages:
    110
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Ok. I was just thinking that once I connect the 2nd hard drive, the bios might not put it at the end of the list of boot devices. But, I am sure you know better than I do.