Titan RTX Block Compatibility

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Thunderdolt, Apr 29, 2019.

  1. Thunderdolt

    Thunderdolt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    158
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2018
    Looking at moving from 2080 Ti FE for some rendering work and am wondering if my Alphacool Eisblock GPX-N blocks will fit. Anybody try this?

    I took a look at Alphacool's site and didn't see an answer. Plus, in my experience, their support isn't very good about responding to inquiries.

    Not sure if I should be posting this here or in the Nvidia forum.
     
  2. VanGoghComplex

    VanGoghComplex [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,656
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Moving from 2080Ti FE to what? Are your Eisblocks currently on that card? Assuming whatever you replace it with is also a reference PCB, it should work - need more info tho.
     
  3. Thunderdolt

    Thunderdolt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    158
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2018
    I'm looking at moving from 2080 Ti FE to Titan RTX. They're both reference cards, but I wasn't sure if the power and memory on the Titan are the same physical dimensions as what's on the 2080Ti FE. I would assume that they are, but I tend to be wrong when I assume things like that.

    I guess the component height is really the only dimension that matters for those since the block is flat.

    Yes, I'm hoping to use the Eiblocks that are currently on my 2080Tis.
     
  4. CAD4466HK

    CAD4466HK [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,219
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    According to their product page, they don't support it. (Scroll to the bottom )

    https://www.alphacool.com/shop/new-...ia-geforce-rtx-2080/2080ti-m02-with-backplate

    I don't think they even have a block for the RTX Titan. Nothing shows up for it in their block config tool.

    https://www.hwconfig.com/waterblock-finder
     
  5. Thunderdolt

    Thunderdolt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    158
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2018
    I'm wondering if the Titan RTX isn't listed because it doesn't fit or because they simply haven't updated their site. The EKWB stuff all fits both, but they might have special magic that Alphacool doesn't.

    I did reach out to Alphacool about this directly, but I'm still waiting on a response.
     
  6. CAD4466HK

    CAD4466HK [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,219
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    I would think it would fit since there isn't much difference between the two besides an extra memory chip on the Titan? Guess you can play the waiting game and hold out for a reply from them.
     
  7. Thunderdolt

    Thunderdolt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    158
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2018
    Update: I got a response from Alphacool. They said pretty much what has been said here: it should work because the only difference is the one memory chip, but they haven't tested it themselves to confirm.

    I think I'll risk it.
     
    CAD4466HK likes this.