The over-60Hz LCD thread

kalston

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
1,316
Yes I would like this as well. Makes me sad that most games still end up reverting back to 60Hz

I have only one game that reverts to 60hz. I'm on XP and while some of these games have settings for the refresh rate, many don't and just do auto-detect. 99% of my games are running in 1080p/76.5hz atm (and I have a lot of games)

If it really bothers you you can use refreshforce which will tell windows that the monitor only supports a specific refresh rate for a given resolution. http://www.pagehosting.co.uk/rf/
No idea if it works on newer windows though.

I used this on my old monitor because in native res it could only do 60hz, but it could do 75hz in lower resolutions. So it defaulted to 75hz when launching some games, which made the nvidia scaling fail to work properly because the desktop was in 60hz. So I forced my monitor to accept only 60hz at any resolution and voilà.
 

vafan13

Weaksauce
Joined
Sep 2, 2007
Messages
115
I have only one game that reverts to 60hz. I'm on XP and while some of these games have settings for the refresh rate, many don't and just do auto-detect. 99% of my games are running in 1080p/76.5hz atm (and I have a lot of games)

If it really bothers you you can use refreshforce which will tell windows that the monitor only supports a specific refresh rate for a given resolution. http://www.pagehosting.co.uk/rf/
No idea if it works on newer windows though.

I used this on my old monitor because in native res it could only do 60hz, but it could do 75hz in lower resolutions. So it defaulted to 75hz when launching some games, which made the nvidia scaling fail to work properly because the desktop was in 60hz. So I forced my monitor to accept only 60hz at any resolution and voilà.

I used reforce in XP, from what I've heard it does not work in Win7
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,482
Check this image from the Acer HN274H running at 1080P @ 120Hz:

Acer_Cursor.jpg
 

TechonNapkins

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
94
What is this supposed to show?

Indeed. Any real 120Hz monitors out there right now are capable of running at full 120Hz without skipping frames, because, well, they are specifically designed to run at 120Hz. Thanks for the pic, but unnecessary.
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,482
Indeed. Any real 120Hz monitors out there right now are capable of running at full 120Hz without skipping frames, because, well, they are specifically designed to run at 120Hz. Thanks for the pic, but unnecessary.
Well I saw some other 120Hz monitors on the list, however the Acer HN274H was not listed as confirmed.
 

TechonNapkins

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
94
Well, I got 76Hz to work on my HD6950 briefly, but I don't know how I did it. I tried multiple approaches and it didn't seem to work... until I rebooted. Then it worked.

Well, then I popped in a HD6570 and tried to do it again. Since it didn't work the first time until after a reboot, I thought it was the registry tweak that was responsible (find the "2D Driver File Path" in the Catalyst Control Panel and then go to that registry area and add the resolution/refresh manually). Well, did the same registry tweak and rebooted... no dice.

So, still waiting for a guide for enabling higher refresh rates on RADEON cards (I have since switched back to Nvidia)
 

kalston

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
1,316
I hope it's still ok to bump this thread :p

Anyway, ever since I upgraded to Win 7 I couldn't use 76.5hz in game anymore on my LG IPS226. Well, it worked with some of them, but many refused to use my custom resolution and you can't use RefreshForce like you could in XP.

So I looked for a solution and the only thing I could find was the EDID override trick. It seemed overcomplicated at first, but I managed to do it (following the instructions here http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/7947-force-dvi-hdmi-resolutions-refresh-rates.html ) and now my monitor defaults to 1920x1080@76.5hz with custom timings even without creating a custom resolution in the nVidia control panel! I only need 72hz and 75hz for video playback so I didn't add them in the .inf since I can just create custom resolutions and it works well enough (maybe it works without them too since the timings are almost similar, I haven't checked)

There are some other monitors that work with the same timings (F2380, T2333 etc) so if there are people interested, I could upload the .inf here.

Btw there is a new "3D" IPS panel coming out (D237IPS), I'm not sure that it will be true 120hz, but let's hope so!
 

pexxie

n00b
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Messages
8
Hi folks.

Can you believe I registered on the forum just to partake in this thread? :D

I have just recently bought an LG IPS236, and can also get 76hz with modified timings. Although, with 76hz I get an intermittent sharpness issue, so I stick with 75Hz. My adjustments in my Nvidia control panel:
vg3o6g.gif


I was using the single-link dvi cable that came with my monitor, and after reading about the 165 mhz pixel clock limit, I bought myself a dual-link dvi cable, hdmi v1.4 cable and a couple adapters. Now, I have tried straight hdmi from my 470 GTX to my LCD, tried HDMI cable with HDMI>DVI adapter, and also dual-dvi to dual-dvi, but nadda. No joy getting over the 165mhz limit. I really thought HDMI v1.4 could handle 340mhz pixel clock.

So, I'm beginning to think this LCD has a T.M.D.S. built into it that can only handle the 165mhz rate. Am I crazy to think this? Should I rather try figure out why I'm not getting success with my HDMI cable?

I'm so chuffed about finding this thread. Much love to those who contribute !

UPDATE 1: Although I can't push HDMI over 75hz, ghosting and lag is significantly less than Single- or Dual-DVI in the game Bulletstorm (I have tested so far)

UPDATE 2: Wow, for the first time I can crank ACB to the max and get about 70fps. Used to have to play on medium-low because of lag/stutter. My gosh. I'm ecstatic ! HDMI ftw !
 
Last edited:

Galvin

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 22, 2002
Messages
2,697
I tried setting the new samsung (S24A850DW) 24" PLS monitor to 75hz. It has a picture but all the pixels are messed up but can still read the screen. So is there something more I need to do, also I have no way to verify if it is truely running at 75hz. I used nvidia's custom resolution tool to do this.

Edit: found out was going on. It was taking 75hz, but the monitor is really in 960x1200 while the driver thinks its in 1920x1200. Is there something I can do to make the monitor use 1920x1200@75hz?

Using nvidia custom resolution

Edit: May need to get a dual link DVI cable to go higher. So going to try that next.

Update: Dual link dvi cable still didn't fix it. For now I'm going to assume this monitor can't do anything higher than 960x1200 at 75hz. Hopefully someone out there that has experience with lcd monitors may have an idea what is going on.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Messages
632
I tried setting the new samsung (S24A850DW) 24" PLS monitor to 75hz. It has a picture but all the pixels are messed up but can still read the screen. So is there something more I need to do, also I have no way to verify if it is truely running at 75hz. I used nvidia's custom resolution tool to do this.

Edit: found out was going on. It was taking 75hz, but the monitor is really in 960x1200 while the driver thinks its in 1920x1200. Is there something I can do to make the monitor use 1920x1200@75hz?

Using nvidia custom resolution

Edit: May need to get a dual link DVI cable to go higher. So going to try that next.

Update: Dual link dvi cable still didn't fix it. For now I'm going to assume this monitor can't do anything higher than 960x1200 at 75hz. Hopefully someone out there that has experience with lcd monitors may have an idea what is going on.
most monitors nowadays don't use the extra dual-link pins
a dual-link cable therefore cannot make a difference

the only way to get "high" refresh rates is to reduce blanking (custom timings) so the video signal is within single-link bandwidth
 

Galvin

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 22, 2002
Messages
2,697
I don't have that monitor anymore. But the spec sheet says it takes dual link DVI for the input.
 

XoR

Gawd
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
834
BenQ VW2420H can do 77Hz without skipping over DVI
in comparsion Dell U2410 skips everything other than 60Hz and it's immediately visible and very annoying...
 

kalston

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
1,316
BenQ VW2420H can do 77Hz without skipping over DVI
in comparsion Dell U2410 skips everything other than 60Hz and it's immediately visible and very annoying...

But the Dell U2410 is 1920x1200, right? That's significantly more video bandwidth so I don't think you could do much better than 60hz with single link DVI.
 

Tarball

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
130
The specs for the 27" Asus VE276Q says it can accept 76Hz vertical. Anyone have this model that can chime in? I'm adding it to unconfirmed for now.

Not sure about the 276, but on the VE278Q, 85hz is only supported at something like 800x600 resolution. At 1920x1080 you're stuck with 60hz.

Edit: Well.. somehow I totally missed the date on the post I was replying to. Sorry for bumping this...
 
Top