T[H]readripper Crew

  • Thread starter Deleted member 88227
  • Start date

MN Scout

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 26, 2003
Messages
4,601
It lives! Need to limit it down to 16 tasks etc and configure the BOINC manager settings. This project sucked up all my ram.

Got it on Ubuntu right now. Not sure what I will end up on. Likely Win10, since I need Lightroom.
Screenshot from 2018-09-06 23-42-35.png
 

MN Scout

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 26, 2003
Messages
4,601
It is running. Have to thank Phoenicis for the excellent deal on the 1950x Threadripper, and thanks again to Dechache for the excellent deal on the 6970 gpu.

20180909_182425cropped.jpg
20180909_183713cropped.jpg

Mobo bought from MicroCenter for the rebate, and ram from Newegg since their RAM search forms are way better than Amazon's with a better selection of products.
  • Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 7 X399
  • Threadripper 1950
  • Noctua NF-A15 extra fan for cooler and cheapest at Amazon from the CoolerGuys seller.
  • Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered Glass Edition
  • Noctua NH-U14S TR4-SP3 140mm CPU cooler. Cheapest at Amazon.
  • 2x G.Skill TridentZ 32GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZSW I bought the cheapest cas 14, 3200mhz ram I could find in this size.
 
Last edited:

atp1916

[H]ard|DCoTM x1
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
4,154
Getting my fans for the TR build in tomorrow.

The fans that came with the Corsair aio were terrible (42 CFM max) so I ordered up a bunch of Coolermaster JetFlow 120mms.

So, pics tomorrow hopefully!
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,422
Getting my fans for the TR build in tomorrow.

The fans that came with the Corsair aio were terrible (42 CFM max) so I ordered up a bunch of Coolermaster JetFlow 120mms.

So, pics tomorrow hopefully!
That ties into a question i have, what temps are you guys seeing on your cpu's? My enermax 360 aio is starting to fail and i'm not sure what to replace it with. It will get RMA'd but i will need something else in the meantime
 

MN Scout

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 26, 2003
Messages
4,601
That ties into a question i have, what temps are you guys seeing on your cpu's? My enermax 360 aio is starting to fail and i'm not sure what to replace it with. It will get RMA'd but i will need something else in the meantime
What program do you want the temps from? I've read that AMD adds 25C to the sensor values, do you want that summed up number? I don't currently have any temperature programs installed.
 

RFGuy_KCCO

DCOTM x4, [H]ard|DCer of the Year 2019
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
900
That ties into a question i have, what temps are you guys seeing on your cpu's? My enermax 360 aio is starting to fail and i'm not sure what to replace it with. It will get RMA'd but i will need something else in the meantime
At stock clocks, my Noctua NH-U14S coolers (all w/ second fan) keep my three 1950X's at ~59deg C at full load with ambient temps of ~25deg C. At 3.6GHz (@ ~1.1v), these coolers will keep the TR's at ~64deg C. I only mention I have three of them because it is important to note that these temps are consistent across all three machines. Not sure if it really matters much, but I use Arctic MX-4 for my thermal paste / grease on all my machines.

What program do you want the temps from? I've read that AMD adds 25C to the sensor values, do you want that summed up number? I don't currently have any temperature programs installed.
I use HWiNFO64 or Aida 64 for CPU temps.
 

motqalden

[H]ard|DCOTM Feb 2018, June 2019
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
1,453
HW monitor gives accurate temps under package, and ryzen master is also correct. Even ryzen master doesn't give the +25 anymore as that was confusing alot of people. My temps depend alot on room temperature but seem to fluctuate between 60-66c depending on how many windows i have open in the house :D This is with 2x1080ti in mid tower case btw
 

atp1916

[H]ard|DCoTM x1
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
4,154
Another ThreadRipper rises from below to do battle:

TR 1950x (A phoenicis special - cheers mate)
Asrock X399
48Gb DDR4 2400 (better ram soon, TR is 2667 baseline)
... and soon some GPUs :D

img_20180910_221633.jpg



Nathan_P I use HWMon to keep an eye on temps. The bios of this Asrock X399 board (as well as the X370 version) add that +25c TCTRL offset, so i just ignore what i see there.

With the Corsair 150i and 3 Coolmaster JetFlow 120mm push, 3 Coolermaster Jetflow pull i see package / core temps in the 60-70c range on random Boinc projects. Stock clocks.
 
Last edited:

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,422
What program do you want the temps from? I've read that AMD adds 25C to the sensor values, do you want that summed up number? I don't currently have any temperature programs installed.
HWinfo64, have done for years. The aio started out idling in the mid 30's -now its low 40's
 

MN Scout

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 26, 2003
Messages
4,601
HWinfo64, have done for years. The aio started out idling in the mid 30's -now its low 40's
67C All 16 cores full out, with 8 cores of PrimeGrid LLR tasks running, 8 cores of NFS@Home, and 3 threads of Milkway GPU tasks.
 

RFGuy_KCCO

DCOTM x4, [H]ard|DCer of the Year 2019
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
900
phoenicis, I was wondering if you are noticing different WU run times on your 2990WX's due to the fact that only 16 cores are directly attached to the memory, while the other 16 face stiff latency penalties to access memory? If you had 64 WU's running, all of the same project and type, would 32 of those have noticeably slower run times than the other 32 because of this memory arrangement? Any experience with this yet?

I am curious, as I am contemplating a new 2990WX box.
 

phoenicis

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2018
Joined
Oct 3, 2010
Messages
590
phoenicis, I was wondering if you are noticing different WU run times on your 2990WX's due to the fact that only 16 cores are directly attached to the memory, while the other 16 face stiff latency penalties to access memory? If you had 64 WU's running, all of the same project and type, would 32 of those have noticeably slower run times than the other 32 because of this memory arrangement? Any experience with this yet?

I am curious, as I am contemplating a new 2990WX box.
I've not noticed any significant variation when running a project with consistent run times e.g. Acoustics tasks are completed in 42 mins at 3.5GHz with a variation of +/- 30 secs.

The only thing about the 2990WX is that it has a tendency to go up in a ball of flames when there's a full moon. I'd therefore recommend that you avoid buying this cpu to assist you in your current battle with me :p
 

phoenicis

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2018
Joined
Oct 3, 2010
Messages
590
RFGuy_KCCO, there appears to be some latency issues running multithreaded applications though. Some 2990WX performance discussions over at TAAT here. I'll try to test this out in the near future.
 

RFGuy_KCCO

DCOTM x4, [H]ard|DCer of the Year 2019
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
900
I've not noticed any significant variation when running a project with consistent run times e.g. Acoustics tasks are completed in 42 mins at 3.5GHz with a variation of +/- 30 secs.

The only thing about the 2990WX is that it has a tendency to go up in a ball of flames when there's a full moon. I'd therefore recommend that you avoid buying this cpu to assist you in your current battle with me :p
RFGuy_KCCO, there appears to be some latency issues running multithreaded applications though. Some 2990WX performance discussions over at TAAT here. I'll try to test this out in the near future.
Thanks for the info! I won't be purchasing a 2990WX any time soon, but was really curious about that memory issue. Will watch that thread and see how things shake out. Keep us posted with your findings here, please.

And for the record, I realized months ago there was no way I was actually going to compete with you and your rigs. At this point, I am just trying to stay a competitive 3rd place on the team, conceding 1st and 2nd to you and atp1916. :D
 

atp1916

[H]ard|DCoTM x1
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
4,154
Love the TR. I've got 3 different brands of DDR4 2400 ram in it (Asrock X399 Taichi), and can speak to no problems, i.e. abnormal boinc crashing, WU crashes, system instability etc.

All at 3.4 @ 1.1v, temps 68-70c with a Corsair H150i. If i do try to bump clocks, the temps climb fast. I feel a full-cover block would prevent that.

Either way, this thing just mows through stuff. :D
 

RFGuy_KCCO

DCOTM x4, [H]ard|DCer of the Year 2019
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
900
Thanks for the info! I won't be purchasing a 2990WX any time soon, but was really curious about that memory issue. Will watch that thread and see how things shake out. Keep us posted with your findings here, please.

And for the record, I realized months ago there was no way I was actually going to compete with you and your rigs. At this point, I am just trying to stay a competitive 3rd place on the team, conceding 1st and 2nd to you and atp1916. :D
How soon things change... A friend offered me a good price for a snowmobile I purchased on a whim a few years ago and only used a few times (turns out I really do hate snow), so that gave me some money for another TR rig... 2990WX, here I come! Since I am power limited, it will be replacing two of my oldest Haswell rigs, but I am still gaining a net 52 threads (old rigs are a 4-thread and an 8-thread CPU). Should have it online by the end of next week.

Your pic inspired me. :D
 

RFGuy_KCCO

DCOTM x4, [H]ard|DCer of the Year 2019
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
900
By the way, I am using an Enermax Liqtech TR4 II 280 for this build, instead of my usual Noctua air cooler. I hope this new and improved iteration proves more reliable then the first generation.
 

travanx

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2000
Messages
1,579
Just put together a 2950 with 96gb of ram, loving this thing. Its doing some crypto chores, but thinking of running some BOINC in the background. As an ubuntu 16.04 newb, how hard is BOINC to setup and use just some cores?
 
Top