StarWars Battlefront performance Preview

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by Stoly, Oct 7, 2015.

  1. Osjur

    Osjur Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    186
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Here you go: http://www.pcgameshardware.de/Star-...950/Specials/Beta-Technik-Benchmarks-1173656/

    1.3Ghz 980 vs 1070Mhz 390X and they are practically tied at 1080p. 1Ghz 290 vs 1.3Ghz 970 and 970 looses at 1080p. 1.3Ghz 980Ti is 15% faster than normal Fury, too bad they didn't have Fury X. 1080p + 200% res scale (effectively 4K) and that 15% cap on custom 980Ti shrinks to just 2% vs Fury and 390X is 11% faster vs 980.

    And the maxed out from factory is only partly valid with Fury lineup, those custom 290 / 390 series do have some OC potential left in them (MSI 390X repeatedly goes to 1150-1200 range, not to some lousy 1100mhz which I could hit with stock 290X without voltage tweaking) and 79xx / 280 series can OC really well.

    But why do I even bother with this obvious Nvidia fanboy :confused:

    The good thing is that the performance is good across the whole board even if AMD seems to have a small edge in this game. That hasn't happened in a while so good for them. This is how games should be done and not with glue and gum. First make the game run properly and then add those fancy effect libraries :p
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2015
  2. AllBlackFan

    AllBlackFan [H]Lite

    Messages:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    You just repeated yourself mostly and ignored the 970 v 390.
     
  3. Geforcepat

    Geforcepat Gawd

    Messages:
    905
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Works great here. never dips below 60. hits 70 in a lot of spots. all settings on high.
    i5 2400@ 3.1,16gb ram,samsung 500 ssd and Gtx 970. 1440p gsync (rog swift)

    Enjoying the game. lots of fun.:)
     
  4. 5150Joker

    5150Joker 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,139
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    The 390X models that are around 1070-1100 mhz are pretty much close to maxed out, if you check oc.net the guys there even on water aren't cracking above 1200 and the guys on air are in the 1100s. It's even worse for the Fury X as the scaling when it's OC'd is beyond terrible. Crank that 980 to even 1400 MHz and it would leave the 390x behind since they're already neck and neck. And 1080p + 200 res scaling, really? I don't even know why they put that there since every card was under 60 fps, who is gonna bother? Even guys with 4k displays will set lower resolutions to get playable fps. The only NVIDIA card in the mid range I see not doing as well as it should is 970. AMD's best card in all this is the 290x which has held up really well.
     
  5. Osjur

    Osjur Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    186
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    I swear that this is the last time I will answer to this troll but why the heck would anyone want to lower resolution from 4K and not just lower some other settings like ambient occlusion etc. to get playable fps.

    Why even buy 4K monitor if you are going to play at 1080p unless you like the blurry picture which comes when you have some other resolution except 1080p on a 4K monitor?
     
  6. 5150Joker

    5150Joker 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,139
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Glad you recognize that the resolution scaling numbers are worthless.
     
  7. Osjur

    Osjur Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    186
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Have to retract my last statement of not answering to joker so here we go.

    Ofc I recognize that those res. scaling numbers are worthless when the best card gets 45fps which is borderline playable (for some). Why can't review sites test games with playable settings at 4K so that even some cards would be able to have that 60fps avg framerate like how [H] does it and also my favorite review site (muropaketti: finnish hardware site) does it.

    I added those results to my post because they were there but it seems I should have also added 1440p results but I was lazy. I only answered to your post in the first place because you said that AMD lineup would lose handily against just aftermarket or mildly OC'ed Nvidia cards and judging from PCGH results, that doesn't happen. Yes aftermarket 1.5Ghz 980 will most likely be little faster than lets say 1150mhz MSI 390X but my bet would be that the difference is measured in single digits. Maxwell also stops scaling properly at around 1450mhz range and Hawaii does that around 1200mhz range but most of the Hawaii chips can't even hit that mark.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2015
  8. noko

    noko [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,320
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    ???, Nvidia or AMD can GPU scale and keep the monitor at native resolution. Meaning 1080p on a 4K monitor would look, well like a 1080p monitor and not like a blurry mess if you have the monitor do the scaling. (Some monitors scale just fine as a note.)
     
  9. defaultluser

    defaultluser [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,454
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Exactly. It feels like I'm playing quake ctf with a texture mod. Game puts me to sleep, but it is very pretty :D

    Also, as anticipated it runs at 60fps on my GTX 960 @ 1630.

    I went back to playingBF4 after I finished this snooze fest.
     
  10. Bankie

    Bankie [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,545
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Is there an in-game FPS counter or do you need to use Fraps/Afterburner to see?
     
  11. wantapple

    wantapple Gawd

    Messages:
    598
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    are you going to continue? dude is nvidia paying you something at least? :confused:
     
  12. N1GHTRA1N

    N1GHTRA1N Gawd

    Messages:
    781
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    I'm running 2560x1600 with ultra settings getting 105-135 fps at 2560x1600, looks and runs great. The game does crash though.
     
  13. shad0w4life

    shad0w4life Gawd

    Messages:
    690
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008

    WTF you post the thread about power savings and saving the environment.... then proceed to throw all that out the window in this post talking about just maxing out the OC which just sucks down the power 290/290x style...980 OC adds 70-100W more power draw.
     
  14. DPI

    DPI Nitpick Police

    Messages:
    10,956
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    ~ for console and then perfoverlay.drawfps 1
     
  15. lee0539

    lee0539 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,804
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Is there a major difference between keeping resolution default but doing supersampling (like 150% resolution) vs doing 1.5X DSR?
     
  16. Zion Halcyon

    Zion Halcyon 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,108
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Oh good! I am not the only one!

    I ran into Crashes several times. I was worried it was my newly OCed Processor, but my other game worked great.

    Using the latest catalyst beta drivers (the ones that fixed the memory leak).
     
  17. Yakk

    Yakk [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,811
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    I'm not crashing and I don't really need to Crossfire the cards, but I would like Crossfire to be working properly to test higher DSR.
     
  18. 5150Joker

    5150Joker 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,139
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    LOL adding a 100 W to a 980 still wouldn't come close to a stock 290x or 390x: http://tpucdn.com/reviews/MSI/R9_390X_Gaming/images/power_maximum.gif

    Visually, it's really debatable in this game. I tested the difference between 1440p and 1440p + 130% and found it wasn't a big enough difference to warrant the drop in performance. Also, for NVIDIA users, the SLI utilization isn't really good right now, with both my cards at 1.4 GHz, I don't really cross above 70% utilization very often which means there's a lot of untapped performance left over.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,419
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    That's a burn load, FurMark probably. There's no way a 390X consumes 400W+ by itself in actual games.
     
  20. 5150Joker

    5150Joker 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,139
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    It's max power consumption but their test uses furmark. Peak is metro last light: http://tpucdn.com/reviews/MSI/R9_390X_Gaming/images/power_peak.gif 370W for stock 390x at peak vs 184W for 980. Still a big difference even if you toss in another 70-100W like he claims. There are new games that do push the GPU close to 100% utilization if they're coded right, I know a single GPU of mine will stay around 90-100% in GTA V almost the entire time with certain settings.


    If you're crashing, it's because your overclock is unstable. Mine is rock solid and hasn't crashed once so you should probably dial back the CPU OC setting or add more voltage.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2015
  21. Remon

    Remon Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    352
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    At least you chose a proper nickname.
     
  22. socK

    socK 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,667
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Open console, type PerfOverlay.DrawFps / Graph 1

    One does the obvious, the other plots both the frame times of the CPU and GPU.
     
  23. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,119
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Had my first BSOD in six months today while playing. Bumped my vcore on my 5960x from 1.35 to 1.38V. (4.6Ghz core/uncore) We'll see if it happens again.
     
  24. atom

    atom Gawd

    Messages:
    851
    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Anybody getting a weird screen tearing effect? Like a small tear, maybe just a few pixels. I am getting this with VSYNC on.
     
  25. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,419
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Even though this game runs fine on Hoth and the other rocky planet, I suspect Endor will be the map to benchmark.

    http://i.imgur.com/Ny7je2S.jpg

    Looks like some next-level Crysis stuff going on there.
     
  26. Michaelius

    Michaelius [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,684
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
  27. wantapple

    wantapple Gawd

    Messages:
    598
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
  28. Michaelius

    Michaelius [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,684
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    as long as you put 0 value on your privacy...
     
  29. spaceman

    spaceman [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,737
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Runs fine on 8.1 win and a 290 DD at 290x clocks. About the same as bf4. Still not buying unless a bunch of changes and improvements are done.
     
  30. Eshelmen

    Eshelmen [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,244
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    This.
    Endor must look amazing.
     
  31. defaultluser

    defaultluser [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,454
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    As long as you paid for every single copy of Windows 7 you have installed.

    And yes, you can still have a "genuine" install with it on multiple machines.

    Ask me how I know :D
     
  32. tybert7

    tybert7 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    [​IMG]
     
  33. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,419
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Uh huh.

    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/3o7wmq/lets_do_something_about_these_dx11_issues_weve/

    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/3o3u6f/looking_to_make_a_list_on_the_r9_2853xx_driver/

    My favorite part are the people saying "Don't spam social media it makes AMD look like they have bad drivers" in a thread specifically about bad drivers... nice.

    For fair play, here's the Nvidia equivalent.

    https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comments/3nvg44/i_cant_stand_these_shit_drivers_man/

    I think I'll keep my house on Windows 7 for a bit longer.
     
  34. cocdod

    cocdod [H]Lite

    Messages:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
  35. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,419
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    I think you're seeing it backwards. AMD stopped optimizing drivers for Windows 7/8.1 earlier this year.
     
  36. tybert7

    tybert7 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007

    You better with nvidia, smooth sailing on my 290 and windows 10.
     
  37. horrorshow

    horrorshow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,037
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Do you have a link saying this??
     
  38. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,419
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Yes, WDDM 2.0. It's not like they can really do anything about it.
    Unless you're expecting a miracle now, after Windows 10 is already released? Which makes no sense.

    If you have an AMD card then you should upgrade to Win10 immediately. Same is true for Nvidia apparently (their performance also went up based on the Battlefront benchmark) but by a much smaller amount.
     
  39. DPI

    DPI Nitpick Police

    Messages:
    10,956
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    The better question is "where's the fire?" Why did people rush to downgrade to a half baked Windows 10 before there are even any playable DX12 games? By the time the next Deus Ex comes out there will already have been a major update, and hopefully MS will have also pulled their heads out on the privacy issues.

    So I don't mind that Nvidia and AMD stay focused on 7 and 8 drivers, 10 is like 5% of PC's and DX12 games are MIA.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2015
  40. Michaelius

    Michaelius [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,684
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    That's debatable - it's more like they never started :p