Thinking about 7970. What are 'driver issues'?

mhenley

[H]ard|Gawd
I've been treading water in the mid-range video cards for many years now and am tempted to make the jump to enthusiast. Obviously my choices right now are either the 580 or the 7970, and the biggest reason why I haven't pulled the trigger on a 7970 is because I hear stories about AMD's driver issues. All I can find online are crossfire issues, but are there any major issues with running single-card?

Also, I remember when I had an unlocked 6950 I had to set Powertune to +20% ([H] review explained why) and the Overdrive configuration overrided my Afterburner custom fan profile. Do you have to set +20% on the 7970s?

Thanks

Other than the obligatory installation issues, single 7970s have few problems

The new architecture isn't integrated into the unified drivers yet, most likely will be on cat 12.3

Powertune still must be set to +20 (increase the TDP cutoff) if you wish to overclock and not have the GPU throttle.

There will always be issues with CCC and Afterburner/Trixx/Whatever. Just the nature of the beast, but there are workarounds...

There are also reg hacks to increase the max sliders in CCC, however, there is no way to increase Vcore in CCC, so AB will still be necessary to some extent.

Single card single monitor, no issues. There are issues with tearing on Eyefinity because they dont have a card that has 3x 1 adapter (they should have made it with 3x display port and it would have been fine).

But as a single card on a single monitor, or with a multi monitor setup where you are only playing games on ONE screen, yeah it's an amazing card in every way. I love mine. They will continue to release drivers that fix framerate issues and settings in certain games, but I've been playing everything maxed out beautifully with no issues.

Have AMD cards given you problems in the past? If you owned lets say a 5770, the only difference you would notice by getting a 7970 is more performance. Way more.