Synology DS918+

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by marshac, Nov 19, 2017.

  1. marshac

    marshac [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,026
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    This thing is bomb. I’ve got it upgraded to 16GB of RAM with two M.2 drives for I/O cache. It’s running a Windows 2016 virtual machine and all the usual Synology goodies. Really amazing piece of hardware, and if you’re looking for a new NAS, it’s well worth a look.
     
  2. Lateralus

    Lateralus More [H]uman than Human

    Messages:
    13,567
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Nice, I have the last gen 1515+ with upgraded memory but it does not have the M.2 NVMe support. It's my third Synology and they've all been flawless! I guess if/when I upgrade it, I'll get to see how much difference the enhanced I/O caching makes...but that'll likely be a while.
     
  3. ullbeking

    ullbeking n00bie

    Messages:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    I've heard great things about it too. As a matter of fact, if I were to start all over again in building my home lab, the first thing I would do is to get exactly that NAS. And then to build a backup and disaster recovery solution around it. And then let everything else take over from there (virt host, etc).
     
  4. vidoprof

    vidoprof Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    368
    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    I have the older 1812+ and really love it for a huge storage / backup solution with (2) drive fault tolerance... BUT I seriously don't use it for anything else.

    I don't stream anything.. I don't have movies or music.. I just use it for all the photos and videos I need to backup (I am a photographer for work).

    Am I missing anything that would be awesome to have ? I would love to figure out how to get to my videos and photos remotely, but I never really figured out how to set that up.

    Ryan G
     
  5. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,542
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    They are very nice but cost alot of $$$
     
  6. ullbeking

    ullbeking n00bie

    Messages:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    I'm actually looking into a setting up a secondary home NAS, and I wonder if this model might be hit the sweet spot in just the right way. I'll be keeping a very close eye on this model.

    I've heard it's great for running Docker and also for hosting services, as well as functioning as a NAS, i.e., its primary function. Does anybody have experience with this? For example, I'd love to set up Apache, a self-hosted photo application, and simply serve up my photo albums directly from this machine. Is it suitable for this? Am I extending it too for, or should I keep it strictly or NAS functionality?
     
  7. marshac

    marshac [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,026
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    I have a Windows Server VM running on the 918+ with 16GB RAM (it works fine- I'm using HX316LS9IBK2), 8GB of that as well as two of the four cores allocated to the VM. I've got IIS, Lucee and MSSQL running on it. Speed is reasonable for what I'm doing- obviously not suitable for a website with any serious volume of visitors. Plex runs within the native OS and supports hardware transcoding acceleration. Overall for $549 it's a tremendous piece of hardware, and for a few hundred more you can really deck it out with more RAM and two NVMe modules. It also supports the external drive bay, so adding more storage won't require you to ditch your current drives.
     
  8. ullbeking

    ullbeking n00bie

    Messages:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Do you mean that _this_ particular model supports increased RAM and NVMe? Sounds excellent. I've got a different FreeNAS box as my primary NAS, but I'm thinking of picking up one of these too. Probably it's overkill to use solely as a backup of the primary NAS, but it seems like something I really want to learn more about and host some services on. If I had my time again I'd choose this instead of building my own.
     
    Ranulfo likes this.
  9. marshac

    marshac [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,026
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Yes- 918+ actually has two memory slots and despite the specs, can use 16GB of RAM. I listed the specific memory I use which is similar to what others had reported working. It has worked flawlessly for me. Others have reported the same in various symbology discussion forums. There are also two NVMe slots easily accessible on the bottom of the NAS- I have two 128GB drives loaded up. Overall for the price it really is great hardware.
     
  10. Tyns

    Tyns Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    315
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    I have been very happy with my ds3612xs the past six years, the software is great but the hardware is horrendously overpriced. I had already upgraded the RAM to max 32GB (back when that was cheap) and I have an Intel 10GbE NIC in there for 600MB/s transfer speeds.

    I just bought the best Xeon that will work in the mobo (e3-1290) which will replace the i3-2100, doubling cores/threads and increasing clocks 17% base, 30% boosted, but TDP going up about 45% and since it’s passively cooled, I bought an AIO loop for it. Installing this morning, I’m probably more excited about this than I should be
     
    stonedwaldo420 likes this.
  11. AthlonXP

    AthlonXP Stay [H]ard

    Messages:
    20,602
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    I was thinking of picking this up. What drives do you guys recommend to go with it? My budget would be around 1100-1200 for everything.
     
  12. Tyns

    Tyns Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    315
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    New CPU is in and the performance difference is substantial. Radiator sticks 1" out of the side :(

    [​IMG]
     
  13. craigdt

    craigdt Gawd

    Messages:
    779
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    So how easy/suitable would something like this be to store all my plex movies on?

    I'd probably still use my desktop for the streaming/encoding/etc.

    Would this make sense?
     
  14. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,542
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Why use your desktop? The whole reason is to run everything together.. do you need to do alot of transcoding or have several 1080p streams going at once? If not combine the rolls.
     
  15. marshac

    marshac [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,026
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Yeah- the whole point of having what amounts to a fairly capable computer inside of a NAS is so that you don't need a separate computer for transcoding, etc. Use the NAS for everything- it works well for Plex.
     
  16. craigdt

    craigdt Gawd

    Messages:
    779
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    So just toying with this idea, it looks like I can spend $400 by throwing a G4400 in a h110 mobo, in a $30 case with 4 hdd slots, a cheapo SSD for the OS, and my blu-ray drive for backing up, share various folders with my network and it should perform the same function, right?

    Edit:
    Like this
    https://pcpartpicker.com/user/craigdt/saved/prbD8d
     
  17. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,542
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
     
  18. craigdt

    craigdt Gawd

    Messages:
    779
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Well, to test this theory, I set up a shared folder on my miner rig, and created a mapped drive to that folder on my main desktop.

    Plex found that "mapped drive" folder easily.

    I guess I don't know what I need FreeNas for something simple like moving files around from one machine to another.
     
  19. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,542
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    snice your miner rig stays on 24/7 and you just want a place to serve up plex that would be an okay choice
     
  20. Iratus

    Iratus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    I've got the 916 and I love it.

    Being able to run the few bits I have on docker without a server running and plex do a 4k transcode is immense.
     
  21. compcons

    compcons n00bie

    Messages:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    If you want to play around with the synology software FOR EVALUATION PURPOSES ONLY, there are ways of running it on generic hardware. There are even vmware images that run quite well on esxi if you have a server already running. I actually run esxi off a small boot drive and run synology off of 4 drives in a small pc. Its a great way of testing versions before you upgrade your real synology hardware.
     
  22. Tyns

    Tyns Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    315
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    I think this is broken with the latest releases of DSM.
     
  23. compcons

    compcons n00bie

    Messages:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Thanks for the heads up. As always, when testing this type of stuff, check around before installing or upgrading.

    I am running DSM 6.0.2-8451 from August 2016 on my virtual synology and it still runs well.

    My physical Synology DSs are running DSM 6.1.4-15217 Update 5